netkas.org forum
September 22, 2020, 12:03:19 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 41 42 [43] 44 45 ... 60
  Print  
Author Topic: Booting the 64-bit kernel on the 2006/2007 Mac Pro  (Read 1366672 times)
Graeme43
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #630 on: September 19, 2012, 06:29:58 PM »

PTUser, the chameleon I used for my 10.8 install doesn't boot 10.7 so u may never know if it works until u try it  Huh. Never tried chimera though as chameleon works great so don't see any reason to touch it  Huh

I could link to an image o boot drive I use for 10.8.1  but you'd need to add your own SN to the plist
« Last Edit: September 19, 2012, 06:31:43 PM by Graeme43 » Logged

Mac Pro 1,1  4x2.66
10GB FB-DIMM
Chameleon 2446
Mac OS X 10.8.4
chromafile
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 88


« Reply #631 on: September 19, 2012, 06:34:05 PM »

Just installed 10.8.2 update and everything seems fine with Chameleon r2059.
Logged
creality
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #632 on: September 20, 2012, 10:22:51 PM »

5mins ago I installed 10.8.2 with running Chameleon Bootloader on my MacPro1,2. The stupid thing is I have to wait about 1min before booting into Chameleon - but working great on SoftwareRAID (stripped).

 Smiley
Logged

.........
MacPro 2,1 | 32GB | Software RAID | 2xXeon | 4x2TB HDDs | 30" Display
fbriatto2
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 20


« Reply #633 on: September 21, 2012, 11:36:54 PM »

Same for me. 10.8.2 works nicely. I combined it with the latest Chameleon update.
Just a little hassle before I realised that the update delivered a new geforce kext (in Sys/lib/ext).
After removing it, Portal, Aperture and Audio are OK. The only exception is dictation.
Dictation worked randomly in 10.8.1 but currently not any more.

In the log i see a : kAFAssistantErrorDomain error 208
If someone has an idea... Thanks to all.

Current config.
MacPro1.1 2.66 Ghz, upgraded to MacPro2.1, 3 Ghz 8-core processing (2x X5365), 16 GB RAM (by 8x2 GB),
Apple GeForce 7300GT, AMD RADEON HD 6870 graphics, CalDigit USB3 Adapter, 2x SSDs (OCZ Vertex4, OWC)
Logged
armdn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 149


« Reply #634 on: September 23, 2012, 07:53:13 AM »

For me Dictation work normal with a FireWire iSight.  Grin
Logged
creality
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #635 on: September 25, 2012, 09:53:26 PM »

Hi there,

my Mac2.1 (original) is running without any hacked kexts...just needed to patch the DSDT.aml for working sound. But one thing...since MountainLion my USB Webcam don't wakeup after sleep. I have to unplug it from usb - thats all Smiley

ML is working on my machine with Apple Software Raid (stripped mode). Sleep is working well. ICloud and Photostream also working.

other strange issues:
- magic mouse is slow and stucking
- chameleon is booting after 2min wait time (nothing happens - grey screen)

May be the chameleon sucks with Raid.

my Config:
- 2.5HDD on SuperDrive Slot with 1GB MBR Partition and Chameleon on it
- booting in Legacy Mode (seems not to be necessary)

may be someone has a solution to fix up the boot time...

regards.
Logged

.........
MacPro 2,1 | 32GB | Software RAID | 2xXeon | 4x2TB HDDs | 30" Display
fbriatto2
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 20


« Reply #636 on: September 26, 2012, 11:18:16 PM »

=> Dictation is working today. I did not change anything (SW/HW) so I assume it's a sporadic server problem. Thanks.

=> Regarding slow chameleon boot times, did you try with caches enabled ? I assume you already now but maybee not...
Anyways even with kernel caches enabled the boot time is quite slow... A performance enhancement on this
side would be welcome.
Logged
konran
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71



WWW
« Reply #637 on: September 27, 2012, 09:20:49 AM »

Hi all,

in the meantime I've moved to a MacPro3,1 ... therefore I don't need my MacPro2,1 anymore and can offer it to anyone who needs a good tested one which had 10.8 ML running with Chameleon, DSDT's, audio, ODD SATA and sleep working.

The machine is cleaned and refurbished:
MacPro2,1(former 1,1) 2 x Intel Xeon Dual Core 3 GHz (upgraded), 10 GB RAM, 2 x 250 GB HDD, nVidia 8800 GTS (patched 8800 GT EFI), Mighty Mouse, Apple White Keyboard, OS X 10.7 + Mac OS X 10.6; 1 ODD SATA connected externally, 1 ODD SATA wired internally; original Intel Xeon Dual Core 2.66 GHz pair and nVidia 7300 GT card included.

