netkas.org forum
September 23, 2019, 03:17:29 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 32 33 [34]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mac Pro 2006-2007 Firmware Tool Released  (Read 912540 times)
jero07
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #495 on: April 02, 2018, 10:00:49 PM »

Had a hard time installing this firmware, just thought I'd let people know what worked for me.

Mac Pro 1,1 - 2 x 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon
OSX - El Capitan 10.11.6
Firmware version: MP11.005C.08B

As you can see the firmware was not the unusual version some users were reporting so it should have been a straightforward update.

The program would execute, successfully create the RamDisk image, restarted as instructed holding power until light flashing/tone sounded then it would just start as normal, without installing the update.

The solution? Installed Snow Leopard 10.6.8 (the last officially supported version of OSX) on a new drive, booted from Snow Leopard and ran the firmware tool from there. Worked like magic, the first time, no issues.

Good luck!
Logged
paredown
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #496 on: April 10, 2018, 04:11:30 PM »

You have s standard rom version so this patched version doesn't work on your machine. Try to download the original program posted By  macefirom (page one).
Just wanted to chime in and thank the original poster and Ant0 for figuring out that there were different ROM ids on the 1,1.

Mine was clearly a replacement mobo with no serial # and an id of MP11.005D.B00.0708280936, I used the Apple serializer to add in the serial number off the machine tag--instant SMC update, and a lot of commotion (fans running high speed etc.)

Then I could not figure out why the 2,1 upgrade would not run. Started fresh this morning and found Ant0's patched version, and voila--done. Took 2 boots as before to find both processors.

Running a clean install of OSX 10.7.5

Now I need to put the original memory boards/memory/vid card back in to see if I have additional problems that were not showing up--but as of right now--I'm a happy boy!!!
« Last Edit: April 10, 2018, 04:29:33 PM by paredown » Logged
bidzer
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #497 on: July 20, 2018, 12:41:25 PM »

You have s standard rom version so this patched version doesn't work on your machine. Try to download the original program posted By  macefirom (page one).
Just wanted to chime in and thank the original poster and Ant0 for figuring out that there were different ROM ids on the 1,1.

Mine was clearly a replacement mobo with no serial # and an id of MP11.005D.B00.0708280936, I used the Apple serializer to add in the serial number off the machine tag--instant SMC update, and a lot of commotion (fans running high speed etc.)

Then I could not figure out why the 2,1 upgrade would not run. Started fresh this morning and found Ant0's patched version, and voila--done. Took 2 boots as before to find both processors.

Running a clean install of OSX 10.7.5

Now I need to put the original memory boards/memory/vid card back in to see if I have additional problems that were not showing up--but as of right now--I'm a happy boy!!!

Morning All!

  Hoping there are still people who are reading this thread!  Having an issue getting up to 2,1.  I have a stock (2x Dual) 2.66ghz.  When running the tool I receive the rather annoying 5570 error when trying to download the scripts.  I've tried to edit the patch file to no avail for my firmware.  Internet access is available.  Probably doing it wrong. This is a fresh install of SL 10.6 upgraded to 10.6.8  ANY help is greatly appreciated.  Spent a bunch of hours on it already

Here my system stats:

Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro 1,1
Processor Name: Dual-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 2.66GHz
Number of Processors: 2
Total Number Of Cores: 4
L2 Cache: 4MB
Memory: 32GB
Bus Speed: 1.33GHz
Boot ROM Version: MP11.005C.B08
SMC Version (system): 1.7f10


Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #498 on: July 21, 2018, 10:32:30 PM »

Download the file and put on desktop.

Do a google search for that error, read pages from this forum that are found.

4,1/5,1 has similar issue, but keep in mind that 2,1 flash doesn't get you same increase as those guys, so maybe not worth spending much time on.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
bidzer
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #499 on: July 22, 2018, 12:53:35 AM »

I was able to get the 5570 error to stop showing up with that method.  Thought I was in the clear, The tool finishes and tells me to reboot and hold down for blinking lights, etc.  I do that, I enter the flash mode but it just disappears quickly as if it doesn't write anything.  Is the SMC version not allowing me to change to 2,1?

Thanks for the reply.

Download the file and put on desktop.

Do a google search for that error, read pages from this forum that are found.

4,1/5,1 has similar issue, but keep in mind that 2,1 flash doesn't get you same increase as those guys, so maybe not worth spending much time on.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #500 on: July 22, 2018, 09:21:21 AM »

You are using an EFI GPU?
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
bidzer
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #501 on: July 22, 2018, 04:19:16 PM »

You are using an EFI GPU?

Rominator,

I'm using the original Nvidia 7300 on 10.7.5  The flash screen with the progress bar shows up for about 2 seconds then the system reboots. 

I upgraded the 2 dual cores to 2 quad core E5345's last night in hopes that would settle the update issues but also a no go.  The system sees the quad cores but unknown due to 1,1.

