netkas.org forum
October 20, 2019, 01:05:48 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8] 9
  Print  
Author Topic: iMac4,1 and iMac5,1 Firmware Tool Released  (Read 348505 times)
vfrontiers
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #105 on: October 22, 2014, 10:41:30 PM »

I, too, am looking for a response to the iMac 5,2 compatibility...
Logged
54fins
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #106 on: November 06, 2014, 05:05:15 AM »

I too would like to do the 4,2
How would that happen?
Logged
cborjon
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #107 on: November 17, 2014, 06:39:08 PM »

Some people have asked about the following command in the write-up I did above.  

$ sudo rm /Volumes/Macintosh\ HD/System/Library/CoreServices/PlatformSupport.plist

A few things....
First, the $ is just the prompt on my system, yours most likely will look different.  It may not even end in a $ if you are using a different shell like bash.

Second, all the commands are there so you can just cut and paste i.e. there should be no confusion like "is there a space between sudo and rm?" (BTW there is a space there).

Third, while I said you can just cut and paste, the above command is the exception since you need to modify it if your hard drive is not named "Macintosh HD".  The tricky part is with spaces in the name of the hard drive.  You have two choices to get the shell to interpret paths with spaces in them.  Either use quotes (see this reference on using quotes in UNIX http://www.tutorialspoint.com/unix/unix-quoting-mechanisms.htm) or you can use the easier method of using backward slashes before the spaces (\ ) to signal a space should be present.  Using backslashes in the above command, since the hard drive is named "Macintosh HD", the name is entered as Macintosh\ HD.  If your hard drive was named "Super Mac New HD", the name would be entered as Super\ Mac\ New\ HD or the full command would be:

$ sudo rm /Volumes/Super\ Mac\ New\ HD/System/Library/CoreServices/PlatformSupport.plist

Finally entering the command as sudo is required (you should prompted for your system password).  
« Last Edit: November 17, 2014, 06:45:02 PM by cborjon » Logged
complicatedPARI
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #108 on: November 24, 2014, 05:36:15 AM »

Zillion thanks to Netkas.org forum and especially to MacEFIRom. I bought an early 2006 imac 4.1 for 40 bucks ( from surplus auction). It had 2 gig ram and was kinda slow. After running the firmware tool, the model identifier now says iMac 5.1. I also already loaded 4 gig memory to the machine.

Once again, Thank you very much.
 
Logged
SharpKat
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #109 on: January 17, 2015, 08:10:26 PM »

Anyone know if there is work around to run Mavericks/Yosemite after this mod ... or are we stuck with Lion?

I found this.
[url]http://oemden.com/sixty-four-on-thirty-two-sfott/privatetest//url]

And this.
[url]http://osxhackers.tk/Mountain%20Lion//url]
Logged
edcaret
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #110 on: January 22, 2015, 01:31:43 PM »

Hello, there is a fix for make boot linux with imac 4.1 with 5.1 firmware ?
Logged
popsfiore10
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #111 on: May 09, 2015, 06:04:12 PM »

I have an earlier IMac 17.  I successfully upgraded the processor but when I try to run the firmware updater the program it quits unexpectedly.  The report given is:

Process:         iMac41-iMac51 Firmware Tool [157]
Path:            /Volumes/NO NAME/iMac41-iMac51 Firmware Tool.app/Contents/MacOS/iMac41-iMac51 Firmware Tool
Identifier:      com.apple.ASApplication
Version:         Huh (Huh)
Code Type:       X86 (Native)
Parent Process:  launchd [72]

Interval Since Last Report:          8505 sec
Crashes Since Last Report:           15
Per-App Interval Since Last Report:  0 sec
Per-App Crashes Since Last Report:   15

Date/Time:       2015-05-09 11:00:08.848 -0600
OS Version:      Mac OS X 10.5.8 (9L31a)
Report Version:  6
Anonymous UUID:  108614D4-10D1-4D51-A6EB-3CBE2690F84E

