netkas.org forum
October 20, 2017, 08:56:52 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
  Print  
Author Topic: Rx 480 supported (sort of) in Sierra DP2  (Read 29604 times)
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2163



« on: July 08, 2016, 12:28:53 PM »

I'll come back and update with screenies in a bit, trying Windows now.

Good news:

Modding one kext and turning off SIP allows both RX 480 and Fury Nano to work.

Bad news: RX 480 crashes like an oil tanker captained by a drunk. At least in Valley.

OpenCl stuff it runs fine. Fury Nano didn't need a "helper" card this time. May indicate better working for Hack crowd.

The Nano didn't crash on Valley.

I will test 480 in Windows on same machine, will quickly know if it is infamous power issue or beta driver.

5K support not there either.

UPDATE: The crashing in Valley is not likely from power issue. Installed Win 10 drivers and it ran to completion.

Have to be back to hospital in AM so no time to further test.

I modded both ids into the usual 4000X kext.

Under "Baffin" personality add the 480 with a 1 byte mod. change "67EF" to "67DF" and Bob's yer Uncle. (I really do have an Uncle Bob) To make Fury Nano work, change it to "7300" instead. Should work on Hack with Fury or Fury X too, I have had trouble with the one I got on EFI-64 Macs. May have to try on 1,1 again with Win.

On EFI64, my Sapphire halts boot.

Anyhow, Seems the 480 driver needs work, at least for OpenGl.

OpenCl worked, and got nearly same exact score as Nano. (100 clock speed is Nano, 126 is 480, I think these are 3 leading digits.)


* Screen-Shot-2016-07-08-at-3.32.46-AM.jpg (71.11 KB, 564x463 - viewed 1160 times.)

* Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 3.58.32 AM.png (63.61 KB, 549x475 - viewed 885 times.)

* Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 3.47.22 AM.png (64.74 KB, 543x477 - viewed 742 times.)

* Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 3.31.48 AM.png (136.9 KB, 586x352 - viewed 1139 times.)

* Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 5.09.31 AM.png (78.86 KB, 365x198 - viewed 840 times.)
« Last Edit: July 08, 2016, 01:10:47 PM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 348


« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2016, 02:27:23 PM »

Nice!

Too bad it doesn't like OpenGL yet. Did you try other apps/games/benchmarks, or just Unigine?
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 297


« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2016, 10:25:00 PM »

It seems RX480 4 GB has the same PCB as 8 GB version. The only difference is .... BIOS Wink

http://wccftech.com/amd-rx-480-4gb-retail-cards-8gb/
Logged
vidkidd
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 30


« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2016, 06:44:04 PM »

Rominator...   

As always - thanks for the cutting-edge update on pushing the graphics card envelope on the cMP and best wishes on your adventure to the hospital.  My fingers are crossed that the results are better than RX 480 running Open GL on macOS.

Considering the RX480 has a built-in HDMI 2.0 port enabled: Has Apple opened the gates to supporting 4k 60Hz via HDMI yet?   
Logged
lastExile
Global Moderator
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 36



« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2016, 08:43:58 AM »

nice Cheesy
Logged

Report all spam and i will take care of it
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 297


« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2016, 12:18:32 PM »

Rominator...   

As always - thanks for the cutting-edge update on pushing the graphics card envelope on the cMP and best wishes on your adventure to the hospital.  My fingers are crossed that the results are better than RX 480 running Open GL on macOS.

Considering the RX480 has a built-in HDMI 2.0 port enabled: Has Apple opened the gates to supporting 4k 60Hz via HDMI yet?   

If I remember good, I got 4K @ 60 Hz on my Philips 4K HDMI 2.0 display using MVC GTX980 Ti Wink I will test again today.
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 297


« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2016, 03:13:49 PM »

On Sierra: HDMI 2.0 goes completely blank when enabled in the OSD. Works well when 1.4 is set.

