netkas.org forum
May 26, 2019, 11:03:25 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 49 50 [51] 52 53 ... 60
  Print  
Author Topic: Booting the 64-bit kernel on the 2006/2007 Mac Pro  (Read 1166597 times)
palba
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #750 on: April 17, 2013, 08:38:08 AM »

Even if i want load from the IDE chain?
That's incredible! I don't want to trash a system with an amaze speed just because
Apple want that i buy another system! That they remove recently so I cannot buy a newer one anymore!
Ant all the job are stolen by the Imac User! And I have no job!
Shit!
Bye
Paul


palba - PULL OUT THAT CRAPPY Apple Mac Pro RAID Card! This card prevent to load legacy boot and any other OS except Mac OS X on EFI.
Logged
brunosky
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31



« Reply #751 on: April 18, 2013, 02:32:20 PM »

Can someone help me to understand the reason why my Mac Pro 1,1 (now 2,1) experiences kernel panics, after sleep/awake, when it comes the moment to connect USB devices?
I'm enclosing a message from Chameleon.
Already added, in the org.chameleon.Boot.plist, the lines:

   <key>UseKernelCache</key>
   <string>Yes</string>

but without success.
Mountain Lion 10.8.3 is working great, with Jabbawok method, apart from this problem, and I am very respectful of the environment.  Smiley
Thank you


* IMG_0654.JPG (103.04 KB, 576x432 - viewed 735 times.)
« Last Edit: April 18, 2013, 02:36:11 PM by brunosky » Logged

MacPro 1,1 - 2006
Processor 2 x 3 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory 16 GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Graphics AMD Radeon HD 7950 3072 MB
Software OS X 10.9.1 (13B42)
brunosky
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31



« Reply #752 on: April 22, 2013, 01:15:30 PM »

In org.chameleon.Boot.plist add

   <key>UseKernelCache</key>
   <string>Yes</string>

In smbios.plist identify your mac as 3.1

<key>SMproductname</key>
        <string>MacPro3,1</string>
        <key>SMsystemversion</key>
        <string>1.0</string>
        <key>SMboardproduct</key>
        <string>Mac-F42C88C8</string>
        <key>SMbiosversion</key>
        <string>MP31.88Z.006C.B05.0802291410</string>


Use the dsdt.aml attached and chameleon 2.1svn 2034, this will fix sleep issues

Thanks

I ♥ this forum!
I'd been getting crazy for a couple of months for the sleep issues with my Mac Pro 1,1 (and then 2,1), that I'm using with Chameleon and Mountain Lion, now 10.8.3, following Jabbawok's directions.
Everything was working fine, apart for the problem of a kernel panic, after sleep/wake, when it came the moment to connect USB devices (USB pen drives, external speakers, iPhone, etc.).
The first step with which I've come very near to a solution was booting Chameleon in verbose mode, a little intimidating with those hundreds of lines: I say very near because, in some circumstances, my Mac froze anyway.
The second step was adding to the org.chameleon.Boot.plist (as chevi suggested in August 2012, but I found the solution in another forum), the lines:
   <key>UseKernelCache</key>
   <string>Yes</string>
Also the lines:
   <key>USBBusFix</key>
   <string>Yes</string>
are fundamental.
No need anymore to boot in verbose mode, but the problem of occasional panics persisted.
The third, and definitive, step was tricking the system to be a mac pro 3.1, as suggested by chevi, modifying the smbios.plist: I fixed definitely the issue!  Grin
Thanks a lot to chevi!
(The dsdt.aml he posted doesn't work with me: I continue to use the one posted by Jabbawok, with Chameleon 2.2svn 2170.)
I don't understand how this trick can work, but I'm happy anyway, being very environmentally conscious.
Long live the Mac Pro 1,1 (now 3,1)!
I've spent a lot of money for my Mac Pro (the latest for 2 Intel Xeon Quad Core processors) and a lot of time to hack it: maybe it was easier to buy a new one, but it is very nice to bypass the Apple forced upgrade policy.
With this trick now are possible additional upgrades?
If I'm not wrong we owners of a Hackintosh Mac Pro 1,1/2,1/3,1 with Chameleon can't use the recovery disk of Mountain Lion: is there somewhere a workaround?

