netkas.org forum
January 18, 2017, 05:10:34 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
  Print  
Author Topic: Rx 480 supported (sort of) in Sierra DP2  (Read 16938 times)
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2074



« Reply #30 on: September 22, 2016, 08:15:55 PM »

Yes, and while this is good news I noticed that it scores somewhere near a GTX770 in OpenGL. Compute performance will be better but...still have to mod a kext and run with csrutil trick.

460 works OOTB but is a slug.

Certainly seems a 460 variant is coming soon.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
diedo
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #31 on: September 23, 2016, 01:21:04 AM »

How about the R9 290X/390X should i forget about it ? What are the alternatives ? Should i go nVidia? which one with similar R9 290X/390X performance.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2074



« Reply #32 on: September 23, 2016, 12:27:44 PM »

Nvidia card with similar 280X is a GTX680.

290X is a GTX780.

AMD has allowed themselves to become jokes of computer world, which explains why Apple teamed up with them.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
eVasilis
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 76


« Reply #33 on: September 23, 2016, 09:19:09 PM »

There should be a thumbs up button...
Logged
Draeconis
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #34 on: September 28, 2016, 10:45:22 AM »

https://developer.apple.com/library/content/documentation/Darwin/Conceptual/KernelProgramming/Extend/Extend.html
Logged
brockbackups
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #35 on: September 30, 2016, 04:50:55 PM »

I have a RX 480 and a real 2010 Mac Pro 5,1 if you guys need anything let me know, I'm all about helping figuring this shit out.
Logged
mtwomg
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #36 on: October 01, 2016, 07:30:41 PM »

How is your UP2715k behaving on the rx 480, rominator? Is it outputting at 5k?
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2074



« Reply #37 on: October 03, 2016, 11:42:24 PM »

when i tried, no
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Tom012
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #38 on: October 28, 2016, 01:07:46 AM »

How about the R9 290X/390X should i forget about it ? What are the alternatives ? Should i go nVidia? which one with similar R9 290X/390X performance.

You need a GTX 980ti.
On OS X and OpenGL the 290X is as fast as the 980ti.
Logged
nekton1
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #39 on: October 28, 2016, 04:46:41 AM »

If the new MacBook Pro has a discrete AMD RX 460 option, is it possible that RX 460 cards can be used OOTB in classic Mac Pros?  Or will a little tweaking be required?
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2074



« Reply #40 on: October 31, 2016, 11:45:44 PM »

460 has worked OOTB for some time in Sierra

Just not very fast

Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
nekton1
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #41 on: November 02, 2016, 10:36:59 PM »

Looking at the specs for the RX460 vs my present HD6870, it hardly seems worth the spend performance-wise, although the former draws 76 W less power and may be quieter with one fan. Have the RX480 PC version problems been sorted for Sierra yet?
Logged
overcast
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #42 on: November 03, 2016, 07:24:02 PM »

So I've got a weird issue with a recent RX 480 install. Went through the kext edit process, everything went fine. However, after the Apple boot chime, black screen, and goes nowhere. If I boot off the original 2600XT card, boots up fine, and I can just switch over the video cable to the new RX 480 inside Sierra, and it works with no issues. Only the initial boot process is a problem.

Is this somehow related to Filevault? Anyone run into a similar problem?
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 340


« Reply #43 on: November 03, 2016, 07:40:17 PM »

There's no way to enter a FileVault password without an EFI GPU, so you'll be stuck there.
Logged
overcast
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #44 on: November 03, 2016, 07:47:09 PM »

There's no way to enter a FileVault password without an EFI GPU, so you'll be stuck there.

I swear, every MacOS issue comes back to FileVault. I couldn't even install it with FileVault on this time around. Thanks for the response!

Edit: Got it working. Just need to provide adequate enough time, and make sure your account is selected on boot. THe password field is highlighted, typing carefully and boots up! Does appear you still need to have an EFI enabled card in the machine, even though it's not the active one.
« Last Edit: November 03, 2016, 08:16:44 PM by overcast » Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!