Exception Type:  EXC_BREAKPOINT (SIGTRAP)
Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000002, 0x0000000000000000
Crashed Thread:  0

Dyld Error Message:
  unknown required load command 0x80000022

My Hardware information is: 
Hardware Overview:

  Model Name:   iMac
  Model Identifier:   iMac4,1
  Processor Name:   Intel Core 2 Duo
  Processor Speed:   2.33 GHz
  Number Of Processors:   1
  Total Number Of Cores:   2
  L2 Cache:   4 MB
  Memory:   1.5 GB
  Bus Speed:   667 MHz
  Boot ROM Version:   IM41.0055.B08
  SMC Version (system):   1.1f5
  Serial Number (system):   W86330EPU2N
  Hardware UUID:   00000000-0000-1000-8000-0016CB9010F2

Is this machine too old for this firmware upgrade?
Logged
golden_age_green_lantern7
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #112 on: May 21, 2015, 09:58:36 PM »

OK, question...  I've swapped out CPUs and upgraded my early 2006 2 gig Core Duo to a 2.33 Core 2 Duo (Intel Core 2 Duo Mobile T7600 SL9SD 2.33GHz 4MB 667MHz Socket M Dual-Core CPU).  Everything works fine, and we are running 10.6.  I have 4 gig of memory ready to pop in, and so decided to try and flash the 4.1 ROM to 5.1.  

I downloaded the firmware patch, unzipped it, and ran it.  Everything seems good, it unpacks the ramdisk, instructs me to switch off the system, and hold the power button until the power light flashes or I hear a long tone.  I'm told at that point the apple logo on grey screen will appear with status bar.  

I follow the instructions to a T, and the power light flashes with long tone, power button released.  In a few seconds, I get a gray screen.... but with the question mark folder.

I've tried this a dozen times, changing the timing of releasing the power button but same thing each time.  The hard drive boots just fine (still shows 4.1), and I've run the disk utility on it to be sure; all ok.  I infer this is NOT the way this is supposed to happen.  

So stupid question(s)... is the whole shutting down and holding onto the power button supposed to reboot me into the ramdisk?  (I thought ramdisks were wiped at power off?  And yes, my PRAM is new and fully charged.)  Am I supposed to run something from the RAM disk before I shut down the mac?  Is there an alternate way to acomplish this?

Any suggestions?
« Last Edit: May 22, 2015, 11:08:35 PM by golden_age_green_lantern7 » Logged
Codeyderp
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #113 on: May 30, 2015, 06:20:04 AM »

OK, question...  I've swapped out CPUs and upgraded my early 2006 2 gig Core Duo to a 2.33 Core 2 Duo (Intel Core 2 Duo Mobile T7600 SL9SD 2.33GHz 4MB 667MHz Socket M Dual-Core CPU).  Everything works fine, and we are running 10.6.  I have 4 gig of memory ready to pop in, and so decided to try and flash the 4.1 ROM to 5.1.  

I downloaded the firmware patch, unzipped it, and ran it.  Everything seems good, it unpacks the ramdisk, instructs me to switch off the system, and hold the power button until the power light flashes or I hear a long tone.  I'm told at that point the apple logo on grey screen will appear with status bar.  

I follow the instructions to a T, and the power light flashes with long tone, power button released.  In a few seconds, I get a gray screen.... but with the question mark folder.

I've tried this a dozen times, changing the timing of releasing the power button but same thing each time.  The hard drive boots just fine (still shows 4.1), and I've run the disk utility on it to be sure; all ok.  I infer this is NOT the way this is supposed to happen.  

So stupid question(s)... is the whole shutting down and holding onto the power button supposed to reboot me into the ramdisk?  (I thought ramdisks were wiped at power off?  And yes, my PRAM is new and fully charged.)  Am I supposed to run something from the RAM disk before I shut down the mac?  Is there an alternate way to acomplish this?