I've also just tried the Shell SMC update to 1.15f3 but my guess is that's failing as the system is still stuck at 1,1.  I feel like I'm running in circles.  All my data matches everyone who has flashed successfully, so not sure anymore.  My system currently has:

Boot ROM Version: MP11.005C.B08
SMC Version (system): 1.7f10

I really appreciate all the help.  Don't mind trying anything new.  Just don't want to create a large BRICK!  haha



Logged
bidzer
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #502 on: July 25, 2018, 05:26:43 PM »

I seem to have finally succeeded in what was looking like a horrible loop to nowhere.  Ended up pushing the edited SMC firmware for a 2,1 via the EFI shell, then the firmware tool worked fine after that. 
Onto the video card portion now to get past lion.

Thanks for the assistance!
Logged
monknaround
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #503 on: September 23, 2018, 05:40:35 PM »

I have a mac pro 1,1 I've tried to flash to 2,1 and it just won't flash.  It's got a boot rom version MP11.005D.B00 SMC Version 1.7f10.  I've used the flashing tool before on other computers and it seemed to work just fine.  Is there something about "this" computer that is different or unflashable.  If anybody can help that would be great!
Logged
przyplyw
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #504 on: December 07, 2018, 12:20:02 AM »

Hello there, I am dealing with the exact same issue here. I suspect apple tempered with efi files which are being downloaded from websity by the tool to obstruct updates. I got a hint which unfortunately I didnt try - the solution is to run the flash from old osx tiger system.

I had similiar issue on my mac pro 4.1, I have updated hundreds of them from my yosemity osx disc but not this time, the solution was to run the tool from old snow leopard osx and it worked like a charm thats why maybe the solution to 1.1 will be similiar.
Logged
brandonp1311
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #505 on: March 13, 2019, 08:52:16 PM »

I am performing a firmware update on a 2006 1,1 Mac Pro:

Boot ROM Version: Mp11.005C.B08
SMC Version: 1.7f10
OS X 10.7.5

Nothing in the Mac Pro besides the Hard Drive and stock NVIDIA 7300GT Video Card.

I have done dozens of these firmware updates successfully.  However, this time I am running into the following message:

The program has encountered an error: 5530.

Any help would be great!
Logged
eyeb1
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #506 on: April 21, 2019, 07:04:36 AM »

Greeting,

I am trying to use the Firmware tool, i have downloaded it several time, but do not know if i am going to have trouble with the update as every time i launch the app, i receive the "The Application Mac Pro 2006 2007 Firmware Tool Quit Unexpectedly" Error. Mac OS X version 10.5.8.

Anyone else have this issue or know of a solution?

Any chance of doing the firmware update by restoring the EFI Partition of the 1,1 machine with a Partition image of the  EFI Partition from a machine that has already been updated to 2,1?
Logged
awediohead
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #507 on: June 29, 2019, 11:02:55 PM »

I am performing a firmware update on a 2006 1,1 Mac Pro:

Boot ROM Version: Mp11.005C.B08
SMC Version: 1.7f10
OS X 10.7.5

Nothing in the Mac Pro besides the Hard Drive and stock NVIDIA 7300GT Video Card.

I have done dozens of these firmware updates successfully.  However, this time I am running into the following message:

The program has encountered an error: 5530.

Any help would be great!
Having just been on this for the last few hours trying to get my firmware updated prior to installing my "new" quad xeons my searching has flagged up the possibility that 5530 means that when the script is attempting to retrieve files from the net its not finding them so youre just left with an empty RAM disk. I have read posts that seem to indicate that as short a time as two months ago people were using the Firmware update tool successfully so I could be completely wrong on this.

I found a workaround (that hasnt worked for me as yet - but I am probably doing it wrong) that's as follows: EDIT: Though the original post I copied this from on iFixit had forgotten the origin of the workaround I came across it doing further searching - https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/mac-pro-1-1-firmware-upgrade-issues.2174741/  - scroll down to HaRoMR's post

Quote
Can't remember where I found this, but it worked for me.
"I am running 10.7.5. But I did manage to upgrade my 1,1 to a 2,1 some minutes ago. I will describe it here in case somebody else faces the same issues:
1. Get the Upgrade tool from netkas.org via Wayback Machine here as@jbarley suggested or get it from somebody directly like @ColEpsi - thanks!
2. Download the Apple firmware update
3. Mount the .dmg file
4. Use the upgrade tool to create the RAM Disk which in my case directly failed after creating the RAM Disk with the error code 5530
5. Have a look at the content of the upgrade tool and copy the following scripts from /Contents/Resources to the RAM Disk:
1. ExtractAndPatchEFIFiles.sh
2. UpgradeEFI2006-2007.sh
3. DowngradeEFI2007-2006.sh
4. MacProEFIUpdater2006.patch
5. MacProEFIUpdater2007.patch
6. Open ExtractAndPatchEFIFiles.sh with the editor of your choice
- Workaround continues in next post -
April 21 by Dagfinn
Second half of the workaround
7. Remove the following lines:
1. Code:
hdiutil attach -nobrowse MacProEFI2006and2007.dmg