I'm sure it was working well under El Capitan.
Logged
electonic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 114


« Reply #7 on: July 20, 2016, 04:01:45 PM »

Is there anything we can do to help?
I'm pretty new to this, but I'd be willing to go out and buy a 480 and test things, if someone would guide me on what needs to be done / found out.
Logged
thirrouard
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2016, 12:52:32 AM »

I got some 480 and 470 in hand, and would love to try it, but was just wondering, is there a way we could get the 10.12 drivers work on 10.11 ?
I need to stick to 10.11 for production...
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2163



« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2016, 08:21:51 PM »

I got some 480 and 470 in hand, and would love to try it, but was just wondering, is there a way we could get the 10.12 drivers work on 10.11 ?
I need to stick to 10.11 for production...

Good luck with that.

Usually not possible.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
edlvox
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #10 on: August 01, 2016, 05:32:19 AM »

Hi guys, first post here... Smiley

I just got my reference Sapphire RX 480, seeing what you got on this post I just tested it (I have an old hd 6770 working on el Capitan, W10 and Sierra) and wanted to see how it goes with the RX:

- It gets recognized as a R9 XXX with 8GB OOB (as expected)
- Injecting the ID (just changing  the 67EF to 67DF on the X4000 kext just gets hangs the OS, on verbose mode it goes all the way to the start up (in fact I can see the SSD light flashing as if the OS is working), but no output over HDMI (i dont have a Display Port monitor to test another output)

@Rominator your tests were done over HDMI or DP?

Edit:

After reading Fl0r!an post did the following modifications, as there its mentioned that the RX doesn't load if its primary (just crashes loading de FB):

- Added back my old 6770 and set it as primary on the bios (have an igpu but havent spend time making it work)
- modified the kext (doing injection on clover didn't work for me never has with the 6770 either)
- Start up with one monitor (dvi) to the 6770 and the other to de RX 480 (hdmi)

As a result I have the RX 480 finally with the Dayman FB loaded, as mentioned before it crashes runing Heaven benchmark, my 6770 doesn't have acceleration (I suspect that the Dayman FB defined in clover applies to both cards, running grep says is its running the generic FB, so checking how to have separate FB for each card).

Generally looks great as I think for sure it will should be fully supported card, meanwhile I got a small hdmi switch, so i can get to my el capitan installation with the 6770 and windows with the RX.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2016, 07:27:25 PM by edlvox » Logged
Draeconis
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #11 on: August 02, 2016, 12:08:46 PM »

Is there any change in DP4? Does the R9 Nano work in the cMP without a helper card? Does it perform as yo'd expect or are the drivers not there yet?
Logged
electonic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 114


« Reply #12 on: August 04, 2016, 01:06:25 PM »

From the Macrumors forums:

http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/amd-rx-480-with-mac-pro-5-1.1984213/

RX 480 works with adding ID in kext in Sierra Beta 3 and 4, but still problems with OpenGL ...
Logged
Mork vom Ork
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #13 on: August 09, 2016, 05:55:13 PM »

The X4000 kext fix seems just to work with RX480 reference cards, cause with my Sapphire Nitro Rx480 this patch doen't seem to work, cause X4000 kext even didn't get loaded.
Sapphire card have the same device-id and vendor-ID (67DF and 1002) but different subsystem and subvendor ID (174B).

Best framebuffer to use here is OPM (modified of cause) - cause Sapphire Nitro RX480 uses 2xDP, 2xHDMI and 1xDVI. Card gets detected by SIERRA with full memory detected (8GByte) - but still no acceleration. Think we need to wait, until Apple implements full ELLESMERE code.
Some parts allready implemented in binary of X4000 kext, but the cards Device-ID is still missing within the code. And changing all 67EF values to 67DF seems not to work so far. 67EF is the device id for RX460 and uses BAFFIN as GPU.

Will keep you informed, if i get some more infos on this... maybe supported with DeveloperBeta 5.
Logged
Mork vom Ork
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #14 on: August 09, 2016, 07:11:09 PM »

Sorry, but no improvements on AMDRadeonX4000.kext in beta 5 Build 16A286a. Still no acceleration for ELLESMERE RX480 cards.

 Sad
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!