Thanks again for this great forum!
« Last Edit: April 29, 2013, 04:01:53 PM by brunosky » Logged

MacPro 1,1 - 2006
Processor 2 x 3 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory 16 GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Graphics AMD Radeon HD 7950 3072 MB
Software OS X 10.9.1 (13B42)
HaraldSt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 102


« Reply #753 on: April 24, 2013, 01:25:50 AM »

In org.chameleon.Boot.plist add

   <key>UseKernelCache</key>
   <string>Yes</string>

In smbios.plist identify your mac as 3.1

<key>SMproductname</key>
        <string>MacPro3,1</string>
        <key>SMsystemversion</key>
        <string>1.0</string>
        <key>SMboardproduct</key>
        <string>Mac-F42C88C8</string>
        <key>SMbiosversion</key>
        <string>MP31.88Z.006C.B05.0802291410</string>


Use the dsdt.aml attached and chameleon 2.1svn 2034, this will fix sleep issues

Thanks

I ♥ this forum!
I'd been getting crazy for a couple of months for the sleep issues with my Mac Pro 1,1 (and then 2,1), that I'm using with Chameleon and Mountain Lion, now 10.8.3, following Jabbawok's directions.
Everything was working fine, apart for the problem of a kernel panic, after sleep/wake, when it came the moment to connect USB devices (USB pen drives, external speakers, iPhone, etc.).
The first step with which I've come very near to a solution was booting Chameleon in verbose mode, a little intimidating with those hundreds of lines: I say very near because, in some circumstances, my Mac froze anyway.
The second step was adding to the org.chameleon.Boot.plist (as chevi suggested in August 2012, but I found the solution in another forum), the lines:
   <key>UseKernelCache</key>
   <string>Yes</string>
No need anymore to boot in verbose mode, but the problem of occasional panics persisted.
The third, and definitive, step was tricking the system to be a mac pro 3.1, as suggested by chevi, modifying the smbios.plist: I fixed definitely the issue!  Grin
Thanks a lot to chevi!
(The dsdt.aml he posted doesn't work with me: I continue to use the one posted by Jabbawok, with Chameleon 2.2svn 2170.)
I don't understand how this trick can work, but I'm happy anyway, being very environmentally conscious.
Long live the Mac Pro 1,1 (now 3,1)!
I've spent a lot of money for my Mac Pro (the latest for 2 Intel Xeon Quad Core processors) and a lot of time to hack it: maybe it was easier to buy a new one, but it is very nice to bypass the Apple forced upgrade policy.
With this trick now are possible additional upgrades?
If I'm not wrong we owners of a Hackintosh Mac Pro 1,1/2,1/3,1 with Chameleon can't use the recovery disk of Mountain Lion: is there somewhere a workaround?

Thanks again for this great forum!
Not working for mine. It hard crashes on waking up - black screen and locked.
Logged
brunosky
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31



« Reply #754 on: April 25, 2013, 09:48:16 AM »

Not working for mine. It hard crashes on waking up - black screen and locked.

Consider that in the smbios.plist I'm not using the lines:
        <key>SMboardproduct</key>
        <string>Mac-F42C88C8</string>
but this ones:
        <key>SMsystemboard</key>
        <string>Mac-F4208DC8</string>
(the key is different).
Try to start Chameleon in verbose mode, adding these final lines to the org.chameleon.Boot.plist file:
   <key>Kernel Flags</key>
   <string>-v verbose</string>
Consider also that the dsdt.aml file from chevi with me doesn't work: I'm enclosing that from Jabbawok.
Give it a try.


