netkas.org forum
August 19, 2019, 10:34:00 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 22 23 [24] 25 26 ... 60
  Print  
Author Topic: Booting the 64-bit kernel on the 2006/2007 Mac Pro  (Read 1208390 times)
Mr. Zarniwoop
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58



« Reply #345 on: May 30, 2012, 02:11:08 PM »

How did you enable hdmi audio. I'd like to do it on my 5770?

First, I enabled the HDMI port by patching the framebuffer/personality per this post.  That enabled HDMI video output.

Then, I added the following to my DSDT which enabled HDMI audio output:

Code:

            Device (PEGP)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x00040000)
                Name (_PRW, Package (0x02)
                {
                    0x09,
                    0x05
                })
 
                Device (GFX0)
                {
                    Name (_ADR, Zero)
                    Name (_SUN, One)
                    Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
                    {
                        Store (Package (0x02)
                            {
                                "hda-gfx",
                                Buffer (0x0A)
                                {
                                    "onboard-1"
                                }
                            }, Local0)
                          DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
                        Return (Local0)
                    }
                }

                Device (HDAU)
                {
                    Name (_ADR, One)
                    Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
                    {
                        Store (Package (0x02)
                            {
                                "hda-gfx",
                                Buffer (0x0A)
                                {
                                    "onboard-1"
                                }
                            }, Local0)
                          DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
                        Return (Local0)
                    }
                }
            }

Note that address in "Name (_ADR, 0x00040000)" may be different for your card, I don't have enough experience to know if this is the same across all MacPro1,1s or not?  [Update: It seems to be the same at least for those with OEM Apple ATI Radeon HD 5770 cards and this DSDT enables audio over the Mini DisplayPort ports including using MiniDP-to-HDMI adapters.]  In order for my DSDT to work, Chameleon's bdmesg output needs to show the PCI card's address as 0x4. Mine reads "ATI Radeon HD 4890 2048MB [1002:9460] (subsys [174b:e118]) (RV772:Motmot) :: PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x4,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)" which equates to "Name (_ADR, 0x00040000)" for my 4890 in slot 1.

No edits were necessary to AppleHDA or AppleHDAController as my card's HDMI Audio Device_id, "30 aa", was already in the kexts.

electropura718's DSDT for MacPro1,1 with above HDMI/mDP audio patches attached to this post.

I use ErmaC's Enoch branch of Chameleon as it added 4890 device IDs, currently running r1982, latest available here.

* dsdt.aml (17.16 KB - downloaded 358 times.)
« Last Edit: May 31, 2012, 02:06:35 PM by Mr. Zarniwoop » Logged

2006 MacPro1,1 (w/2,1 EFI firmware) - 2x 3GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon "Clovertown" X5365 CPUs - MSI R9 280X Gaming 3GB (w/Mac EFI firmware) - Mac OS X w/64-bit kernel
jabbawok
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



« Reply #346 on: May 30, 2012, 04:10:33 PM »

How did you enable hdmi audio. I'd like to do it on my 5770?

First, I enabled the HDMI port by patching the framebuffer/personality per this post.  That enabled HDMI video output.

Then, I added the following to my DSDT which enabled HDMI audio output:

Code:

            Device (PEGP)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x00040000)
                Name (_PRW, Package (0x02)
                {
                    0x09,
                    0x05
                })
 
                Device (GFX0)
                {
                    Name (_ADR, Zero)
                    Name (_SUN, One)
                    Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
                    {
                        Store (Package (0x02)
                            {
                                "hda-gfx",
                                Buffer (0x0A)
                                {
                                    "onboard-1"
                                }
                            }, Local0)
                          DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
                        Return (Local0)
                    }
                }

                Device (HDAU)
                {
                    Name (_ADR, One)
                    Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
                    {
                        Store (Package (0x02)
                            {
                                "hda-gfx",
                                Buffer (0x0A)
                                {
                                    "onboard-1"
                                }
                            }, Local0)
                          DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
                        Return (Local0)
                    }
                }
            }

Note that address in "Name (_ADR, 0x00040000)" may be different for your card, I don't have enough experience to know if this is the same across all MacPro1,1s or not?  Check Chameleon's bdmesg output to be sure your address is the same, mine reads "ATI Radeon HD 4890 2048MB [1002:9460] (subsys [174b:e118]) (RV772:Motmot) :: PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x4,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)" which equates to "Name (_ADR, 0x00040000)" for my 4890 in slot 1.

No edits were necessary to AppleHDA or AppleHDAController as my card's HDMI Audio Device_id, "30 aa", was already in the kexts.

electropura718's DSDT for MacPro1,1 with above HDMI audio patches attached.

I use ErmaC's Enoch branch of Chameleon as it added 4890 device IDs, currently running r1982, latest available here.

THANKS! Worked a treat!  Grin All I did was use the attached DSDT. My card is an Apple HD5770, which on a new mac pro has working HDMI audio on its mini diplayport.

