netkas.org forum
August 23, 2019, 03:23:02 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 9 10 [11] 12 13 ... 60
  Print  
Author Topic: Booting the 64-bit kernel on the 2006/2007 Mac Pro  (Read 1210299 times)
patida
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #150 on: April 03, 2012, 10:08:49 PM »

for those who are interested in better grafic support in lion  (kext)

   using a evga gtx 580 this way in my productive system

   http://goo.gl/2fMU8


   guess its nothing new

   
Logged
konran
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71



WWW
« Reply #151 on: April 03, 2012, 10:52:09 PM »

I remembr fixing trouble with parallels on a hackintosh, parallels was reading some value of nvram, and when u boot macpro with chameleon, it misses whole nvram, so , just set that value with nvram console command and parallels will run fine till reboot, dont remember the exact variable name.

netkas, could you make a test again on a MacPro with NVRAM? I'm asking because I found out that NVRAM is always cleared when I boot my MacPro1,1 with Chameleon (currently 2.1svn r1897, because it is the last one that is usable with my Mac).
Logged

MacPro2,1(1,1) 2 x Intel Xeon Dual Core 3 GHz, 10 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 250/750/750 GB HDD, nVidia 8800 GTS, Eizo EV2333W, Eizo L768 TFT, Mighty Mouse, Apple Alu Keyboard, OS X 10.7.4
konran
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71



WWW
« Reply #152 on: April 03, 2012, 11:19:32 PM »

problems … mountain lion DP2 doesn't boot in Chameleon-2.1svn-r1820   whats wrong.  … did also a PRAM reset because of my bootcamp partition

You could try r1897 with 10.8 support ... it's the most recent that works on my MacPro1,1. And you have to make sure that it has 10.8 support - otherwise it wouldn't boot Mountain Lion at all.

 A)  is the number  ( Mac-F4208DC89 ) in       line 7     for all mac pros 1.1 identical ?

Yes, this is the system board ... I've found in the PlatformSupport.plist from Lion for my MacPro1,1 this one:
Mac-F4208DC8 (your last 9 is too much).

 B)  is the number  (MP21.88Z.007F.B06.0707021348) in     line 9      for all mac pros 1.1 identical

It depends on the firmware version your MacPro runs with. If you didn't upgrade it to a 2007 MacPro2,1 firmware you should have MP11.005C.B08 ... but you can see that in Systeminformation:=Boot ROM Version

 C)  "my mac pro serial from about this mac / more info"  in line 13 correct ?

Yes. It is the same physical machine as w/out booting via Chameleon.

Question: What does 1,2 mean in line 15 "<string>hd(1,2)</string> "

Look in Terminal with "diskutil list". The first digit in hd(1,2) is the disk number, the second digit is the partition number, both values start with a 0.

Take care that you have modified the file PlatformSupport.plist (in /System/Library/CoreServices) accordingly to match your MacPro as a supported machine. There are two dictionaries with keys and strings that have to match. I've put my systemboard version and MacPro1,1 model to the end of both lists. Repeat that in a copy of that file in /System/Library/CoreServices/com.apple.recovery.boot for the Recovery HD partition (before it is ever been created!).
Logged

MacPro2,1(1,1) 2 x Intel Xeon Dual Core 3 GHz, 10 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 250/750/750 GB HDD, nVidia 8800 GTS, Eizo EV2333W, Eizo L768 TFT, Mighty Mouse, Apple Alu Keyboard, OS X 10.7.4
Mr. Zarniwoop
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58



« Reply #153 on: April 04, 2012, 01:47:51 AM »

I can't get this quite working for me, I think my old ATI 1900XT is causing problems.

  • MacPro 2,1 (was MacPro 1,1)
  • OEM Apple ATI X1900 XT (I have heard this will be a problem with Mountain Lion, which I am not trying just yet)
  • Mac OS X Lion 10.7.3
  • everything done exactly as the first post in this thread

If I let it boot up with GraphicEnabler=YES, and I start Chameleon in verbose mode, I get the following error screen:

Code:
Darwin/x86 boot v5.0.132 - Chameleon v2.1svn r1478
Build date: 2011-08-29 20:12:06
10235MB memory
VESA v3.0 16MB (ATI ATOMBIOS)
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/System/Library/CoreServices/SystemVersion.plist] 479 bytes.
Loading Darwin 10.7
Loading kernel /mach_kernel
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/mach_kernel] 4096 bytes.
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/mach_kernel] 7949336 bytes.
ACPI table not found: DSDT.aml
No DSDT found, using 0 as kid value.
Using PCI-Root-UID value: 0
Framebuffer @0xE0000000  MMIO @0xF0E20000
0xF0E00000
ATI card non-POSTed, reading VBIOS from PCI ROM @0xf0e00000
Framebuffer set to device's default:  S
Nr of ports set to framebuffer's default: 0

If I change it to boot up with GraphicEnabler=NO, it boots up, but I get only one display stuck in 1024x768 mode.