* dsdt.aml (17.16 KB - downloaded 369 times.)
Logged

MacPro 1,1 - 2006
Processor 2 x 3 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory 16 GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Graphics AMD Radeon HD 7950 3072 MB
Software OS X 10.9.1 (13B42)
chromafile
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 88


« Reply #755 on: April 27, 2013, 04:07:07 PM »

In org.chameleon.Boot.plist add

   <key>UseKernelCache</key>
   <string>Yes</string>

In smbios.plist identify your mac as 3.1

<key>SMproductname</key>
        <string>MacPro3,1</string>
        <key>SMsystemversion</key>
        <string>1.0</string>
        <key>SMboardproduct</key>
        <string>Mac-F42C88C8</string>
        <key>SMbiosversion</key>
        <string>MP31.88Z.006C.B05.0802291410</string>


Use the dsdt.aml attached and chameleon 2.1svn 2034, this will fix sleep issues

Thanks

I ♥ this forum!
I'd been getting crazy for a couple of months for the sleep issues with my Mac Pro 1,1 (and then 2,1), that I'm using with Chameleon and Mountain Lion, now 10.8.3, following Jabbawok's directions.
Everything was working fine, apart for the problem of a kernel panic, after sleep/wake, when it came the moment to connect USB devices (USB pen drives, external speakers, iPhone, etc.).
The first step with which I've come very near to a solution was booting Chameleon in verbose mode, a little intimidating with those hundreds of lines: I say very near because, in some circumstances, my Mac froze anyway.
The second step was adding to the org.chameleon.Boot.plist (as chevi suggested in August 2012, but I found the solution in another forum), the lines:
   <key>UseKernelCache</key>
   <string>Yes</string>
No need anymore to boot in verbose mode, but the problem of occasional panics persisted.
The third, and definitive, step was tricking the system to be a mac pro 3.1, as suggested by chevi, modifying the smbios.plist: I fixed definitely the issue!  Grin
Thanks a lot to chevi!
(The dsdt.aml he posted doesn't work with me: I continue to use the one posted by Jabbawok, with Chameleon 2.2svn 2170.)
I don't understand how this trick can work, but I'm happy anyway, being very environmentally conscious.
Long live the Mac Pro 1,1 (now 3,1)!
I've spent a lot of money for my Mac Pro (the latest for 2 Intel Xeon Quad Core processors) and a lot of time to hack it: maybe it was easier to buy a new one, but it is very nice to bypass the Apple forced upgrade policy.
With this trick now are possible additional upgrades?
If I'm not wrong we owners of a Hackintosh Mac Pro 1,1/2,1/3,1 with Chameleon can't use the recovery disk of Mountain Lion: is there somewhere a workaround?

Thanks again for this great forum!
Not working for mine. It hard crashes on waking up - black screen and locked.

Sleep works for me, no crash on waking up as well.
Use my smbios.plist & org.chameleon.Boot.plist as a reference.

Code:
smbios.plist

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>SMbiosdate</key>
<string>02/29/08</string>
<key>SMbiosvendor</key>
<string>Apple Inc.</string>
<key>SMboardmanufacturer</key>
<string>Apple Inc.</string>
<key>SMfamily</key>
<string>MacPro</string>
<key>SMmanufacturer</key>
<string>Apple Inc.</string>
<key>SMproductname</key>
<string>MacPro3,1</string>
<key>SMsystemversion</key>
<string>1.0</string>
<key>SMcputype</key>
<string>1281</string>
<key>SMmaximalclock</key>
<string>2660</string>
<key>SMmemspeed</key>
<string>667</string>
<key>SMexternalclock</key>
<string>333</string>
<key>SMmemtype</key>
<string>20</string>
<key>SMboardproduct</key>
<string>Mac-F42C88C8</string>
<key>SMbiosversion</key>
<string>MP31.88Z.006C.B05.0802291410</string>
<key>SMserial</key>
<string>ZZ9999ZZZZZ</string>
    <key>SMmemmanufacturer</key>
<string>0x80AD</string>
    <key>SMmempart</key> 
    <string>0x48594D503531324637324350384E332D5935</string> 
    <key>SMmemserial</key> 
    <string>0x54004120</string>
</dict>
</plist>

org.chameleon.Boot.plist

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Default Partition</key>
<string>Macintosh HD</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1920x1200x32</string>
<key>Hide Partition</key>
<string>Windows 7</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>1</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>SystemType</key>
<string>3</string>
<key>UseKernelCache</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>CSTUsingSystemIO</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>EnableC2State</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>EnableC3State</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>EnableC4State</key>
<string>Yes</string>
</dict>
</plist>
Logged
brunosky
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31



« Reply #756 on: April 27, 2013, 04:51:25 PM »

Sleep works for me, no crash on waking up as well.
Use my smbios.plist & org.chameleon.Boot.plist as a reference.