I have a 3rd party USB2 card and A USB3 card which may be causing the sleep issues. The USB3 card isn't being used (LAcie drivers don't seem to work in M'Lion) so I can take it out but I need the extra usb 2 ports so maybe a powered hub is the answer.
Logged

MacPro 4,1 updated to 5,1 - W3690 -  - 32GB ram - 256GB NVME SSD
Mr. Zarniwoop
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58



« Reply #347 on: May 30, 2012, 04:17:03 PM »

Glad to hear about HDMI audio!

I have a 3rd party USB2 card and A USB3 card which may be causing the sleep issues.

FWIW, I have a USB 2.0/Firewire PCI card in my Mac Pro, with devices attached, and it sleeps fine.  So, if I were you, I'd try pulling the USB 3.0 first and leaving the USB 2.0 behind.
Logged

2006 MacPro1,1 (w/2,1 EFI firmware) - 2x 3GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon "Clovertown" X5365 CPUs - MSI R9 280X Gaming 3GB (w/Mac EFI firmware) - Mac OS X w/64-bit kernel
Hooper
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


« Reply #348 on: May 30, 2012, 07:45:39 PM »

How did you enable hdmi audio. I'd like to do it on my 5770?

First, I enabled the HDMI port by patching the framebuffer/personality per this post.  That enabled HDMI video output.

Then, I added the following to my DSDT which enabled HDMI audio output:

Code:

            Device (PEGP)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x00040000)
                Name (_PRW, Package (0x02)
                {
                    0x09,
                    0x05
                })
 
                Device (GFX0)
                {
                    Name (_ADR, Zero)
                    Name (_SUN, One)
                    Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
                    {
                        Store (Package (0x02)
                            {
                                "hda-gfx",
                                Buffer (0x0A)
                                {
                                    "onboard-1"
                                }
                            }, Local0)
                          DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
                        Return (Local0)
                    }
                }

                Device (HDAU)
                {
                    Name (_ADR, One)
                    Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
                    {
                        Store (Package (0x02)
                            {
                                "hda-gfx",
                                Buffer (0x0A)
                                {
                                    "onboard-1"
                                }
                            }, Local0)
                          DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
                        Return (Local0)
                    }
                }
            }

Note that address in "Name (_ADR, 0x00040000)" may be different for your card, I don't have enough experience to know if this is the same across all MacPro1,1s or not?  Check Chameleon's bdmesg output to be sure your address is the same, mine reads "ATI Radeon HD 4890 2048MB [1002:9460] (subsys [174b:e118]) (RV772:Motmot) :: PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x4,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)" which equates to "Name (_ADR, 0x00040000)" for my 4890 in slot 1.

No edits were necessary to AppleHDA or AppleHDAController as my card's HDMI Audio Device_id, "30 aa", was already in the kexts.

electropura718's DSDT for MacPro1,1 with above HDMI audio patches attached.

I use ErmaC's Enoch branch of Chameleon as it added 4890 device IDs, currently running r1982, latest available here.

THANKS! Worked a treat!  Grin All I did was use the attached DSDT. My card is an Apple HD5770, which on a new mac pro has working HDMI audio on its mini diplayport.

I have a 3rd party USB2 card and A USB3 card which may be causing the sleep issues. The USB3 card isn't being used (LAcie drivers don't seem to work in M'Lion) so I can take it out but I need the extra usb 2 ports so maybe a powered hub is the answer.

@jabbawok: Mr.Zarniwoop's dsdt works excellent 4 me as well ! :-) I now have a 2006 MP running ML-dp3, with Airdrop, Airplay, bluray-drive and even Displayport/HDMI audio ! Who needs a 2010 MP ?? haha. Momently watching a bluray-movie on my Panasonic plasma-tv, running fine from my MP with Mac Bluray-player and 2-channel displayport>hdmi audio (48kHz)... s m o o t h l y :-))
Logged
Mr. Zarniwoop
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58



« Reply #349 on: May 30, 2012, 08:38:02 PM »

electropura718's DSDT for MacPro1,1 with above HDMI audio patches attached.


THANKS! Worked a treat!  Grin All I did was use the attached DSDT. My card is an Apple HD5770, which on a new mac pro has working HDMI audio on its mini diplayport.


@jabbawok: Mr.Zarniwoop's dsdt works excellent 4 me as well ! :-) I now have a 2006 MP running ML-dp3, with Airdrop, Airplay, bluray-drive and even Displayport/HDMI audio ! Who needs a 2010 MP ?? haha. Momently watching a bluray-movie on my Panasonic plasma-tv, running fine from my MP with Mac Bluray-player and 2-channel displayport>hdmi audio (48kHz)... s m o o t h l y :-))

Are you also using an OEM Apple ATI Radeon HD 5770 or a different card?
Logged

2006 MacPro1,1 (w/2,1 EFI firmware) - 2x 3GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon "Clovertown" X5365 CPUs - MSI R9 280X Gaming 3GB (w/Mac EFI firmware) - Mac OS X w/64-bit kernel
Hooper
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


