netkas.org forum
December 11, 2017, 04:27:21 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: eGPU in El Capitan  (Read 11564 times)
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2172



« on: June 10, 2015, 11:10:41 AM »

Up and running, thanks to Netkas !



(not for posting at Techinferno)









* Screen Shot 2015-06-10 at 3.04.32 AM.png (167.53 KB, 652x411 - viewed 709 times.)
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
dandu
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2015, 05:29:32 PM »

It works for me too (without netkas Wink )

Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 809



« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2015, 07:56:01 PM »

You both are late  Tongue, check screenshot carefully - http://netkas.org/?p=1399

Cheesy
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2172



« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2015, 08:07:50 PM »

indeed.

Wonder why yours says "Yosemite" in giant letter instead of El Capitan?
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 809



« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2015, 08:21:21 PM »

Localization issue, many had that with beta1.
Logged
RastaFabi
Guest
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2015, 02:19:45 PM »

Seem like Apple does not want us to use eGPUs...
Currently running El Capitan GM (upgraded from my Yosemite eGPU installation) on my MacBook Pro, but I'm not able to enable my NVIDEA card in the Akitio-Box.
Every PCI-tunneling attribute is set. Even the web driver is installed (tried both as they are not necessary for my GPU), but my system keeps resetting the "nvda_drv=1" boot argument from NVRAM. I also tried setting it in com.apple.boot.plist, but it's ignored on boot.
I thought about booting from Clover enabling the setting with it's config.plist, but since El Captain I can't boot to Clover anymore (already reinstalled) through rEFInd works just fine so it's not about ESP booting.
The NVDAStartup.kext refuses to load everyday I tried, while the IONDRVSupport.kext loads.
I tried the automated attempt of the GitHub project (https://github.com/goalque/automate-eGPU) as well as doing all on my own.
Running out of ideas... Anybody has an idea or managed to use eGPU?

Solved!! While writing this from my iPad I installed the OS to another partition (not updating) and there everything works fine (still no Clover).
You WILL need a beta driver to succeed; for easy automated install download the script I've linked and run it the following way:
Code:
# cd ~/Downloads/automate-eGPU-master
# sudo ./automate-eGPU.sh -url http://us.download.nvidia.com/tYGrxreBnE8b89jZ0VysebeSwZJehZTa/WebDriver-346.03.01b07.pkg
« Last Edit: September 10, 2015, 02:41:20 PM by RastaFabi » Logged
mysticalos
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 614


« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2015, 09:08:34 AM »

clover, or any boot loader requires research and new understanding of security measures and patching process for 10.11. probably need to update a few things in config because a straight upgrade from 10.10 config won't be enough. Although those answers you'll find elsewhere.
Logged
RastaFabi
Guest
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2015, 01:59:43 PM »

clover, or any boot loader requires research and new understanding of security measures and patching process for 10.11. probably need to update a few things in config because a straight upgrade from 10.10 config won't be enough. Although those answers you'll find elsewhere.
Thanks but actually I didn't even came that far. the Clover GUI did not load. nor did it mount he EFI while installing. I downgraded to an earlier version and it worked again.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2172



« Reply #8 on: October 03, 2015, 04:42:54 AM »

Perfect !



* Screen Shot 2015-10-02 at 8.41.49 PM.png (225.02 KB, 660x435 - viewed 622 times.)

* Screen Shot 2015-10-02 at 8.41.23 PM.png (145.87 KB, 761x517 - viewed 614 times.)
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
level5wizard
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2015, 06:16:09 PM »

Question?

Can any of you lead me to the best way to enable my eGPU via thunderbolt on my Macbook Pro?

here is what I have:

-2014 Macbook Pro
-AKiTIO thunder box 2
-PCIE 16x to 16x Powered Flexible Riser Extender Cable with Molex
-EVGA Geforce GTX 780 ti
-Corsair RM450 CPU

thanks
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2172



« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2015, 12:54:16 AM »

The powered riser is a bad idea.

Sadly your best bet is to bend or cut the chassis.

For 780Ti you need the Nvidia Web Drivers.

I am guessing that the Corsair is a PSU?

You will need either a paperclip or a PLEX switch for it.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!