netkas.org forum
November 27, 2020, 02:51:36 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 10
  Print  
Author Topic: iMac4,1 and iMac5,1 Firmware Tool Released  (Read 435433 times)
grebarker
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #45 on: June 14, 2012, 01:14:33 PM »

Just swapped 7600 into early 2006 MA200LL 20" iMac. (Yes, it is a wee bit of a challenge, this one is not exactly the same
as the guide - http://www.maclife.com/article/upgrade_your_imac_core_2_duo_processor - and sure enough 2 of the 4 pin
connectors gave me grief)! But I managed it.
About This Mac now shows the 2.33 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo. Downloaded the 4,1 to 5,1  Tool and attempted to run it.

Got this "The program has encountered an error. 5570" response. Can't find an explanation for that error code, so
I am asking what I need to know so I can upgrade the Boot ROM version IM41.0055.B08 to the 5,1?

If I can do that does that mean I can swap the 2 1GB RAM chips for 2 2GB RAM chips and will the iMac run 64 bit?

I'm guessing I'll be able to install another 2 TB 7200 rpm HD and partition it into three drives so I'll be able to
continue to run Snow Leopard, Lion, and shortly Mountain Lion, plus, using Parallels run XP pro and Windows 7.
Or is there, as I fear, more flaws in that vision than I want to learn about?

                                                   Thanks Greg
Logged
igarcia0264
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #46 on: June 15, 2012, 05:08:50 AM »

I too have the "The program has encountered an error. 5570" issue.
Not sure if maybe we should have the original CPU in during install maybe?
Or maybe apple moved something and this program cannot find the needed files it is supposed to download?

Not really sure does anyone know?
Logged
grebarker
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #47 on: June 16, 2012, 03:27:51 AM »

Still stuck with error:5570. Attempted to remove /System/Library/CoreServices/PlatformSupport.plist, but
could not locate it! Is it a hidden file? Running 10.6.8.  
  Model Identifier:   iMac4,1
  Processor Name:   Intel Core 2 Duo
  Processor Speed:   2.33 GHz
  Number Of Processors:   1
  Total Number Of Cores:   2
  L2 Cache:   4 MB
  Memory:   2 GB
  Bus Speed:   667 MHz
  Boot ROM Version:   IM41.0055.B08
  SMC Version (system):   1.1f5

  If anyone has a possible explanation for " error:5570 " pleases let us know?

  If anyone has a clue why /System/Library/CoreServices/PlatformSupport.plist is not there,
or is, but is just hidden, please let me know?

  If /System/Library/CoreServices/PlatformSupport.plist is missing should I reinstall Snow
Leopard?

  Lion thumb drive says "This version of Mac OS X 10.7 cannot be installed on this computer."


                                                                                       Thanks, Greg
« Last Edit: June 16, 2012, 06:37:11 PM by grebarker » Logged
sharky69
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #48 on: June 17, 2012, 06:18:57 AM »

The only minor issue is that sleep mode does not work properly for me, after the firmware upgrade to iMac5,1. What happens is that I put my iMac in sleep mode and it will sometimes get out of sleep mode on its own, after a while.

It doesn’t happen always, but it happens often enough.

( Mac OS X v10.6.8 )
Logged
xi1inx
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #49 on: July 19, 2012, 04:31:52 AM »

This mode doesn't change the Logicboard model number. So the Lion indentify the 5,1 flashed iMac as a 4,1, it's normal. You must add your iMac 4,1 logic board number into the platformsupport.plist of Lion to be able to install it.

Logged
Blackmac
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #50 on: August 27, 2012, 03:00:44 AM »

This works flawlessly  Cheesy

Now the only thing to do it's upgrade this EFI to a 64 bit! That could be magical! Wink

THANKS!
Logged
Joe17150
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #51 on: September 09, 2012, 01:32:52 PM »

Hi everyone.I am new to the site.I found my way here trying to upgrade my iMac early 2006 17'.After many hours of searching i managed to upgrade everything.The cpu i went cheap and just put a core 2 duo t5600.Then i used the modded boot efi found on the net,Step 2 was install Mountain lion gm.When it booted i had several video errors,so i went on the hunt to solve my radeon x1600 probe and sure enough their were modded files for that.Then the 64 bit issues.So i searched about that and their it was.I followed the steps and all was good.Last i did the firmware upgrade.I also used 2 or 3 other programs i found to help me along the way,such as ShowAllFiles another one off the app site to help with flash.Now i have an Early 2006 iMac 17' About this says core 2 duo mac 5.1 running 4gb ram.After 3 days of running lion 10.8.1 everything seems to work great.the reports show me 64bit operation.I don't know if i am allowed to post the files i used to do my upgrades which are still on my desktop but with a bit of searching you can find them easy,Best way is to search for what you want not the whole upgrade Example; Modded boot.efi early 2006 iMac or radeon x1600 lion drivers.These are just search ways i found all the files i needed to complete a great upgrade to a older iMac.
Logged
SummerSoFar
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #52 on: September 09, 2012, 06:34:32 PM »

