netkas.org forum
October 17, 2017, 04:04:20 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Hold the Presses, OSX Sierra has complete Fury Drivers !  (Read 24674 times)
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 294


« Reply #15 on: June 22, 2016, 11:15:32 PM »

I'm sure it'll be another over priced machine that has half performance of an equally priced pc built well and then hackintoshed. Smiley

That's called: "Apple tax" Wink
Logged
VladTheInhaler
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #16 on: June 23, 2016, 08:25:52 AM »

Hi Rominator.  This carries on from your answer to my post on the other thread.  Does this mean though, that the Fury Nano will not work on the classic Mac Pro, or can it be made to work by patching frame buffers - not in clover, but in the Kext files and leaving them that way. You say the drivers are included in Sierra OS, does this mean that you have to change your OS for it to work or can we change/edit frame buffers in OSX 10.9/10.10 - or...is it because the Fiji GPU is not supported until Sierra?  Gotta be a way around this for people who don't want to upgrade to the 'dustbin'.

This is indeed a great find.  The wider implications will take some finding out.

By the way.  Florian you are my hero (after my card works like a dream that is..)
« Last Edit: June 23, 2016, 03:57:30 PM by VladTheInhaler » Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 294


« Reply #17 on: June 27, 2016, 01:01:54 PM »

Apple is going to make displays with integrated eGPU Wink

http://www.macrumors.com/2016/06/24/thunderbolt-display-integrated-gpu/
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2160



« Reply #18 on: July 02, 2016, 02:41:10 AM »

Sp either in a PM or apost somewhere Florian suggested that the Fury working in nMP as eGPU may be linked to the fact that the internal cards got initialised first.

By using an EFi card at boot in cMP I was able to get Fury Nano to give accelerated display support !

So, a very good thing indeed. Thanks to Florian's idea, card is up and running !

The Valley score is comparable to a gTX780/980, and still it is in a x4 slot. If a x16 slot speeds it up more, I'll update.

I also compared the OpenCl extensions compared to the 750ti I used to init the machine.


* Screen-Shot-2016-07-01-at-6.42.52-PM.jpg (35.12 KB, 692x566 - viewed 373 times.)

* Screen Shot 2016-07-01 at 7.14.50 PM.png (67.17 KB, 541x472 - viewed 350 times.)

* Screen Shot 2016-07-01 at 7.10.35 PM.png (77.8 KB, 545x488 - viewed 358 times.)

* Screen Shot 2016-07-01 at 6.46.10 PM.png (94.94 KB, 771x360 - viewed 367 times.)

* Screen Shot 2016-07-01 at 6.47.15 PM.png (97.17 KB, 780x362 - viewed 316 times.)
« Last Edit: July 02, 2016, 03:51:37 AM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 348


« Reply #19 on: July 02, 2016, 09:31:07 AM »

Nice to see it running! Smiley But this also means that the strange AMD bug has arrived in the cMP world...
Do you have a Tonga based GPU lying around? Would be interested to see if this can init on its own in Sierra. It already exhibited the same behavior in El Capitan on Hacks, but not on real cMPs.

Oh, and maybe there's something special about your setup.
I just remembered that guy @ MR who got screen output from the half working driver: http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/r9-nano-released.1914031/page-2#post-22499408
That's actually what I'd expect to happen with just X4000 missing: Working, but no acceleration.

Yours needs a helper card to init properly, his didn't. Not sure what the difference could be though.

Btw, quite astonishing that your cMP @ x4 outperforms the nMP. Not sure what's wrong there, bandwidth should be similar...?
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2160



« Reply #20 on: July 02, 2016, 10:47:44 AM »

Is R9 380 Tonga?

I have one of those laying about.

Harks back to the old SL days.

Netkas had a lovely little ATY_Init.kext that made most cards not need EFI.

ATI & Nvidia soon incorportated this into driver in 10.7.3 or so.

Will bust out the 380 soon.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 348


« Reply #21 on: July 02, 2016, 12:25:10 PM »

Yes, the 380 is Tonga. It should work quite fine OOB in Yosemite & El Capitan in a cMP. Would be interesting to see if the behavior has changed with Sierra.

With El Capitan it started to behave like your Fury on Hackintoshs, drivers were fine back in 10.10. I don't think the lack of IOReg injection is the issue here, as this doesn't help with Tonga cards either (Clovers "Inject/Ati" does pretty much the same as ATY_Init did back in the days).

Only known solution to enable a Tonga GPU in a Hackintosh is using a helper GPU (usually Intel iGPU) as primary graphics device. I think it doesn't even need to have a proper IOReg tree, so in your case even an unflashed PC GPU should work.
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 809



« Reply #22 on: July 02, 2016, 05:24:17 PM »

Well, since el cap ive noticed some thing with 290x

Flashed card, with boot scren and no injection - goes to black screen in osx.
Unflahesd card - boots fine into osx.

In some way osx drivers works better with not-POSTed card.
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 348


« Reply #23 on: July 02, 2016, 07:39:34 PM »

That might explain Tonga behavior on Hacks... Doesn't explain why the R9 Nano can't boot without another GPU though. It didn't have a modified EFI on it, did it?  Wink

Does your flashed 290X boot fine when unplugging all displays?
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 809



« Reply #24 on: July 02, 2016, 11:03:59 PM »

Maybe Rominator need to try boot with non-flashed fiji only (we dont have flashed one, didnt bother)

> Does your flashed 290X boot fine when unplugging all displays?

no idea , can't try any time soon
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2160



« Reply #25 on: July 03, 2016, 06:16:22 AM »

Tonga works fine in Sierra all by itself.

Fiji working is nice, but I'm not convinced we can count on it continuing to work.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
tomtomgps
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 33


« Reply #26 on: July 13, 2016, 03:31:32 AM »

can i flash my 380x to a 380  so that it'll work in a mac pro ?
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2160



« Reply #27 on: July 19, 2016, 11:16:59 PM »

don't think most AMD cards let you reassign device id via softstraps, so no

may be possible to move a resistor, but good luck finding it

Has anyone else tried Fury/Polaris in OSX?

Weird I'm the only one to bother.

You'd think with MR overrun by AMD shills there'd be more attempts.

Soiled Captain, Mr. Magoo, and Cahoots are missing an opportunity.

« Last Edit: July 25, 2016, 08:24:28 PM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
tomtomgps
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 33


« Reply #28 on: July 24, 2016, 08:12:24 AM »

actually the 380X is working fine in my mac pro. The only problem is that I would like to flash it so that I can see the boot screen. Is is possible ?
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2160



« Reply #29 on: July 24, 2016, 11:04:03 PM »

Certainly, you just need to write an EFI rom for it.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!