Any suggestions?
Same issue here!
Logged
golden_age_green_lantern7
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #114 on: June 04, 2015, 01:42:07 AM »

Help!  Suggestions anyone?  I've scoured the forums to see if someone else has solved a similar problem flashing ROM on another system, to no avail.

Possible issues I've already addressed:
the ROM flashing tool only works on Mountain Lion, check.
Clear PRAM right before running the tool, check.
Made sure I'm running OS on an internal drive (not USB), check.
Currently using latest version of 4,1, check
downloaded fresh version of the tool, check.
Nothing else plugged into the Mac besides keyboard and mouse (no DVD in drive, no USB drive), check.
Brand new PRAM battery, check

These are the only possible problems I've found on this forum or elsewhere... I've even made sure I'm running a fresh install of Snow Leopard to ensure there are no other possible software conflicts.

Are there any other issues that might cause a problem?  Like I said above, everything else works perfectly, and the installer tool appears to run fine, and sets up the RAMDisk OK.  I hold down on power button until flashing light and long tone, but then I get the flashing "question mark folder", which I would assume means it can't boot from the RAMdisk.  Ive even tried making a copy of the RAMdisk on CDROM and then trying to boot from that right after running the tool and shutting down; same thing: question mark folder.

So:
1) is there something I am missing?  Anything else that might be askew?
2) is there anyway else I can flash the ROM?

Suggestions?  Please?  I'm  at wit's end and pulling out my hair trying to figure out what I'm overlooking.
Logged
curtis
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


WWW
« Reply #115 on: June 08, 2015, 05:28:35 AM »

Might this be possible for the iMac4,2 as well, please? Thank you!

Anyone found a way to upgrade/change firmware iMac4,2 to iMac5,2 ?

I think we need to go from IM42.0071.B03 to IM52.0090.B09

I'll even take a manual recommendation.

Thank you.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2015, 05:47:23 AM by curtis » Logged
bookwormsit
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #116 on: June 26, 2015, 12:28:52 AM »

hi i have imac 4,1 im wanting to make it support more than 2gb of memory its a 20" model 2.0ghz core duo processor i downloaded program but can't seem to make it work could you tell me what im doing wrong please? sorry im a half newbie to mac stuff and imac's still learning :-)
Logged
mattshacks
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #117 on: September 07, 2015, 10:39:52 PM »

Quote
Date/Time:       2015-05-09 11:00:08.848 -0600
OS Version:      Mac OS X 10.5.8 (9L31a)
Report Version:  6
Anonymous UUID:  108614D4-10D1-4D51-A6EB-3CBE2690F84E

Exception Type:  EXC_BREAKPOINT (SIGTRAP)
Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000002, 0x0000000000000000
Crashed Thread:  0

Dyld Error Message:
  unknown required load command 0x80000022

@popsfiore10 :

I have the same issue but on a Mac Pro 1,1

Did you find a solution for this ?

Thanx
Logged
lilos
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #118 on: September 15, 2015, 11:42:10 PM »

Mac EFI Rom Can you tell as how you remove check in apple efi update app that allow to update same version firmware.
My macbook 1.1 to libreboot patch work only on macbook 1.1 with bootrom 1.0

If you have 1.1 bootrom it refuse to update.


If anyone have macbook 1,1 with bootrom 1,0 i can make patch to update to macbook 2,1
Logged
Sebinouse
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64



« Reply #119 on: September 20, 2015, 04:41:10 PM »

Mac EFI Rom Can you tell as how you remove check in apple efi update app that allow to update same version firmware.
My macbook 1.1 to libreboot patch work only on macbook 1.1 with bootrom 1.0

If you have 1.1 bootrom it refuse to update.


If anyone have macbook 1,1 with bootrom 1,0 i can make patch to update to macbook 2,1

Wrong thread ... it has already been asked ... and answered !

Here
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8] 9
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!