netkas.org forum
May 27, 2017, 02:45:37 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7
  Print  
Author Topic: iMac 2011: Recent GPU for iMac 2011 needed; flashing? (replacing failed 6970m)  (Read 13670 times)
double-gee
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« on: August 05, 2016, 10:38:17 AM »

Dear community,

as you all know the Radeon 6970m with either 1 or 2 gb ram that has been built into the iMac 27" (2011) is failing.
Reballing the gpu works in some cases but there are more and more system with dead graphics out there that would still make a good computer (i5 is ok, ram, you can put a ssd into it). I have two iMacs and don't want to throw them away.

There was an old thread from 2013 (http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,490.0.html) regarding replacement options but you can not get these cards anymore.

The task: Find a recent GPU with MXM 3 that is available on the markt and works in the iMac 2011.

There are reports that a geforce 780m (hardly available anymore) works in osx and windows but not in the efi boot menu (see http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/2011-imac-graphics-card-upgrade.1596614/page-21).
Isn't there a card available that we can flash (or actually flash the iMac's efi rom and add the proper graphics driver) and use in the iMac? Full usability including the bootmenu would be great. If that's not possible: which recent and available cards work at least after the OS has been booted?

The only options seems to flash a card or the rom to make the card completely working.
Can one backport the graphics drivers from never iMacs into the 2011's efi rom?

What about GeForce GTX 870m (originally for Alienware) or GeForce 970m?

Any ideas, please?
« Last Edit: August 05, 2016, 10:55:09 AM by double-gee » Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 345


« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2016, 02:12:30 PM »

I think the 2011 iMac still uses UGA display drivers, just like the classic Mac Pro, thus it's unlikely that the EFI drivers from newer Macs will work here. You'll basically be limited to graphics card known to work (and be flashable) in cMPs with some additional constraints:
  • The MXM module has to be physically compatible, including correct output signals (some will stay black on the internal display)
  • The GPU should be supported by Apples stock drivers without modifications (or at least with Nvidias WebDrivers, in case you get a Nvidia GPU)

The mentioned GTX 870M might be a good options as it's a good old GK104, so drivers are definitely there. No idea if it's supported by Apples or Nvidias drivers (depends on device ID), if it has the right connectors and if it can be EFI flashed.
Logged
ironsniper
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2016, 02:36:33 AM »

i just signed up cause i saw this post from the mac rumors forum, here is a short list of the mxm video cards from the 2011 model imacs could an hp or dell version of these be flashed to work on the mac?

6750m

6770m

6970m
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2118



« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2016, 09:25:15 PM »

They already are being flashed.

All you need to know can be gleaned from images on EBay.

Some folks in China figured out which cards can be flashed. Instead of being mouthy idiots (like me) they just quietly started selling them. Since "flashed iMac video cards" isn't a thing, nobody asks or lists what they are .

I want to develop some roms, I bought 1 of each card but just haven't found the time. I also need someone in Hollywood with a 2011 iMac, preferably with an MXM cable that allows testing of cards outside machine.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
ironsniper
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2016, 05:56:34 AM »

They already are being flashed.

All you need to know can be gleaned from images on EBay.

Some folks in China figured out which cards can be flashed. Instead of being mouthy idiots (like me) they just quietly started selling them. Since "flashed iMac video cards" isn't a thing, nobody asks or lists what they are .

I want to develop some roms, I bought 1 of each card but just haven't found the time. I also need someone in Hollywood with a 2011 iMac, preferably with an MXM cable that allows testing of cards outside machine.
is there any  laptops that support that card with a second built in video card incase the mxm video card fails? if so and one can be found cheap enough i would be willing to buy one and one of those cards to try and flash it to work in my 2011 27inch imac
Logged
richardhancock
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 41


« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2016, 10:11:52 PM »

I have been following the forum on Mac Rumours for quite some time and decided to register. I have a 2011 with this problem and have been working on trying to sort it for a few weeks. I purchased a Dell Nvidia 660M from eBay and have flashed with a UEFI BIOS. Works perfectly in Bootcamp with Windows 7, so know the display routing is correct (?) but nothing displayed in OS X on built in display but working Remotely and displays the correct card in about this Mac.

As soon as i install the Web Drivers, machine won't boot! Shows built in display as 1280x1024. Is there anything I can do to get this to work in OS X?

Disabled System Integrity Protection etc, are there any parts of the Hackintosh Clover Bootloader do you think that would allow OS X to be modified to use the new graphics card properly?

See attached IORegistry screenshot, can anything here be changed to default display to Displayport / LSDAn port of the 27 inch panel? I have been researching display routing and editing BIOS ROM Files for the display routing but can't find much guidance!

Any help would be really appreciated !


