netkas.org forum
April 26, 2017, 08:30:44 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 58 59 [60]
  Print  
Author Topic: Booting the 64-bit kernel on the 2006/2007 Mac Pro  (Read 613374 times)
Corpheus
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2



« Reply #885 on: April 14, 2015, 09:01:24 PM »

I don't know if you aren't understanding me due to a language thing or what.

I have a 1,1 here and I was THRILLED to have a flashed 7950 as it's card.

You get full boot screens, perfect 10.9.1 performance, and a good Windows gaming machine, all in one.

The boot screens make switching OS's painless and worry free.

Right this moment I can hear someone in the office using it for "League of Legends"

A flashed 7950/70 and a 1,1 with Tiamo's boot EFI runs 10.9 just like a 5,1. Yes it is true you could use a GTX780 (better be sure it's an "A") or a Titan or a GTX680 or whatever, but any of those Nvidia options will NEVER have boot screens. The 7950/70 option gives you full, 100% seamless operation.

When 7950/70 first got released for Mac I complained much that the EBC boot screens gave impression that 1,1 had a savior, but lack of 32 bit drivers ruined it. Tiamo fixed the issue . Better than most hacks in most regards. No cost, nearly seamless. Doesn't really get better than this.



You can flash a GTX680 with "EVGA GTX680 Mac Edition"-ROM and you'll have boot screens as well.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101



« Reply #886 on: April 15, 2015, 05:51:36 AM »


You can flash a GTX680 with "EVGA GTX680 Mac Edition"-ROM and you'll have boot screens as well.

Not in a 1,1 you can't.

Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
centrone
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #887 on: May 26, 2016, 11:31:25 AM »

it's my grapich card ati x1900 compatible to do dis?
Logged
forearmsauce424
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #888 on: July 18, 2016, 01:13:29 PM »

How do you know that your Mac is running in. I run my Windows 7 partition in 64bit mode, but I don't know if my Mac is doing the same.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2017, 04:56:49 PM by forearmsauce424 » Logged
owbp
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 26


« Reply #889 on: July 19, 2016, 01:34:29 AM »

How do you know that your Mac is running in 64-bit mode.

Run
Code:
uname -a
in Terminal to see that.
Much easier (or logical) thing is:
- if you're running OS X on your Mac Pro 1,1/2,1 up to 10.7.5 then it's 32 bit
- if you're running Mountain Lion or higher, it's 64 bit (with a help of custom boot.efi).
Logged
ORORO
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #890 on: January 06, 2017, 01:26:59 PM »

Hello guys

i know this is a very old post, and im not a computer nerd but i like computers in general, ill share my mac specs and need some help

mac Pro 2,1
32 GB RAM
GTX 560 2GB
macOS El Capitan 10.11.6 (piker's Boot EFI)

I'm very interested in booting 64 Bit kernel using chameleon on my mac pro but I'm not sure which version of chameleon should i be using in order to get it working on El Capitan

i don't know what info i should share but pls do tell me

any advice from anyone?  Smiley
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 58 59 [60]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!