Hey Joe-

That is great news. I have been following the (slow) progress in getting older 64bit unsupported Macs to run on ML, and everything I have read says that iMacs 4,1 and 5,1 with x1600 graphics lack QE and OpenGL 4 support, which makes many apps unstable, extremely slow, or simply not executable in ML.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1325709

Can you confirm that your setup allows LaunchPad, YouTube, and other QE-heavy applications to work fully and properly?

If so, it would be great contribution to the community if you would please provide the sources to your files, and also provide the detailed install instructions either here or to the macrumors forum linked above.

« Last Edit: September 09, 2012, 06:36:29 PM by SummerSoFar » Logged
Joe17150
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #53 on: September 09, 2012, 09:13:47 PM »

I have had some issues with some things. Youtube was a problem until i installed Click to flash found on the safari extensions link,now youtube works great.I am still testing os x 10.8.1 and trying to work out the few remaining bugs.Anything i find over the next few days i will post no prob.If theirs a way- I have the will lol and as it stands i am not afraid to try anything.I can reinstall without a prob so i don't care if i mess something up.
Logged
drccw
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #54 on: October 06, 2012, 05:23:55 AM »

Well my HD died so I opened up my early 2006 iMac...
and did lots of work....

NEw 2TB HD
New airport Extreme module (with -N support)
New T7600.....

now I'm rejuvenating it... gonna update the EGI and go to 4 GB ram...

though from what I understand onlt 3 GBs are really used?

drccw
Logged
cirommp
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #55 on: November 05, 2012, 05:07:46 PM »

Hi, I have an iMac 4.1 upgraded to iMac 5.1 with a T7500 processor (2,16), 4Gb, OSX Lion and a new SSD (Crucial v4 256Gb).
Everything is ok if I run Lion from a USB HD, but I run the same OS with the SSD (I cloned the content with Super Duper), I have freezes and beach balls all the time. Of course I have installed the trim enabler and all the performance SDD issues (hibernation, sleep, noatime...).
I don't know why I have this problem.
Maybe all this tweaks are a bad cocktail...
Anyone have a similar configuration? How it works?
Thanks!
Logged
aggeren
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #56 on: December 09, 2012, 11:41:52 AM »

Have an imac5,1 which the lion installer wouldn't recognize as "valid". So i gathered that something were wrong with my machines imac5,1 system profiler and therefore I decided to downgrade imac5,1->imac4,1 with this tool and afterwards i would upgrade it again to get the right profile for lion-installation.

But after the imac5,1->imac4,1 firmware change, my machine won't boot, it only shows a black screen.

Any way of undoing this? Run the firmware script from a bootable USB-disk? Or is the only way to get the mac bootable again, to change the CPU-model supported by the imac4,1?

Regards, Thomas
Logged
Loki
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #57 on: January 13, 2013, 12:58:57 AM »

Thank you so much MacEfiRom Smiley

I had got Core Duo 2.0 Ghz imac 4.1(Early 2006). After read your post, decided to upgrade my iMac. Managed to find T7400 Core 2 Duo CPU & installed it with the help of my lovely wife. Then used your flash efi & worked like a charm. Now I've got 64bit processor, 4GB ram. But What I dont understand is System says I got 4GB ram. After Effects CS5.5 Trial shows 4GB totalram. But only in activity monitor I see 3GB available ram. Which is true?

[attachment deleted by admin]


* 21.jpg (95.68 KB, 1280x800 - viewed 1559 times.)
« Last Edit: January 13, 2013, 11:07:55 AM by Loki » Logged
zioweb
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #58 on: February 02, 2013, 01:37:43 AM »

thanks to the author for this script.
I've an old iMac4,1 just updated in hard disk and cpu (T7200) and now also with 3gb RAM.
But, what another user says it's true: after update the ambient light sensor no longer works.

Any idea?
Logged
Techmac
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #59 on: February 11, 2013, 08:30:21 AM »

Last week I have upgrade my iMac 20" (A1174) from T2500 to T7400, very fine. I have installed Bluestacks with Whatsapp and run smoothly.

Thank for the script writer that I can upgrade iMac4.1 to 5.1.

Thank you very much.

In addition, I found the light sensor is normal without any problem.




« Last Edit: February 11, 2013, 08:34:36 AM by Techmac » Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 10
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!