netkas.org forum
May 25, 2019, 12:53:36 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 34
  Print  
Author Topic: Mac Pro 2006-2007 Firmware Tool Released  (Read 859354 times)
lewdvig
Guest
« Reply #60 on: October 03, 2011, 01:28:56 AM »

1 week of heavy use and no issues whatsoever after the 2,1 update.

My ES XEONs are better recognized too.

Thanks again!
Logged
forwards
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #61 on: October 03, 2011, 03:58:54 AM »

Working great with X5355 CPU's and recognized correctly.

Any advantage in upgrading the SMC to the Mac Pro 2.1 version which is available as a download from Apple, and what would the upgrade achieve?
Logged
dfireball
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #62 on: October 03, 2011, 05:22:23 PM »

After much troubleshooting and hard work I think I have figured out the problem. My current firmware is MP11.005D.B00. It seems that this firmware is different than the "C" or "F" ones (9th keystroke in the line). Not sure where this firmware version came from or how to change this to one of the other ones but this one is not accepting the update.

Does anyone have any ideas as to how I can change this to one of the normal firmware versions or am I stuck? I have heard that updating the CPU's without updating the firmware while running 10.6.8 will cause my MP to get kernel  issues and I can't have that. this in my only Pro Tools HD computer and I can't have it going down in the middle of a session. At the same time, I'd like to at least update my software to 10.6.8 and Pro Tools to 9.0.5 as this combo has worked well with my non HD computer.
Logged
forwards
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #63 on: October 03, 2011, 09:40:35 PM »

Well fireball the firmware of my July 2007 Mac Pro prior to updating was MP11.005C.B08.

You can download this firmware update at the APPLE WEB SITE:-

http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1237

Maybe that will get you in the position to run to the 2.1 firmware updater.
Logged
zadigre
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #64 on: October 04, 2011, 02:02:34 AM »

I successfully upgraded my MacPro 1,1 with 2x X5355 Xeon CPU... paid 99.99$ for each cpu on eBay...
I did a few test... in geekbench, I nearly getting double de score.
Handbrake is also running faster... temperature is ok too...

your updater updated the EFI boot rom perfectly... my CPUs are detected as 2x2.66GHz Xeon Quad Core.

but in system info, the SMC version is 1.7f10

according to http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1237, the SMC version should say 1.15f3 for a MacPro 2,1...

so is it safe to download the SMC update on my MacPro1,1 converted to MacPro2,1 with your utility?
will it update the SMC firmware to a newer version?
Logged
forwards
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #65 on: October 04, 2011, 05:57:49 AM »

No zadigre it will not install.

Simply will not install - advises not necessary for this computer so that looks like that.
Logged
armdn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 149


« Reply #66 on: October 04, 2011, 11:18:09 AM »

Without utility mac pro 2,1 firmware updater will say that too, but we have that upgrade, yes? So, the same can be SMC way.
Logged
forwards
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #67 on: October 04, 2011, 09:48:21 PM »

No armdn.

Even with the 2.1 firmware update running X5355's,  the smc updater will not install period.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2011, 09:50:00 PM by forwards » Logged
altavek
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #68 on: October 04, 2011, 11:17:40 PM »

Quick noob question, is there any benefit in running this if I still have the stock CPUs that came with my MP1,1?
Code:
Model Name: Mac Pro
  Model Identifier: MacPro1,1
  Processor Name: Dual-Core Intel Xeon
  Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz
  Number Of Processors: 2
  Total Number Of Cores: 4
  L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB
  Memory: 5 GB
  Bus Speed: 1.33 GHz
  Boot ROM Version: MP11.005D.B00
  SMC Version (system): 1.7f10
Logged
dadi_oh
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #69 on: October 05, 2011, 09:03:29 PM »

Worked perfectly on my Macpro1,1 with E5345 processors. As stated, 2 boots for it to recognize both processors (don't panic!)  I am currently stuck on 10.6.7 for 2 reasons. My flashed ATI 5770 card loses the displayport output with 10.6.8 or 10.7.0 (I use 3 displays so this is a big deal for me). The second was that I was experiencing crashes/KP's which I did not know the reason for. This thread suggests that maybe this is solved by my flash to Macpro2,1.

I have been experiencing some crashes lately with 10.6.7 and trying to track down the issue. I am hoping this FW upgrade may help even though I am not at 10.6.8. Can't hurt anyways  Smiley
Logged

Mac Addict

Macpro1,1
Macbook Pro 2008
iPad
iPhone
4 X kids Macbook White
forwards
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #70 on: October 05, 2011, 09:42:02 PM »

No altavek.

Great for Mac Pro 1.1 with upgraded CPUs to X5355/5365 Quad Core which shows the correct processors as 2 x 2.66GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, 8 Cores and 8MB cache.  Does not improve anything else.
« Last Edit: October 05, 2011, 10:43:37 PM by forwards » Logged
altavek
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #71 on: October 06, 2011, 03:35:25 PM »

No altavek.

Great for Mac Pro 1.1 with upgraded CPUs to X5355/5365 Quad Core which shows the correct processors as 2 x 2.66GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, 8 Cores and 8MB cache.  Does not improve anything else.

Awesome, Thanks for the help!
Logged
kwkirchner
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #72 on: October 07, 2011, 10:30:53 AM »

Just want to follow up and say that since that one reboot, which could have been power related, my Mac Pro has been up for nearly 9 days! That is a record since OS X 10.6.8.  I think this firmware has fixed my issue.  Now to go and buy an UPS. ;-)

Thanks so much for the firmware tool!

-K
Logged
armdn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 149


« Reply #73 on: October 07, 2011, 12:16:46 PM »

No altavek.

Great for Mac Pro 1.1 with upgraded CPUs to X5355/5365 Quad Core which shows the correct processors as 2 x 2.66GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, 8 Cores and 8MB cache.  Does not improve anything else.

Nope, u wrong. Smiley

This firmware also improve working stability with Mac Pro RAID Card. On previous firmware i had some issues with it, the card suddenly dissappearing from device list after cold start.
Logged
SiliconSam
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #74 on: October 07, 2011, 11:42:02 PM »

  I've been KP free for around 12 days now since the firmware was modded after installing my two X5365 procs.

  Thanks a bunch guys....
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 34
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!