I did try using the DSDT.aml in the forum, it didn't change anything as I presume it has nothing in it for that.

Can I use an OEM Apple ATI X1900 XT card and get it booted in 64-bit mode?  Or is this actual Apple card a non-starter with Chameleon in a Mac Pro?
Logged

2006 MacPro1,1 (w/2,1 EFI firmware) - 2x 3GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon "Clovertown" X5365 CPUs - MSI R9 280X Gaming 3GB (w/Mac EFI firmware) - Mac OS X w/64-bit kernel
electropura718
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« Reply #154 on: April 04, 2012, 05:02:32 AM »

You can use an apple card, no problem. 
Logged
andystubbs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 505


« Reply #155 on: April 04, 2012, 07:07:21 AM »

If I let it boot up with GraphicEnabler=YES, and I start Chameleon in verbose mode, I get the following error screen:

Code:
Darwin/x86 boot v5.0.132 - Chameleon v2.1svn r1478
Build date: 2011-08-29 20:12:06
10235MB memory
VESA v3.0 16MB (ATI ATOMBIOS)
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/System/Library/CoreServices/SystemVersion.plist] 479 bytes.
Loading Darwin 10.7
Loading kernel /mach_kernel
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/mach_kernel] 4096 bytes.
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/mach_kernel] 7949336 bytes.
ACPI table not found: DSDT.aml
No DSDT found, using 0 as kid value.
Using PCI-Root-UID value: 0
Framebuffer @0xE0000000  MMIO @0xF0E20000
0xF0E00000
ATI card non-POSTed, reading VBIOS from PCI ROM @0xf0e00000
Framebuffer set to device's default:  S
Nr of ports set to framebuffer's default: 0

If I change it to boot up with GraphicEnabler=NO, it boots up, but I get only one display stuck in 1024x768 mode.

Thats not an error but it looks to me that the version of chameleon that you are using is not posting your gpu - possibly because it has no matching device id's in the ati.c file for your card. You could try a newer version of chameleon or check the ati.c file of your current version to see if the device id is present.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2012, 07:10:22 AM by andystubbs » Logged
konran
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71



WWW
« Reply #156 on: April 04, 2012, 11:56:19 AM »

My NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT is just broken last night, so I have to look for a replacement for MacPro1,1. I've found a good offer for NVIDIA Quadro FX 4500 Mac Edition. Has anyone tested this model with Chameleon and does it give a boot screen?
It seems that nVidia doesn't have any drivers for this board for Mac OS X.

I could also use my NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285 from my PC and flash it for Mac. I realized that some of you have already done so. Could anyone give me a resource to a guide because I've never flashed a graphics board...
Logged

MacPro2,1(1,1) 2 x Intel Xeon Dual Core 3 GHz, 10 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 250/750/750 GB HDD, nVidia 8800 GTS, Eizo EV2333W, Eizo L768 TFT, Mighty Mouse, Apple Alu Keyboard, OS X 10.7.4
chromafile
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 88


« Reply #157 on: April 04, 2012, 12:22:50 PM »

My NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT is just broken last night,

Baking 8800GT might help you Wink
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1421792
Logged
Mr. Zarniwoop
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58



« Reply #158 on: April 04, 2012, 01:28:03 PM »

Code:
Using PCI-Root-UID value: 0
Framebuffer @0xE0000000  MMIO @0xF0E20000
0xF0E00000
ATI card non-POSTed, reading VBIOS from PCI ROM @0xf0e00000
Framebuffer set to device's default:  S
Nr of ports set to framebuffer's default: 0

Thats not an error but it looks to me that the version of chameleon that you are using is not posting your gpu - possibly because it has no matching device id's in the ati.c file for your card. You could try a newer version of chameleon or check the ati.c file of your current version to see if the device id is present.