* Screen Shot 2016-08-15 at 22.07.43.jpg (183.43 KB, 3142x1718 - viewed 250 times.)
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2118



« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2016, 10:17:17 PM »

where did you get a UEFI for it?

BTW, Macs don't use a UEFI, but their own version.

So all you can do with a UEFi is make things worse.

I would recomend buying the EXACT card that somebody else got working. Going off the reservation gets you black screen.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
richardhancock
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 41


« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2016, 09:58:00 PM »

I found it on Tech Power Up, from a forum talking about the cards when being used in Alienware laptops.

I thought that having the UEFI might help things but for the Mac OS has made no difference. Have gone back to OS X Mavericks today to try that but again no difference.

I have seen the 780m but it was the cost that was the problem. This 660m was £90 and it being from the 2012 thin iMac like the 680 was in guessed it might work

The ones being sold in China 'As new', on eBay the ones that would work?

If it works in windows with internal and external monitor, does this mean the display routing is correct?

Sorry for so many questions!
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 345


« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2016, 09:14:38 AM »

The hardware should be fine if your internal display is working in Windows. Can you upload the VBIOS?
Logged
richardhancock
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 41


« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2016, 07:14:39 PM »

Attached the VBIOS that works with all displays.

The original one wouldn't work and tried another one online which wouldn't either. So guess this one must have been designed with the iMac in mind?

* 134317.rom (159 KB - downloaded 121 times.)
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 345


« Reply #10 on: August 17, 2016, 08:32:00 PM »

Your VBIOS defines a total of 14(!!) ports on 5 different busses and 10 connectors. Most of them are combined DisplayPort / TMDS, just the first is LVDS and the last is VGA. Maybe that's too much for OS X drivers, so they fail to init properly and/or leave out the critical DP connector?

I'd try to remove all but the LVDS port and see if that enables your internal screen in OS X. Also verify in Windows to ensure you didn't break the ROM.
Documentation can be found here: http://ftp://download.nvidia.com/open-gpu-doc/DCB/1/DCB-4.0-Specification.html#_dcb_device_entries
Logged
richardhancock
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 41


« Reply #11 on: August 17, 2016, 08:40:58 PM »

14 ports, wow! I can only guess that maybe its for added compatibility with the different alien ware laptops. That sounds like it could be the problem. I am not experienced with editing the BIOS itself only flashing. What tool would you recommend for doing so? Have tried opening with Hex programs and doesn't look like its displayed correctly, or this just my lack of knowledge? Thanks for the documentation, reading that now
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 345


« Reply #12 on: August 17, 2016, 09:30:04 PM »

I don't think there's any tool to accomplish that, just the DCB spec & the hex editor of your choice.

I could give it a go when I find some time, maybe at the weekend. I don't want to "remote brick" your card though, can you recover in case things end badly?
Logged
richardhancock
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 41


« Reply #13 on: August 17, 2016, 09:41:35 PM »

I have it open now, I am trying to figure out the where the DCB is located, my experience with Hex is very limited. A new learning curve..

That is really kind, if you could that would be really great! I haven't got another machine, but could I use a VNC Client and reflash again through Windows?

I was thinking, I known working card with this iMac is the 680m and 780m can the DCB be copied from the BIOS from one of these cards and combined with mine?
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2118



« Reply #14 on: August 18, 2016, 01:52:10 AM »

13 0F 00 01 34 00 01 00
12 1F 00 01 10 00 02 00
12 2F 00 01 30 00 02 00
D6 5F 01 08 20 00 42 0F
92 5F 01 08 20 00 02 00
C6 4F 01 08 10 00 42 0F
82 4F 01 08 10 00 02 00
82 3F 01 08 30 00 02 00
B6 8F 03 04 10 00 42 0F
72 8F 03 04 10 00 02 00
A6 7F 02 02 10 00 42 0F
62 7F 02 02 10 00 02 00
62 6F 02 02 10 00 02 00
00 9F 04 02 00 00 00 00

13 0F 00 01 34 00 01 00
1F 1F 00 01 10 00 02 00
1F 2F 00 01 30 00 02 00
DF 5F 01 08 20 00 42 0F
9F 5F 01 08 20 00 02 00
CF 4F 01 08 10 00 42 0F
8F 4F 01 08 10 00 02 00
8F 3F 01 08 30 00 02 00
BF 8F 03 04 10 00 42 0F
7F 8F 03 04 10 00 02 00
AF 7F 02 02 10 00 42 0F
6F 7F 02 02 10 00 02 00
6F 6F 02 02 10 00 02 00
0F 9F 04 02 00 00 00 00

Pretty sure you want to replace top items with bottom, then fix checksum

Wait til florian confirms
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!