netkas.org forum
March 25, 2017, 04:46:32 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7
  Print  
Author Topic: iMac 2011: Recent GPU for iMac 2011 needed; flashing? (replacing failed 6970m)  (Read 10935 times)
fijolin
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #75 on: November 22, 2016, 09:05:10 PM »

Hi all!

Thanks for this thread.

I desperately need a new gpu for my 27" 2011 i7 3.4GHz imac.

Could I buy:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/201380798312?redirect=mobile

and use richard's rom? And get the same results?
Thank you in advance.
Logged
richardhancock
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 41


« Reply #76 on: December 30, 2016, 11:33:01 PM »

Fljolin, That is the same card as the one I have used in mine and has been operating perfectly albeit without the brightness controls and boot screen on external display.

If you purchased it would work the same as it does in my machine!

Thanks
Logged
richardhancock
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 41


« Reply #77 on: January 05, 2017, 11:19:50 PM »

For anybody thinking about trying this on a 21.5 2010 iMac the same BIOS & GPU unfortunately it will not work. I have just purchased another 660M card for a spare iMac I had lying around. The card will boot up internal and external with default BIOS in Windows, nothing in OS X.

With the flashed BIOS which works perfectly on the 27 2011 iMac (albeit a dodgy EFI boot screen) on the 21.5 it is again scrambled and Windows no longer detects internal display (only external) and OS X refuses to boot. I am however not too sure whether this Mac requires a different EFI section of the BIOS to the 27'.

Also I don't know whether the 2010 possibly doesn't use the same DP protocol at the 2011 as does infect use standard LVDS? Hoping to try to edit the non EFI BIOS to enable just the LVDS and nothing else to see what happens.

EDIT: I have been working on the DCB Table Tonight and for the 2010 iMac it is different than the 27 2011. The internal screen is a combined LVDS & DP Signal so both need to be enabled. See table below:

13 0F 00 01 34 00 01 00   INTERNAL DISPLAY
1F 1F 00 01 10 00 02 00
1F 2F 00 01 30 00 02 00
DF 5F 01 08 20 00 42 0F
9F 5F 01 08 20 00 02 00
C6 4F 01 08 10 00 42 0F  EXTERNAL DISPLAY PORT DISPLAY
82 4F 01 08 10 00 02 00
TVDS SIGNAL
8F 3F 01 08 30 00 02 00
BF 8F 03 04 10 00 42 0F
7F 8F 03 04 10 00 02 00
A6 7F 02 02 10 00 42 0F COMBINED INTERNAL DISPLAY DP SIGNAL
6F 7F 02 02 10 00 02 00
6F 6F 02 02 10 00 02 00
0F 9F 04 02 00 00 00 00

I am now going to try and use this with the EFI provided by Florian with this configuration and see if I can get the machine to boot up in OSX otherwise going to try the NVIDIA Web Drivers for OSX to see if it boots, these weren't needed with my 27 inch.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2017, 12:05:20 AM by richardhancock » Logged
Pavel
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #78 on: January 08, 2017, 12:28:09 AM »

Hi there.
Many thanks for this thread.

So the 6970m has just died on me on the 27" 2011 iMac.
I was bought 660m on ebay and going to try to flash richardhancock’s rom.

Which tool do you use to flash the rom? Kepler BIOS Tweaker?

Does the brightness controls will work on internal display?

Is there any disadvantages besides missing brightness controls and boot screen on external display?

Sorry for my poor English.
I will keep you abreast of my results.
Thanks
« Last Edit: January 08, 2017, 12:36:51 AM by Pavel » Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 340


« Reply #79 on: January 08, 2017, 12:35:46 PM »

Interesting. So you're saying both the first and the last entry have to be enabled to make the internal display work?
I don't think that the display actually needs LVDS and DP at the same time, but maybe there's a mismatch between the hotplug signals (either physically or in the VBIOS), so the port won't be activated unless you enable both in VBIOS.

Is the external port working?

Oh, and are you sure that both 660M cards are identical? Might also be a physical difference, so the ROM from the first card just won't work properly on the 2nd.
Logged
richardhancock
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 41


« Reply #80 on: January 08, 2017, 05:11:29 PM »

Hi Pavel.