Thank you.  I'm not sure where the ati.c file is located, as I am totally new to Chameleon.  I will try a different, newer, version.

My understanding from the past is that in legacy mode, the MacPro1,1 and MacPro2,1 do something with the OEM Apple ATI X1900 XT that doesn't happen with other cards: they actually supply a Boot Camp VGA BIOS from the 2006/2007 Mac Pro EFI firmware for an ATI X1900 XT.  Here's a Google Translated discussion on that from MacBidoullie, explaining why that card doesn't work in Boot Camp in later Mac Pro models: because post-2007 Mac Pro firmware no longer includes the ATI X1900 XT VGA BIOS code.  Could that be the source of the problem?  In other words, in legacy mode, does it think it's a PC BIOS card in need of injection instead of an Apple EFI card?
Logged

2006 MacPro1,1 (w/2,1 EFI firmware) - 2x 3GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon "Clovertown" X5365 CPUs - MSI R9 280X Gaming 3GB (w/Mac EFI firmware) - Mac OS X w/64-bit kernel
electropura718
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« Reply #159 on: April 04, 2012, 04:33:06 PM »

I can boot Mac or PC cards...ATI or Nvidia...in my Mac Pro 2,1 with Chameleon.  Makes no difference.
I don't have your particular ATI card to test with.   I'm currently using a PC Nvidia GeForce GTX 470 as my main card now, but have used an ATI (Mac) 4870 in the past.

I'm guessing you have a bad install or incompatible version of Chameleon.  You might want to try 2.1 r1820, since it works with Mountain Lion, rather than the old one at the top of this thread.  I had success last night with Chimera 1.9 (which has the bonus of support of Multiple Nvidia cards using Graphics Enabler=YES), as well.

Make sure you are installing Chameleon on it's own partition and not your Mac OS partition.  You can try my DSDT, which I posted earlier in this thread to get your audio and ODD SATA working, if you want.

Logged
electropura718
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« Reply #160 on: April 04, 2012, 04:37:40 PM »

I could also use my NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285 from my PC and flash it for Mac. I realized that some of you have already done so. Could anyone give me a resource to a guide because I've never flashed a graphics board...

You don't need to flash anything if you are using Chameleon.  Chameleon doesn't give a crap about EFI.  You can use PC cards if you want.   You get boot screens anyway. You can use the latest Nvidia driver package on their site.  It basically supports all their cards (even without chameleon...but on a Mac booting normally with EFI64, you won't get boot screens).

Logged
Mr. Zarniwoop
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58



« Reply #161 on: April 04, 2012, 04:49:36 PM »

Quote from: electropura718
I'm guessing you have a bad install or incompatible version of Chameleon.
I don't think that's it, I actually started over with a single drive in my Mac Pro.  By that, I mean a new MBR repartitioned drive according to the first post, 1GB "Boot" partition for Chameleon and the rest partitioned with my OS X install copied over using Carbon Copy Cloner.  I then installed the exact version of Chameleon in the first post.

Quote from: electropura718
You might want to try 2.1 r1820, since it works with Mountain Lion, rather than the old one at the top of this thread.  I had success last night with Chimera 1.9 (which has the bonus of support of Multiple Nvidia cards using Graphics Enabler=YES), as well.
I will definitely try r1820 and, if that doesn't work, Chimera.

Quote from: electropura718
Make sure you are installing Chameleon on it's own partition and not your Mac OS partition.  You can try my DSDT, which I posted earlier in this thread to get your audio and ODD SATA working, if you want.
Chameleon is definitely in its own partition, and I have since added your DSDT.  I know I'm really close except my Apple ATI X1900 XT card!  Thanks for your suggestions.
Logged

2006 MacPro1,1 (w/2,1 EFI firmware) - 2x 3GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon "Clovertown" X5365 CPUs - MSI R9 280X Gaming 3GB (w/Mac EFI firmware) - Mac OS X w/64-bit kernel
patida
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #162 on: April 04, 2012, 08:42:18 PM »



my symbios.plist


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
        <string>Apple Inc.</string>
        <key>SMproductname</key>
        <string>MacPro1,1</string>
        <key>SMsystemversion</key>
        <string>1.0</string>
        <key>SMsystemboard</key>
        <string>Mac-F4208DC8</string>
        <key>SMbiosversion</key>
        <string>MP11.005C.B08.0707021348</string>                   1.)
        <key>SMcputype</key>
        <string>1026</string>
        <key>SMserial</key>
        <string>"Y O U R SERIAL"</string>
</dict>
</plist>




Question: 1.)   MP11.005C.B08   = Boot ROM Version     

                     - Is the second part "0707021348" correct for mac pro 1.1
                     - What does "0707021348" mean
                     - Where can I find this numbers (0707021348)


Thanks for the help    Grin

and special thanks to konran.

