netkas.org forum
December 11, 2017, 04:26:39 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone with 5K iMac 2015 having trouble with eGPU?  (Read 7073 times)
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2172



« on: November 25, 2015, 09:51:00 AM »

Someone please ask oogie to PM me here.

Pretty sure I can help him.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
denstorefedepikkemand456
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2016, 03:29:35 PM »

i have massive issues! please see my post here:
http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,11514.0.html
Logged
Proph
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2016, 10:01:46 AM »

 Hi, I have a problem with booting my iMAC 5k (late 2015, i7, 27") when using Sonnet lll + GTX 970.

After clean install of 10.11.3 el capitan I disable System Integrity Protection, download newest CUDA, plug in my Sonnet lll with GTX 970 installed and run automate-e-GPU (https://github.com/goalque/automate-eGPU ). I activate -a mode of the script and restart. First restart works fine, GTX 970 works but after another restart  my imac gets stuck while booting with black screen. I know thats a common issue with eGPU but I tried all fixes I found, nothing helps.

 

One thing that works is the power up process described here (https://www.techinferno.com/index.php?/articles/guides/2015-13-macbook-pro-gtx97016gbps-tb2akitio-thunder2-win81osx1010-tranj10-r2/)

-----------------------------------------

Power up process:

This is the power up process I always use to consistently have a successful boot without any black screen issues.

1) Have everything powered off

2) Connect thunderbolt cable to eGPU and MacBook

3) Power on the eGPU power supply (use a power strip with on/off switch)

4) Wait ~15 seconds

5) Power on the MacBook while holding option key

6a) Select the boot partition you want

6b) If you run into a blank black screen:

- Force power off for MacBook

- Power off eGPU power supply

- Disconnect thunderbolt cable from MacBook

- Power on the MacBook while holding option key

- Boot into OS X, log in, and shut down

- Go back to step 1 (there will be no black screen issues for at least the next boot up)

- If you still are getting black screens after repeated tries then try a NVRAM clear (https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204063)

- Note that the NVRAM clear does mess with the changes implemneted by automate-eGPU. So you'll need to run 'sudo ~/Desktop/automate-eGPU.sh -skipdriver' to re-enable the changes

- If the NVRAM clear doesn't help then try enabling -a mode with automate-eGPU by running 'sudo ~/Desktop/automate-eGPU.sh -a'

-----------------------------------------

 

That process works one time but I dont want do do that whole process every time i start my imac Sad

Tried the NVRAM clear and automate mode of the script restart- stuck in black screen

Also tried to make a backup of AppleGraphicControl.kext and replacing the backup after running the script, imac wont boot at all even without eGPU plugged in.

 

When i boot without eGPU - no problem, when i plug in the TB connection after I booted, the GTX 970 is called Nvidia Chip Model, so that dont works neither.

 

I just need the eGPU for CUDA, no video output from the GTX970 is needed.

Can anyone help me? I would donate some cash for a working solution.

 

Best Regards, Proph
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 809



« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2016, 04:52:45 PM »

Man, one post above you, exactly same imac, similar videocard.

you probably failed to restore AppleGraphicControl.kext from backup.

Imac should boot without egpu with original AppleGraphicControl.kext restored properly. Imac wouldnt boot at all if AppleGraphicControl is screwed.
Logged
Proph
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2016, 09:22:54 AM »

Did run the script, restored the AplleGraphicControl.kext with kext wizard, still get stucked in black screen when booting with eGPU Sad
Logged
devildcn
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2016, 12:29:44 PM »

Did run the script, restored the AplleGraphicControl.kext with kext wizard, still get stucked in black screen when booting with eGPU Sad
Have you tried next "quick fix"?

1) sudo ./automate-eGPU.sh -uninstall and restart the Mac
2) Change the line 62 of the script to: config_board_ids=()
3) sudo ./automate-eGPU.sh and restart the Mac
Logged
Proph
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2016, 04:48:11 PM »

 -Did a clean install of OSX 10.11.3

 

-did comment lines 1076, 1077, 1078 and 1082 with #
-changed the line 62 of the script to: config_board_ids=()

-did chmod +x ./automate-eGPU.sh

-sudo ./automate-eGPU.sh

-sudo reboot

-boot process hangs with default mode

-force power off, unplugged the eGPU

-after reboot with eGPU unplugged did hot-plug the eGPU

-sudo ./automate-eGPU.sh -a

-nvram tbs-options says <00>

-sudo reboot

-reboot works I see the GTX 970 in system report

-sudo reboot

-boot process hangs with -a mode

-force power off, unplugged the eGPU

-Restart without eGPU
-nvram tbs-options says  <00>

-hot-plug eGPU

-sudo reboot

-boot process works, I see the GTX 970 in system report

-sudo reboot

-boot process hangs again..

.

.

.

 
-tried the script with and without comment lines 1076, 1077, 1078 and 1082 with #
-tried it with and without changing the line 62 of the script to: config_board_ids=()
-tried it with and without restoring (kextwizard) AppleGraphicControl.kext
-tried with and without -a mode of the script

I did a reinstall of OSX 10.11.3 every time i changed the script


did the process a few times, the  iMac boots only if  eGPU is unplugged OR when I hot plug the eGPU and reboot then i can see the GTX970 in About mac-display and it works till the next reboot or boot with plugged eGPU..
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 809



« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2016, 04:50:47 PM »

Weird, is this 970 flashed ?
Logged
Proph
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2016, 10:14:34 AM »

no the 970 is not flashed
Logged
iamthekey
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2016, 10:57:47 PM »

Hello,

1.

i have iMac late 2015. If i run bootcamp from internal drive i can use 980 ti and 1080 gtx without problems on external monitor, but if i run bootcamp from external thunderbolt ssd i cant and i dont know what to do. In windows 10 device manager gpu is recognized but with yellow symbol and warning: this device dont have enough resources. I have only 500 ssd thats why i want run bootcamp on external drive.

2.

i triyed run R9 fury on bootcamp, but i getting still message if i try install drivers device is not found, but i see it in device manager

Thanks and sorry for English.

Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2172



« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2016, 11:12:46 PM »

Hi,

There is so little PCIE bandwidth for TB that using a TB drive and eGPU at same time is a bad idea.

Use USB-3 or something else, or put larger drive(s) inside.

Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
iamthekey
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2016, 11:15:52 PM »

Ok thanks, i go try.
Logged
iamthekey
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #12 on: August 24, 2016, 01:58:03 AM »

So i am back and... same error via Samsung T3 usb Sad here is something wrong to run egpu from external hard drives.

Update:

So working thanks alot for tip. I had external drive in thunderbolt dock, so i got same error, in iMack now working.

Is here way how to run R9 fury in bootcamp? I am not able install amd driver, in device manager is all ok. I think it is conflict with M395X because same brand? Can do you help me with this? Thanks.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2016, 04:24:22 AM by iamthekey » Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2172



« Reply #13 on: August 24, 2016, 10:19:42 AM »

TB is TB

Gotta think

Keep playing with Fury, should work if Nvidia cards work
« Last Edit: August 24, 2016, 10:21:25 AM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!