2. Code:
rm -R Expanded

3. Code:
rm -R System

4. Code:
rm Payload

8. Save the script
9. Run it with Code:
./ExtractAndPatchEFIFiles.sh

10. Run the actual upgrade script with sudo rights via Code:
sudo ./UpgradeEFI2006-2007.sh

11. If everything runs through without error proceed with the firmware upgrade:
1. Shut down the Mac
2. Press and hold the power button until it blinks
3. Wait for the upgrade to finish
4. Check the firmware version
5. Reboot in case it does not detect your CPUs correctly until it does.
That did the trick for me.
Thanks again and cheers,
Robert"

For sure part of my problem is that I dont really understand what no's 9 and 10 actually involve doing? I've mucked about in the terminal a bit but so far no luck - if someone could walk me through what 9 and 10 actually mean step by step then I guess it would help a lot of other people too eventually?

EDIT: erroruser then corrects the code as follows in the thread linked to above:

Quote
erroruser said:

MacPro2006-2007FirmwareTool left it open an also MacProfirmwareUpdate then did till number 8 Run it with
Code:
/ExtractAndPatchEFIFiles.sh but this was wrong needs to be as so
. /ExtractAndPatchEFIFiles.sh need space between the "." an "/" then drop file in then for 9
sudo ./UpgradeEFI2006-2007.sh is also wrong needs to be
sudo /UpgradeEFI2006-2007.sh no need for "."
then i hit the power button to force shut down an hit the power again an waited for blinking light an BOOM is now completed

Later on down erroruser then adds:  i was using lion 10.6.8 also i made a lil error in the code should have been "/ExtractAndPatchEFIFiles.sh"

Ive no idea which of the above is correct, and I suppose its not totally impossible for a couple of variations to work given we're talking about OS's from 10.6.8 through to 10.11.6 - but I'm damn sure there's any number of people on this forum that can glance at this and rattle off the correct code for idiots like me to cut and paste into the Terminal - pretty please? In the meantime I'll experiment and post back if I make any progress. I've linked to this thread from Hrutkay's YouTube channel - which is a fantastic resource for Mac Pro related upgrades. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCqM2YtinH-LxHE138gAlkcg
Thanks
Julian
« Last Edit: June 30, 2019, 05:31:50 PM by awediohead » Logged
awediohead
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #508 on: July 01, 2019, 07:02:57 PM »

This from Simon on the MacRumors thread makes it super clear and very simple:

Quote from: Fylylylybymy, post: 27401575, member: 1178123
Thank you HaRoMR!

It worked for me Smiley
 
same Boot ROM as yours, running 10.6.8

I have downloaded Firmware update files from apple for 1.1 and 1.2

Mounted both dmg

Run app from Netkas forum to update firmaware

It failed (error 5530) but created RAM disk

I opened app again, without pressing "upgrade"

Right click app icon, go to 'show package content'

Opened folder 'contents'

Opened folder 'resources'

Grabbed all without icon and 2 blue folders and dropped in RAM disk

Amended 'ExtractAndPatchEFIFiles.sh' as per your instructions

The only difference is when I opened terminal, I didn't type, just drag 'ExtractAndPatchEFIFile.sh'  and drop into terminal window, that way mac will fill out any required info about path
press enter/return

Then type in "sudo" press 'space' drag 'UpgradeEFI2006-2007.sh' drop into terminal, press enter/return
Type in your password
press enter/return

Shut down

Hold power button till mac light starts to flash

That's it! Smiley

Hope it helps anyone Smiley

Simon

Thanks to everyone involved in getting this sorted - happy upgraded 2,1 owner with 2 x quad cores running sweet in 2019! Now just need to find a nice cheap GFX card upgrade to beef up the VRAM a tad
Logged
pedro66
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #509 on: July 31, 2019, 05:47:28 AM »

Long time reader first time poster,  Thanks for all the information that everyone has posted but honestly I am lost and pretty confused, hardware not an issue machine is running with 2x 5365 3.0Ghz  pretty
well see attached for configuration but Processors are not recognized and I just cannot get the 1,1 to update to 2,1 the RAM disk is being created but on restarting nothing changes.

I have tried several of the methods described and still not getting anywhere

Could one of you kind people please post a step by step for those of us who are maybe a little hard of thinking

Thanks in advance



« Last Edit: July 31, 2019, 06:28:15 AM by pedro66 » Logged
Pages: 1 ... 32 33 [34]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!