                     

                   
Logged
konran
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71



WWW
« Reply #163 on: April 04, 2012, 09:58:38 PM »

Question: 1.)   MP11.005C.B08   = Boot ROM Version     

                     - Is the second part "0707021348" correct for mac pro 1.1
                     - What does "0707021348" mean
                     - Where can I find this numbers (0707021348)

It just ends with .B08 - omit the second part. About this Mac doesn't show more. The second part maybe is a subversion ... you can have a look at the Apple support pages where they list the firmware upgrades for the Mac Pro families.
Logged

MacPro2,1(1,1) 2 x Intel Xeon Dual Core 3 GHz, 10 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 250/750/750 GB HDD, nVidia 8800 GTS, Eizo EV2333W, Eizo L768 TFT, Mighty Mouse, Apple Alu Keyboard, OS X 10.7.4
Mr. Zarniwoop
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58



« Reply #164 on: April 05, 2012, 04:52:17 AM »

Code:
Using PCI-Root-UID value: 0
Framebuffer @0xE0000000  MMIO @0xF0E20000
0xF0E00000
ATI card non-POSTed, reading VBIOS from PCI ROM @0xf0e00000
Framebuffer set to device's default:  S
Nr of ports set to framebuffer's default: 0

Thats not an error but it looks to me that the version of chameleon that you are using is not posting your gpu - possibly because it has no matching device id's in the ati.c file for your card. You could try a newer version of chameleon or check the ati.c file of your current version to see if the device id is present.

Thanks again for your post, especially when you mentioned ati.c which caused me to start looking for what the heck that might mean.  According to this post on InsanelyMac, ATI "Legacy" cards like the ATI X1900 XT were removed from Chameleon after r760.  Ok... after way more digging... my Apple ATI X1900 XT now works, albeit with a quirk or two.

1. I did install r1820, same results.  No go, for the reasons I mentioned.
2. I installed boot from r1515_trunkGraphicsEnabler from Azimutz per http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php?topic=1959.0
3. I copied ATiGraphicsEnabler.dylib from the same r1515_tGE to /Extra/modules
4. I added AtiConfig=Alopias in my org.chameleon.Boot.plist per a bunch of posts on InsanelyMac

Dual-link DVI works.  Dual DVI displays work.  QE/CI works.  Good stuff.

Quirks under Legacy Mode Chameleon 64-bit kernel boot (vs. EFI32 32-bit kernel boot):

  • Apple logo boot screen is not in full 2560x1600 resolution and is mirrored on both displays
  • "About This Mac" says my processor speed is 2.99 GHz (should say 3 GHz)
  • "System Information" under Graphics/Displays shows Unknown (should say ATI Radeon X1900 XT)
  • "System Information" under Graphics/Displays - Chipset shows Unknown (should say ATY,RadeonX1900)

However, everything else under Graphics/Displays is the same.  Well, almost, the ROM Revision is different (I think due to the 2006/2007 Mac Pro firmware providing a Boot Camp VGA BIOS per my previous note), and the "EFI Driver Version" is 01.00.140 under EFI32/32-bit kernel and 01.00.318 under Legacy Mode Chameleon/64-bit kernel.

It'd be nice to fix the quirks in case of some unintended issues down the road from them, but for now, my circa 2006 EFI32-based Mac Pro is running Mac OS X 10.7.3 with a 64-bit kernel.   I suspect this path will be too painful for Mountain Lion, but maybe I'll invest in a new card by then.
« Last Edit: April 05, 2012, 05:03:48 AM by Mr. Zarniwoop » Logged

2006 MacPro1,1 (w/2,1 EFI firmware) - 2x 3GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon "Clovertown" X5365 CPUs - MSI R9 280X Gaming 3GB (w/Mac EFI firmware) - Mac OS X w/64-bit kernel
Pages: 1 ... 9 10 [11] 12 13 ... 60
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!