Anyone interested please PM me. My location is Bonn, Germany.
Logged

MacPro2,1(1,1) 2 x Intel Xeon Dual Core 3 GHz, 10 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 250/750/750 GB HDD, nVidia 8800 GTS, Eizo EV2333W, Eizo L768 TFT, Mighty Mouse, Apple Alu Keyboard, OS X 10.7.4
creality
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #638 on: September 27, 2012, 03:42:54 PM »

I think the boot delay its not a caching problem...chameleon boot loader appears 1min after power on. Thats a crazy behavior. I will try to install the system on a different disk to test some configuration modes.
Logged

.........
MacPro 2,1 | 32GB | Software RAID | 2xXeon | 4x2TB HDDs | 30" Display
jeremiahbarrar
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #639 on: September 27, 2012, 07:24:59 PM »

I installed Chameleon on a internal IDE hard drive underneath the SuperDrive. Chameleon boots up and shows my boot disk. When I boot with -v and GraphicsEnabler=Yes and a ATI 5770 (confirmed working in a Hackintosh with Chameleon) it loads mach kernel and crashes and reboots a second later. any suggestions?
Logged
fbriatto2
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 20


« Reply #640 on: September 27, 2012, 09:00:17 PM »

Looong Chameleon Boot time

Just did some tests. Same for me, from poweron to chameleon loader screen it takes about one minute.
Did not realize that because I rarely reboot.

My config is probably very current with chameleon on the first SSD partition and macos on the second one.
The SSD is in the first slot.

I am not bothered by that but if I had some time I would probably drop all connected devices, reduce memory to the minimum
and keep only the SSD in the first slot to help isolate the root cause, if any. Could be related to the way boot0 behaves...
Should also take a look at the source code to try to understand what is going on ...

Anyways if you have an idea I am interested as well.
Logged
holymacoli
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #641 on: September 28, 2012, 02:54:19 AM »

Just wanted to say thank you for this solution.

I just got this going on my

2,1 (1,1) Mac Pro
2 x Quad Core Xeon
16 GB RAM
Lion 10.7.4
GTX 570

THANK YOU


Logged
orsodimare
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #642 on: September 28, 2012, 01:03:44 PM »

Same for me. 10.8.2 works nicely. I combined it with the latest Chameleon update.
Just a little hassle before I realised that the update delivered a new geforce kext (in Sys/lib/ext).
After removing it, Portal, Aperture and Audio are OK. The only exception is dictation.
....
Current config.
MacPro1.1 2.66 Ghz, upgraded to MacPro2.1, 3 Ghz 8-core processing (2x X5365), 16 GB RAM (by 8x2 GB),
Apple GeForce 7300GT, AMD RADEON HD 6870 graphics, CalDigit USB3 Adapter, 2x SSDs (OCZ Vertex4, OWC)


Great... but I have two questions:
1- how did you manage to have the 7300GT working (with ML I knew it leads to KP due to its 32bit "soul")?
2- which geforce kext did you remove after updating from S/L/E ?

Thanks in advance
« Last Edit: September 28, 2012, 04:23:19 PM by orsodimare » Logged
creality
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #643 on: September 28, 2012, 02:36:35 PM »

I installed Chameleon on a internal IDE hard drive underneath the SuperDrive. Chameleon boots up and shows my boot disk. When I boot with -v and GraphicsEnabler=Yes and a ATI 5770 (confirmed working in a Hackintosh with Chameleon) it loads mach kernel and crashes and reboots a second later. any suggestions?

I have the same device 5770 - but I do not require GraphicEnabler. The 5770 runs out of the box. Try to turn the GraphicEnabler off this should be working... Wink
Logged

.........
MacPro 2,1 | 32GB | Software RAID | 2xXeon | 4x2TB HDDs | 30" Display
PeterHolbrook
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #644 on: September 28, 2012, 02:45:37 PM »

I have the same device 5770 - but I do not require GraphicEnabler. The 5770 runs out of the box. Try to turn the GraphicEnabler off this should be working... Wink

Well, yes, it sort of "works" without the GraphicsEnabler line in org.chameleon.Boot.plist , but it only works in the sense that you can see things on the screen. However, the graphics card won't be properly identified by the system and there will be serious flaws. For instance, you won't be able to play a DVD. So, add the relevant line and avoid such obvious pitfalls.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 41 42 [43] 44 45 ... 60
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!