netkas.org forum
November 19, 2017, 04:18:03 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
  Print  
Author Topic: nMP and eGPU working in Windows !  (Read 30894 times)
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2170



« on: October 10, 2015, 09:51:47 AM »

Screen shots coming.

It's a GTX670 for now.

For those not in the know, nobody has gotten an eGPU to work in Windows on nMP 6,1 yet.

As usual, MVC and Netkas do it first !

http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/8857787?


* titan.PNG (90.86 KB, 475x581 - viewed 1066 times.)

* Screen Shot 2015-10-10 at 5.24.08 AM.png (190.13 KB, 1942x1060 - viewed 1000 times.)
« Last Edit: October 10, 2015, 02:00:58 PM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
v3nom
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2015, 05:14:15 PM »

Any chance to get more informations? Cheesy
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2170



« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2015, 11:19:10 PM »

So far have also gotten Titan running. Nice and smooth.

More info and screenshots coming.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
MacMutsch
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2015, 12:44:34 AM »

Great work indeed!

 I would really like to use my eGPU with my nMP + Windows, especially for graphics intensive 3D games like „Witcher 3“ or applications which aren’t available for OS X!

 Please keep us informed about your progress and also how to be able to use your results :O)
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2170



« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2015, 01:14:28 AM »

So last night I watched someone else play "The Phantom Pain" on nMP via a GTX Titan on a 65" 4K.

Breathtaking !

And it never crashed, nice and stable. I think that the 3D Mark scores need a better CPU to shine so I have one coming.

Will be spending some time working out details.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
OmegaVision
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2015, 08:29:24 PM »

This is absolutely fantastic news Rominator. I can see myself keeping this first gen trash can around for a little longer now. Are you going to give it a shot with a GTX 980 Ti too? That's the card I'm currently running in my 5,1. I would love to use it with the nMP too on occasion.

Cheers for the great work!
Logged
v3nom
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2015, 08:17:49 PM »

any news?  Cheesy
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2170



« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2015, 08:35:32 PM »

Have 1st gen Titan running nice and solid. Maxwell cards giving more trouble but we'll get there.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
v3nom
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2015, 09:38:07 PM »

 Huh Huh Huh Huh
Logged
pscafe
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2015, 10:03:38 AM »

Any news on these?
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2170



« Reply #10 on: December 06, 2015, 12:47:08 AM »

Can't say too much, but next week will bring eGPU more into the spotlight.

Will also establish the Netkas/MVC alliance as leaders in eGPU tech for Macs.

We had display output first for OS X (until goalie played peek-a-boo) and first with Mac Pro 2013 6,1 and Windows. (nobody else has done it yet because they had nowhere to peek)

Expect some surprising benchmarks.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
mysticalos
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 611


« Reply #11 on: December 09, 2015, 03:52:54 AM »

I look forward to this. I'll still stay with hackintosh though for all around better expansion, but I like seeing new options/doors open up for those still loyal to apples hardware.
Logged
Arch Stanton
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 26


« Reply #12 on: December 17, 2015, 01:15:55 AM »

Looking forward to this.  Could stomach a nMP IF there were an affordable external chassis to install say 4 full height, full length, full power GPUs.
Logged
kishkash9532
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 5



« Reply #13 on: December 17, 2015, 08:37:46 PM »

Looking forward to this.  Could stomach a nMP IF there were an affordable external chassis to install say 4 full height, full length, full power GPUs.
Wouldn't hold my breath for this. Thunderbolt is limited to 20Gb/s bandwidth if I'm not mistaken, which will bottleneck even a single video card already. Depending on your intended usage this would severely bottleneck them.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2170



« Reply #14 on: December 17, 2015, 11:45:10 PM »

You will soon be surprised.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!