netkas.org forum
April 25, 2017, 11:37:59 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [3]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hold the Presses, OSX Sierra has complete Fury Drivers !  (Read 15540 times)
tomtomgps
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 23


« Reply #30 on: July 25, 2016, 03:46:13 AM »

I would'nt be against the idea as it would be a good exercise (and really cool) but I would have little idea where to start. How would I go about writing an efi rom ?  
« Last Edit: July 25, 2016, 03:49:11 AM by tomtomgps » Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101



« Reply #31 on: July 25, 2016, 08:20:43 PM »

iMacs used Tonga, start with their EFI boot rom, see if it's compatible with Mac Pro.

Or start with the 7950 EFI.

Anything is possible, just a matter of how much time you want to spend on it.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101



« Reply #32 on: July 27, 2016, 12:05:05 AM »

Hey, quick update.

On DP3 the Fury and 480 drivers are pretty much the same.

Still have to add the device ids to the 4000 kext and 480 still crashes when OpenGl is run.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
gilad215
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #33 on: September 12, 2016, 10:51:58 AM »

Hey guys, I'm a beginner hackintosh, internet and sound is working fine and all thats left is making my fury shine..
is there a newbie's guide on how to make this work? using the latest Sierra...

Thanks!

EDIT: I feel like I'm really close, I added 0x7300 to the kext and put inject ATI on the clover configurator, the system boots (before it booted to black screen) but it boots to the same generic driver, so it still doesnt work.
im willing to pay for the one who helps!(PayPal)
« Last Edit: September 12, 2016, 03:39:11 PM by gilad215 » Logged
pscafe
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #34 on: September 13, 2016, 06:56:33 AM »

Hey guys, I'm a beginner hackintosh, internet and sound is working fine and all thats left is making my fury shine..
is there a newbie's guide on how to make this work? using the latest Sierra...

Thanks!

EDIT: I feel like I'm really close, I added 0x7300 to the kext and put inject ATI on the clover configurator, the system boots (before it booted to black screen) but it boots to the same generic driver, so it still doesnt work.
im willing to pay for the one who helps!(PayPal)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yrAl3pp9Y5k

Here is a video on how to
Logged
surfin
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #35 on: September 20, 2016, 10:19:21 PM »

I think the FB name in clover graphics has to be Baffin.

Works with mine using the 0x73001002, but it's not fast. Still work to do...

I'm hoping that the final release of Sierra will let me get further.
Logged
Ciro82
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #36 on: September 20, 2016, 10:25:32 PM »

I think the FB name in clover graphics has to be Baffin.

Works with mine using the 0x73001002, but it's not fast. Still work to do...

I'm hoping that the final release of Sierra will let me get further.

Baffin is not a Frame Buffer, it's a GPU name...

Polaris 10 (family) - Ellesmere (GPU name)
Polaris 11 (family) - Baffin (GPU name)

Polaris 10 framebuffers: Dayman, Guariba
Polaris 11 framebuffer: Acre


Your are currently using the AMDRadeonFrameBuffer (the generic one), just look for "ATY" on IORegistryExplorer and you will see....
« Last Edit: September 20, 2016, 10:28:12 PM by Ciro82 » Logged

Hack: i7 3770 - M.B. ASRock Z75 Pro3 - RAM 16gb 1600 Crucial Ballistix - SSDs 2X 840 EVO 250gb + WD MyPassport 320gb Time Machine - GPU AMD RX 480 8gb - OS: OS X 10.11.5 - SMBios: iMac 13,2 - Bootloader: Clover UEFI
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 344


« Reply #37 on: December 16, 2016, 09:03:06 AM »

So finally Fiji & Ellesmere can fly in OS X. Details are here:

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/313977-r9-nano/?p=2332854
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/enable-all-cores-r9-fury-cards.209892/#post-1393445
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101



« Reply #38 on: December 16, 2016, 10:32:41 AM »

Nice work, another thing on list to try out.

EDIT: Used this

In hex:
 
48 B8 02 00 00 00 01 00  00 00 48 89 43 54 C7 43 7C 08 00 00 00
48 B8 04 00 00 00 01 00  00 00 48 89 43 54 C7 43 7C 20 00 00 00
 
0F 42 C8 89 8B 80 00 00  00 44 88 B3 99 00 00 00 44 88 73 20
90 90 90 89 8B 80 00 00  00 44 88 B3 99 00 00 00 44 88 73 20
 
E8 49 85 FE FF BE 48 01  00 00 4C 89 F7
E8 73 02 01 00 BE 48 01  00 00 4C 89 F7
 
Here are shorter patches that hopefully survive updates!

From Okrasit at Insanely (original discoverer, I'm big on giving credit where due)

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/313977-r9-nano/?p=2334590

And this one for 480 based on Okrasit's work:

Change number of CU's from 16 to 36:
48 B8 02 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 48 89 43 54 C7 43 7C 08 00 00 00
48 B8 04 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 48 89 43 54 C7 43 7C 12 00 00 00

Remove CU limit (didn't alter for P10):
0F 42 C8 89 8B 80 00 00 00 44 88 B3 99 00 00 00 44 88 73 20
90 90 90 89 8B 80 00 00 00 44 88 B3 99 00 00 00 44 88 73 20

Change init function to Ellesmere instead of Baffin:
E8 49 85 FE FF BE 48 01 00 00 4C 89 F7
E8 46 E4 00 00 BE 48 01 00 00 4C 89 F7

From Florian at tonymac

« Last Edit: December 17, 2016, 02:03:07 AM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101



« Reply #39 on: December 17, 2016, 01:22:25 AM »

The OpenCl increase is nice !

I didn't do the "remove power limits" mod as I don't want to burn anything up

Need to do baseline 480 run and 460 as well.

Nice of Apple to tie the hands of competing cards to keep their feeble options  looking good.

Jerks.

EDIT: added the 480 virgin shot, with just 16 enabled CUs

Florian, it still says "Baffin", should it say Ellesmere?

Does it matter?


* 480 mod.png (124.73 KB, 629x680 - viewed 91 times.)

* Fiji mod.png (215.4 KB, 1226x1390 - viewed 96 times.)

* fiji virg.png (194.25 KB, 1166x1282 - viewed 71 times.)

* 480 virg.png (165.16 KB, 621x678 - viewed 69 times.)
« Last Edit: December 17, 2016, 01:36:16 AM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 344


« Reply #40 on: December 17, 2016, 12:27:40 PM »

Nice scores!

The name of the accelerator device is assigned inside the OpenGL driver (AMDRadeonX4000GLDriver), which we didn't touch here. It's just a switch/case statement based on the device ID, and the default case for Baffin accelerator is that "Radeon HD Baffin Unknown Prototype" string.
I think it's just cosmetic, didn't find any other device specific settings in there, but only had a quick look.

Btw, X4000.kext contains a similar setup for all known GCN 1.1/1.2 GPUs. It contains the maximum number of CU's for each family (e.g. 44 for Hawaii, 32 for Tahiti, 20 for Pitcairn). A device specific setup for Fiji and Ellesmere is still missing (this is not within the "Ellesmere init function"), so we have to rely on the Baffin code. Actually quite remarkable that those GPUs are running so well on a driver they were never ment to be used with.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!