netkas.org forum
July 21, 2019, 08:21:12 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 ... 60
  Print  
Author Topic: Booting the 64-bit kernel on the 2006/2007 Mac Pro  (Read 1193217 times)
electropura718
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« Reply #75 on: March 02, 2012, 05:09:59 AM »

Tried several builds of Chameleon.  The only one that worked with Mountain Lion and my Mac Pro 2,1 was r1820.  More recent builds (r1830, r1839) resulted in a reboot loop.

Now running 10.8 on the 64bit kernel with a Mac Pro 2,1 (upgraded from 1,1).

Full graphics acceleration with Nvidia GTX 470 (PC card).

Audio and ODD internal SATA ports working via DSDT.

Logged
orsodimare
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #76 on: March 02, 2012, 10:50:19 AM »

Tried several builds of Chameleon.  The only one that worked with Mountain Lion and my Mac Pro 2,1 was r1820.  More recent builds (r1830, r1839) resulted in a reboot loop.
Now running 10.8 on the 64bit kernel with a Mac Pro 2,1 (upgraded from 1,1).
Full graphics acceleration with Nvidia GTX 470 (PC card).
Audio and ODD internal SATA ports working via DSDT.

That's great, i'm gonna test it on my MP during the WE! I've read somewhere (probably in VooDoo forum) that the "reboot loop" in the more recent builds may be overcomed by using a newer Fakesmc kext (see www.osx86.net)... Can be worth to give it a try...
Do you get the boot screen on the GTX 470 or boot "blind" ? And how, just with the Graphics enabled flag ?
Ciao, Orso
Logged
electropura718
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« Reply #77 on: March 02, 2012, 05:09:12 PM »

Hmmm.  Maybe try that kext with one of the newer builds of Chameleon.  I wasn't sure it was applicable to genuine Mac Pros.  It seems like the reboot loop occurs only with certain motherboards.  I don't think the Chameleon community is at all sure how to fix it yet...I would guess their first priority will be Hackintosh owners.  Right now, I may be the only EFI32 Mac Pro owner successfully running Mountain Lion 64bit so genuine Mac performance is not even on their radar screen...though that may change.

My Nvidia 470 has normal boot screens and full acceleration despite being a PC card.

Graphics Enabler is set "YES"
« Last Edit: March 02, 2012, 05:10:45 PM by electropura718 » Logged
Graeme43
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #78 on: March 07, 2012, 09:40:23 PM »

Any way to get this working with a 7300GT? It has a panic with the Geforce 7xxx driver Sad I have a 4870 and 7300GT because I only have 1 DVI on the 4870 and no adaptor yet
Logged

Mac Pro 1,1  4x2.66
10GB FB-DIMM
Chameleon 2446
Mac OS X 10.8.4
electropura718
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« Reply #79 on: March 08, 2012, 06:19:51 AM »

I don't think Graphics Enabler in Chameleon will work with the 7300.  Its not a great card anyway, get another one, if you can.  Using this method, it can even be a PC card, which is cheaper.
Logged
Graeme43
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #80 on: March 08, 2012, 11:25:11 AM »

It was only for reading websites as the 4870 powered my main screen and if i load them both off the one card it'll half the 512mb.  I don't suppose u know if the Apple 4870 will work with 2 displays on this method?
Logged

Mac Pro 1,1  4x2.66
10GB FB-DIMM
Chameleon 2446
Mac OS X 10.8.4
electropura718
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« Reply #81 on: March 08, 2012, 10:59:59 PM »

Oh...you are using two cards?  That won't work with Graphics Enabler. 

You can use GFX strings or DSDT if you have 2 Nvidia cards, but with 1 ATI and 1 Nvidia, I'm stumped.
Logged
Graeme43
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #82 on: March 09, 2012, 11:44:34 AM »

I got the mDP adapter today and it works perfectly in 64 bit kernel but now i half the video ram Sad oh well
Logged

Mac Pro 1,1  4x2.66
10GB FB-DIMM
Chameleon 2446
Mac OS X 10.8.4
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 246


« Reply #83 on: March 18, 2012, 03:21:51 PM »

It seems you can boot the 64 bit kernel without Cameleon, using rEFIt and Grub.
For those who read French http://forum.macbidouille.com/index.php?showtopic=353110&st=0&gopid=3582425&#entry3582425
Not tested on Mountain Lion yet.
Logged
electropura718
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« Reply #84 on: March 22, 2012, 04:33:40 AM »

It seems you can boot the 64 bit kernel without Cameleon, using rEFIt and Grub.
For those who read French http://forum.macbidouille.com/index.php?showtopic=353110&st=0&gopid=3582425&#entry3582425
Not tested on Mountain Lion yet.

Can you translate?  I already have it working fine with Chameleon but am interested in alternatives? Are there any advantages in using rEFIt /GRUB?

With my limited French skills, I can see that people who have tried this have experienced the loss of audio that affected early pioneers of the Chameleon method.  This problem is easily fixed using a modified DSDT in the Chameleon Extra folder.  Have no idea how you would fix it using eEFIt/GRUB.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2012, 04:54:37 AM by electropura718 » Logged
chromafile
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 88


« Reply #85 on: March 22, 2012, 05:23:21 AM »

It seems you can boot the 64 bit kernel without Cameleon, using rEFIt and Grub.
For those who read French http://forum.macbidouille.com/index.php?showtopic=353110&st=0&gopid=3582425&#entry3582425
Not tested on Mountain Lion yet.

Can you translate?  I already have it working fine with Chameleon but am interested in alternatives? Are there any advantages in using rEFIt /GRUB?

Google power?
http://bit.ly/GNYTbt
Logged
sea_man
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 33


« Reply #86 on: March 23, 2012, 06:01:12 AM »

Hi !

First say thanks for your hard work to keep alive this wonderful machine !

I'm also trying to make my 1,1 in the 64 bits , but i have the normal problems whit the sound and other components.

Can anyone please share your DSDT whit me, because i'm not good whit this edits.


Thanks in advance !
Logged

My Build: Core i7-3930k - Rampage IV Gene - MSI 7970
electropura718
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« Reply #87 on: March 23, 2012, 03:32:59 PM »

I can share my DSDT in a couple of days when I return from vacation.
If you want to try now, I used Grammataki's edit from a few pages back.

Here is the link he posted

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=273369

Logged
sea_man
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 33


« Reply #88 on: March 23, 2012, 11:36:33 PM »

I can share my DSDT in a couple of days when I return from vacation.
If you want to try now, I used Grammataki's edit from a few pages back.

Here is the link he posted

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=273369



Thanks !

I tried this but sleep don't work for me..also my hard drives appear like external.
I'm sure is because i'm making something wrong, then i will wait for your DSDT Wink

« Last Edit: March 24, 2012, 12:51:55 AM by sea_man » Logged

My Build: Core i7-3930k - Rampage IV Gene - MSI 7970
electropura718
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« Reply #89 on: March 24, 2012, 04:07:34 AM »

I forgot.  I have another DSDT fix for the drives appearing as external.  Not having any sleep issues, but I did not do any fixes for that.

Will try to post my DSDT as soon as I can.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 ... 60
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!