You have to use an nvidia command line utility called NVFLASH to actually flash the BIOS onto the card. You use Kepler BIOS Tweaker to create the right checksum after editing a BIOS only. Make sure to have VNC Software installed for remote access to the machine.

Brightness controls don't work yet and boot screen on the external display that isn't scrambled. I have been using it on my 27 and none at all. Another I believe to use OS X Sierra you have to edit some of the KEXT's, i haven't upgraded yet still using El Capitan!



Logged
richardhancock
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 41


« Reply #81 on: January 08, 2017, 05:28:32 PM »

Yes for the internal to work in Windows both the LVDS and the display port had to be enabled if I disable LVDS it doesn't work in Windows at all which is very strange.

Just gone through and made the same changes to the EFI enabled BIOS you made for the 27 2011. Having done this and changed the connector index to have the LVDS enabled initially OS X booted up and the Boot menu etc and full boot loading is shown on the external display. Still no picture on the internal iMac in OS X although it did detect it in the Display Properties as an iMac display and everything. (attached picture) Loading bar etc shown on shutdown etc. How would I go about changing the hotplug signals?
Since I have now rebooted again neither display working in OS X again and just lines on the external screen. Very Strange. Tried Nvidia Drivers wouldn't boot at all. Just display iMac 1024x1028 on remote session.

The Windows boot screen is shown on the external screen but purple lined windows logo so not displaying properly but both displays work once booted.

External port is working completely and Windows worked with the default BIOS before editing anything. I believe cards are identical but have attached both BIOS's, both Alienware cards originally same model description and information in GPU-Z!

Going to try and edit some of the properties again this evening to try and get internal screen to come on in OS X. (Have also attached BIOS up to now to this post) !

EDIT: Just disabled the top LVDS line from the connector table and think i might have flashed badly, iMac just constantly chiming now Sad


* Screen Shot 2017-01-08 at 16.04.55.png (75.2 KB, 587x425 - viewed 51 times.)
* 660M_MAC.rom (206 KB - downloaded 21 times.)
« Last Edit: January 08, 2017, 05:53:05 PM by richardhancock » Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 340


« Reply #82 on: January 08, 2017, 08:32:24 PM »

Just had a quick look: The LVDS port doesn't specify any hotplug ID. I'm not sure if this isn't necessary for LVDS, or if it's a bug in the VBIOS...? Would have to check a Nvidia Mac ROM to be sure.
This could be changed inside the VBIOS if we knew which GPIO pin was connected to the hot plug signal.

We could search for some ROMs of older iMacs with Nvidia graphics (e.g. 7300GT or 8800M GT).

PS: Good luck getting your iMac running again...
Logged
Pavel
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #83 on: January 08, 2017, 08:57:58 PM »

richardhancock, thanks a lot for your answer.


You have to use an nvidia command line utility called NVFLASH to actually flash the BIOS onto the card. You use Kepler BIOS Tweaker to create the right checksum after editing a BIOS only. Make sure to have VNC Software installed for remote access to the machine.


Got it!


Brightness controls don't work yet


This is sad, i guess brightness will be at highest level and it is way too bright on internal display, but it is what it is.

Interestingly how they've implemented brightness control. I have noticed that in GPIO Assignment Table there is ability to allow brightness adjustment via PWM to the LCD pin defined in LCD ID field in Connector Table. Or it is nonsense?

Anyway i will write my results here when the card will come to me.

Appreciate your help
« Last Edit: January 08, 2017, 11:02:08 PM by Pavel » Logged
luckydip
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #84 on: January 15, 2017, 08:46:45 PM »

Looking to give this a shot as my 6970 has died. I'm a newbie when it comes to flashing so:

When I install the alienware card into mac will the mac boot to windows from so I can use NvFlash from command prompt to flash the rom? I'm looking to put in a blank hard drive and a Windows 7 install CD or can I use a bootcamp bootable USB?

