netkas.org forum
December 01, 2020, 10:27:32 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: iMac 24" Model ID# 8,1 - 9800m GT Successful!!!  (Read 10404 times)
alaskastyle

« on: May 17, 2015, 10:56:05 PM »

I couldn't just be finished with this project and not share my experience  Grin
Reading through these forums helped a lot!

By trade I'm a network technician at a ski resort, but I've also worked in the past at an apple self-servicing authorized school district as a certified ACMT, ACSP, etc.
Aside from my day job I do a lot of side work for the employees here.

One such side job happened to be this 24" iMac that belongs to one of our dining room servers.
It obviously had graphics card issues, it wouldn't get to the efi boot screen 97% of the time, and when it did manage to boot: artifacts everywhere!

So, initially the obvious thing to do was to start shopping for the direct replacement card... Sadly, it's hard to find an Apple 8800GS nowadays.
After making several (unsuccessful) attempts to purchase an 8800 on eBay, it was time to look into alternatives as no one actually had the card on hand.

That's when I started reading up on netkas.org, among other sites.

After determining the physical form factor of the card was an MXM type HE/2.1
I started looking into potential replacements.

I came up with three different GPUs for the owner to pick from:

9600m GT - ($70 on eBay) Figured it would work since the efi rom from the 2008-2009 MacBook Pro should be readily available
9800m GT - ($130 on eBay) I was mistakenly under the impression that this GPU was featured on another model
ATI 4870m - ($300 on eBay) I owned an iMac with this GPU, so I knew I could get the efi rom.