@ chromafile

Could you please post also your dsdt.aml file?
Thank you,

brunosky
« Last Edit: April 29, 2013, 02:09:40 PM by brunosky » Logged

MacPro 1,1 - 2006
Processor 2 x 3 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory 16 GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Graphics AMD Radeon HD 7950 3072 MB
Software OS X 10.9.1 (13B42)
chromafile
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 88


« Reply #757 on: April 27, 2013, 05:01:09 PM »


Sleep works for me, no crash on waking up as well.
Use my smbios.plist & org.chameleon.Boot.plist as a reference.

Code:
smbios.plist

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>SMbiosdate</key>
<string>02/29/08</string>
<key>SMbiosvendor</key>
<string>Apple Inc.</string>
<key>SMboardmanufacturer</key>
<string>Apple Inc.</string>
<key>SMfamily</key>
<string>MacPro</string>
<key>SMmanufacturer</key>
<string>Apple Inc.</string>
<key>SMproductname</key>
<string>MacPro3,1</string>
<key>SMsystemversion</key>
<string>1.0</string>
<key>SMcputype</key>
<string>1281</string>
<key>SMmaximalclock</key>
<string>2660</string>
<key>SMmemspeed</key>
<string>667</string>
<key>SMexternalclock</key>
<string>333</string>
<key>SMmemtype</key>
<string>20</string>
<key>SMboardproduct</key>
<string>Mac-F42C88C8</string>
<key>SMbiosversion</key>
<string>MP31.88Z.006C.B05.0802291410</string>
<key>SMserial</key>
<string>ZZ9999ZZZZZ</string>
    <key>SMmemmanufacturer</key>
<string>0x80AD</string>
    <key>SMmempart</key> 
    <string>0x48594D503531324637324350384E332D5935</string> 
    <key>SMmemserial</key> 
    <string>0x54004120</string>
</dict>
</plist>

org.chameleon.Boot.plist

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Default Partition</key>
<string>Macintosh HD</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1920x1200x32</string>
<key>Hide Partition</key>
<string>Windows 7</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>1</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>SystemType</key>
<string>3</string>
<key>UseKernelCache</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>CSTUsingSystemIO</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>EnableC2State</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>EnableC3State</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>EnableC4State</key>
<string>Yes</string>
</dict>
</plist>

@ chromafile

Could you please post also your dsdt.aml file?
Thank you,

brunosky

It's the same as you have (from Jabbawok)
Logged
HaraldSt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 102


« Reply #758 on: April 28, 2013, 11:37:11 PM »

Not working for mine. It hard crashes on waking up - black screen and locked.

Consider that in the smbios.plist I'm not using the lines:
        <key>SMboardproduct</key>
        <string>Mac-F42C88C8</string>
but this ones:
        <key>SMsystemboard</key>
        <string>Mac-F4208DC8</string>
(the key is different).
Try to start Chameleon in verbose mode, adding these final lines to the org.chameleon.Boot.plist file:
   <key>Kernel Flags</key>
   <string>-v verbose</string>
Consider also that the dsdt.aml file from chevi with me doesn't work: I'm enclosing that from Jabbawok.
Give it a try.
Tried/failed...
Logged
brunosky
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31



« Reply #759 on: April 29, 2013, 01:59:33 PM »

Tried/failed...