Sorry, I've searched high/low but can't find any info on this. The Mac pro seems a lot easier and is explained clearly! Thanks


Logged
aurejac
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #85 on: January 21, 2017, 06:31:32 AM »

Just had a quick look: The LVDS port doesn't specify any hotplug ID. I'm not sure if this isn't necessary for LVDS, or if it's a bug in the VBIOS...? Would have to check a Nvidia Mac ROM to be sure.
This could be changed inside the VBIOS if we knew which GPIO pin was connected to the hot plug signal.

We could search for some ROMs of older iMacs with Nvidia graphics (e.g. 7300GT or 8800M GT).

PS: Good luck getting your iMac running again...
Hi,

Just a little note about this.
While messing with a stock of original Apple 4670HD I figured there were 3 references for the same card :
  • 661-5308 which was the 4670HD that was mounted in the iMac 21" (Late 2009)
  • 661-5314 which was the 4670HD that was mounted in the iMac 27" (Late 2009)
  • 661-5539 which was the 4670HD that was mounted in the iMac 21" (Late 2010)

Luckily I was able to dump all roms of those 3 models. They don't have the same revision but maybe the comparaison could be helpfull to understand how to get internal display at boot.

What is to be noted is :
If I mount in an iMac 27" (Late 2009) a 4670HD with the rom of any iMac 21" (Late 2009 or Late 2010), the internal LCD display of the iMac isn't initialized at efi (boot) level : only the external display port work until drivers are loaded and session is openened (either on macOS or Windows side).
I was able to install in an iMac 27" (Late 2009) a GT120 card from an iMac 21" (Late 2009) and write the appropriate rom on it with Winflash to get a proper behaviour at boot.

Unfortunately I don't know any different iMac models which would share the same Nvidia MXM card so we could do the same comparaison...
I only know the Xserve GT120 and iMac 24" (early 2009) which share the same model of card

best regards

gilles

* rom HD4670 iMac 21 late 2009.bin (128 KB - downloaded 16 times.)
* rom HD4670 iMac 21 mid 2010.bin (128 KB - downloaded 11 times.)
* rom HD4670 iMac 27 late 2009.bin (128 KB - downloaded 16 times.)

* Capture d’écran 2017-01-21 à 06.15.36.png (41.85 KB, 650x534 - viewed 23 times.)
Logged
olimpia
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #86 on: January 24, 2017, 11:19:18 PM »

Hi All

Could you look at bios from 870m 6GB,

I install this card on iMac 2011, iMac started but screen is black and external port without signal,
but over TeamViewer I see information about iMac

Thank

* 25q20.bin.zip (130.52 KB - downloaded 15 times.)

* 2017-01-24 23.05.45.png (17.3 KB, 242x171 - viewed 23 times.)
« Last Edit: January 25, 2017, 04:42:27 PM by olimpia » Logged
richardhancock
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 41


« Reply #87 on: January 27, 2017, 02:52:45 PM »

Just taken apart the iMac to attempt to do a force flash and bypass the BIOS chip being read before boot up. I am looking at the card and not too sure which chip actually is the BIOS chip! I don't know if anybody could tell from the attached photos? ( https://mega.nz/#F!QYdF1STK!Kf35JYDPYk3lClB-Jof1fw )

How would I go about finding out which GPIO is connected to what hot plug signal is a similar sort of thing to the DCB Table? Its interesting in the fact that the BIOS is the same used in the 27 inch, so possibly if this GPIO isn't specified here it wasn't in the 27 version hence the brightness etc not working properly.

I think i might try another card if I can't repair this one as it would be great use to find some sort of working solution for the 21.5 as well!
Logged
Anekelea
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #88 on: January 27, 2017, 06:10:11 PM »

U2
Logged
richardhancock
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 41


« Reply #89 on: January 29, 2017, 08:17:33 PM »

Thanks Anekelea, I have successfully shorted the BIOS Chip on the Graphics Card and reflashed back to a working ROM!

Will continue to try and change the ports around and see how it goes. Back to the original BIOS (Attached) which works with Windows 8.1 but not OS X..

Thanks

* iMac21.rom (154.5 KB - downloaded 9 times.)
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!