« Reply #350 on: May 30, 2012, 08:49:04 PM »

Yes sir ! using it with the 30" Apple CD (DVI), and currently a Panasonic plasma-tv connected on the first mdp. Btw: thanks a lot for your dsdt !
Logged
jabbawok
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



« Reply #351 on: May 30, 2012, 08:55:03 PM »

How did you enable AirDrop and Airplay? Id like to get that working if I can.
Thanks.
Logged

MacPro 4,1 updated to 5,1 - W3690 -  - 32GB ram - 256GB NVME SSD
Hooper
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


« Reply #352 on: May 30, 2012, 09:07:10 PM »

jabbawok: airplay works oob with airport-express or airplay compatible amplifier powered on. Option shows up in system preferences>>sound>>select airplay. For enabling airdrop I use the beautifull prog Lion Tweaks, latest version 1.4.3 works with ML, a really must-have in my opinion !
(or run terminal-code: defaults write com.apple.NetworkBrowser BrowseAllInterfaces 1) + killall Finder. Your mac's have to be in the same network to 'see' each other than.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2012, 09:17:59 PM by Hooper » Logged
jabbawok
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



« Reply #353 on: May 30, 2012, 09:29:07 PM »

Cheers Hooper. Airdrop works now. I was thinking of AirPlay Video mirroring to Apple TV. I have an app on my HTPC that emulates the AirPlay bit of Apple TV.
Logged

MacPro 4,1 updated to 5,1 - W3690 -  - 32GB ram - 256GB NVME SSD
Hooper
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


« Reply #354 on: May 30, 2012, 09:36:15 PM »

Congrats jabbawok ! I have video mirroring working on my 'old' ATV-1, using aTV-Flash hack and remote-HD app.  guide: http://www.appletvhacks.net/2011/01/05/airplay-streaming-hacked-into-the-old-apple-tv/. Good Luck !
Logged
jabbawok
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



« Reply #355 on: May 31, 2012, 11:08:23 AM »

Congrats jabbawok ! I have video mirroring working on my 'old' ATV-1, using aTV-Flash hack and remote-HD app.  guide: http://www.appletvhacks.net/2011/01/05/airplay-streaming-hacked-into-the-old-apple-tv/. Good Luck !

This kind of thing?
http://www.apple.com/macosx/mountain-lion/features.html#airplay
Logged

MacPro 4,1 updated to 5,1 - W3690 -  - 32GB ram - 256GB NVME SSD
Mr. Zarniwoop
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58



« Reply #356 on: June 02, 2012, 01:57:05 PM »

In the meantime I realized that a very recent release of Chameleon causes the NVRAM data loss.

konran, were there earlier versions of Chameleon that properly supported "real" native Apple NVRAM in OS X on a Mac Pro?
Logged

2006 MacPro1,1 (w/2,1 EFI firmware) - 2x 3GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon "Clovertown" X5365 CPUs - MSI R9 280X Gaming 3GB (w/Mac EFI firmware) - Mac OS X w/64-bit kernel
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 835



« Reply #357 on: June 03, 2012, 11:43:28 PM »

It's next to impossible.

Efi runtime services most likely get wiped when legacy os booted(chameleon) and 64-bit kernel cant run 32-bit runtime services anyway(just look at code, apple didnt implement it)

The only possible and very hard to implement thing would be to dump runtime-services code from macpro3,1 and recreate it in memory with chameleon before running kernel.
Logged
Mr. Zarniwoop
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58



« Reply #358 on: June 04, 2012, 03:16:53 PM »

Netkas, the one hope I had for getting at NVRAM from legacy mode is the Windows Apple Boot Camp Control Panel which clearly sets some NVRAM values when booted in legacy mode Windows, specifically the startup device (efi-boot-device and efi-boot-device-data).
Logged

2006 MacPro1,1 (w/2,1 EFI firmware) - 2x 3GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon "Clovertown" X5365 CPUs - MSI R9 280X Gaming 3GB (w/Mac EFI firmware) - Mac OS X w/64-bit kernel
konran
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71



WWW
« Reply #359 on: June 05, 2012, 09:37:47 AM »

Efi runtime services most likely get wiped when legacy os booted(chameleon) and 64-bit kernel cant run 32-bit runtime services anyway(just look at code, apple didnt implement it)

I'm not sure if I clearly understand what you mean - AFAIK the NVRAM holds non-volatile stored parameters. Thus they have to be removed explicitely. Do you mean that Apple removes/clears the NVRAM and not Chameleon?

Could you give some pin-point to the code where to look for? I'd like to know where to start to look at - anyway I'm not sure if I can make any changes as I'm not familiar with Apple kernel code...
Logged

MacPro2,1(1,1) 2 x Intel Xeon Dual Core 3 GHz, 10 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 250/750/750 GB HDD, nVidia 8800 GTS, Eizo EV2333W, Eizo L768 TFT, Mighty Mouse, Apple Alu Keyboard, OS X 10.7.4
Pages: 1 ... 22 23 [24] 25 26 ... 60
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!