@ HaraldSt
I'm enclosing the code of both files: I'd like to think that this time everything is at it should be.

smbios.plist
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>

<key>SMbiosvendor</key>
        <string>Apple Inc.</string>
<key>SMboardmanufacturer</key>
<string>Apple Inc.</string>
<key>SMfamily</key>
<string>MacPro</string>
<key>SMmanufacturer</key>
<string>Apple Inc.</string>
        <key>SMproductname</key>
        <string>MacPro3,1</string>
        <key>SMsystemversion</key>
        <string>1.0</string>
        <key>SMboardproduct</key>
        <string>Mac-F4208DC8</string>
        <key>SMbiosversion</key>
        <string>MP31.88Z.006C.B05.0802291410</string>
        <key>SMcputype</key>
        <string>1281</string>
        <key>SMserial</key>
        <string>Your Serial Number</string>
</dict>
</plist>

org.chameleon.Boot.plist
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Default Partition</key>
<string>Mac Pro HD</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1680x1050x32</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>darkwake=0</string>
<key>Legacy Logo</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Theme</key>
<string>Legacy</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>1</string>
<key>USBBusFix</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>UseKernelCache</key>
<string>Yes</string>
</dict>
</plist>

The lines:
   <key>USBBusFix</key>
   <string>Yes</string>
   <key>UseKernelCache</key>
   <string>Yes</string>
are fundamental.

Remember to insert your serial number in the proper string:
        <key>SMserial</key>
        <string>Your Serial Number</string>

The application Kext Wizard:
http://mac.softpedia.com/get/Utilities/Kext-Wizard.shtml
maybe could be of use after changing the code.

Please let me know.
Good Luck,

brunosky
« Last Edit: April 29, 2013, 02:17:00 PM by brunosky » Logged

MacPro 1,1 - 2006
Processor 2 x 3 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory 16 GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Graphics AMD Radeon HD 7950 3072 MB
Software OS X 10.9.1 (13B42)
HaraldSt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 102


« Reply #760 on: April 29, 2013, 08:23:42 PM »

Thanks, will try that, when I get a chance.
Logged
HaraldSt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 102


« Reply #761 on: April 30, 2013, 04:39:49 PM »

Thanks, will try that, when I get a chance.
And it worked. Of course, we will have to see, whether it works reliably over time, but I had a number of good recoveries!
Logged
brunosky
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31



« Reply #762 on: April 30, 2013, 04:42:30 PM »

Thanks, will try that, when I get a chance.
And it worked. Of course, we will have to see, whether it works reliably over time, but I had a number of good recoveries!

This time I'm sure it will work: be confident!
Long live the Mac Pro 1,1!

 Grin Grin Grin
« Last Edit: April 30, 2013, 04:45:14 PM by brunosky » Logged

MacPro 1,1 - 2006
Processor 2 x 3 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory 16 GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Graphics AMD Radeon HD 7950 3072 MB
Software OS X 10.9.1 (13B42)
HaraldSt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 102


« Reply #763 on: May 02, 2013, 04:44:24 PM »

Thanks, will try that, when I get a chance.
And it worked. Of course, we will have to see, whether it works reliably over time, but I had a number of good recoveries!

This time I'm sure it will work: be confident!
Long live the Mac Pro 1,1!
Alas, had one failure to wake fully so far, but I will keep running it this way to test more. Mine is a 1,1, upgraded to Quad Core 3GHz Xeons with 2,1 FW and 12GB of RAM, masquerading as a 3,1...
It's been trouble free for 5 years, except for the ATI card, which died and was replaced by AppleCare, and later upgraded to an Apple ATI 4870 a couple of years ago.
It has a 240GB SSD, the rest of the bays are filled with 3TB and 2TB drives. The second DVD bay has a BlueRay burner hooked to one of the extra SATA ports.

There is absolutely NO reason to replace it. It is quiet and fast, and running a couple of VMs does not slow it down. I have thought about adding USB 3, but really do not have much need for it.
Logged
HaraldSt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 102


« Reply #764 on: May 03, 2013, 07:03:40 PM »

Boy, the USB fix entry might be causing more freeze issues, not just after sleep. Had a freeze on switching apps while moving the cursor. Never happened before.

Clearly have to "wait for things to settle" after wake, or a freeze will result...
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 49 50 [51] 52 53 ... 60
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!