netkas.org forum
August 19, 2019, 10:34:06 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 13 14 [15] 16 17 ... 34
  Print  
Author Topic: Mac Pro 2006-2007 Firmware Tool Released  (Read 898914 times)
ocelittle
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #210 on: May 11, 2012, 04:27:55 AM »

Just found this thread, thanks!

Finally my computer doesn't list my 2x Quad Cores as "UNKNOWN 3GHZ"!

And having 2.1 looks snazzier.

I take it there's no way to fake 3.1 and boot into 64? I'd love to get one of those new NVIDIA cards.
Logged
Mr. Zarniwoop
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58



« Reply #211 on: May 11, 2012, 01:17:24 PM »

I take it there's no way to fake 3.1 and boot into 64? I'd love to get one of those new NVIDIA cards.

Booting the 64-bit kernel on the 2006/2007 Mac Pro
Logged

2006 MacPro1,1 (w/2,1 EFI firmware) - 2x 3GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon "Clovertown" X5365 CPUs - MSI R9 280X Gaming 3GB (w/Mac EFI firmware) - Mac OS X w/64-bit kernel
tman26
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #212 on: May 18, 2012, 02:00:39 AM »

Ok, So... I have a Mac Pro 1,1 and MP11.005D.B00 Boot Rom and cannot get X5355 CPUs to work.

I'm just finding this tool. The only reason I am considering upgrading the Firmware is to get my X5355's to work. I have a pair of SLACG and SLAC4 X5355 Processors and BOTH pairs don't work. I've tried EVERYTHING to get them to work. I just can't seem to be convinced that both sets of CPU's are defective.

Do you think it has anything to do with the ROM being MP11.005D.B00? And of course like everyone else with MP11.005D.B00, I can't use the netkas updater or the EFI updater on apples site -> http://support.apple.com/downloads/Mac_Pro_EFI_Firmware_Update_1_2

Do you think using the new method and tool to get our 005D's up to 2,1 will get the CPU's to work?

My only other option is trying SL9YM's.

Thanks



 
Logged
tman26
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #213 on: May 18, 2012, 06:20:39 PM »

I did the update with the modified updater and installed SLAC4 X5355 and FINALLY everything works.
Logged
fiatlux
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #214 on: May 21, 2012, 08:22:57 PM »

Ok, I updated my 1,1 MacPro to 2,1 but I lost Bluetooth with no way to activate it in the settings, which means I have to use a crappy wired mouse I got for free in a goodie bag years ago. WiFi also seems to be absent (no big deal as I am on Ethernet)

Is this normal?

BTW, my MacPro had the Apple WiFi and Bluetooth options.
Logged
fiatlux
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #215 on: May 21, 2012, 08:41:02 PM »

Did a quick Geekbench, and obtained 6150, while my 1,1 system reached 10550 ! (with two X5340 ES cpus BSEL mod'd to 3GHz)  Huh

Swiftly reverted to 1,1 firmware and all is back to normal.  Smiley
Logged
fiatlux
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #216 on: May 21, 2012, 08:43:54 PM »

Ok, maybe I should have rebooted twice?  Embarrassed
Logged
Mr. Zarniwoop
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58



« Reply #217 on: May 21, 2012, 09:22:42 PM »

Ok, maybe I should have rebooted twice?  Embarrassed
On my first boot I noted that I only saw one CPU.  Didn't look at Bluetooth or WiFi.  Subsequent reboots have been fine.

If Bluetooth/WiFi continue to be DOA, I'd at least try to reset PRAM.
Logged

2006 MacPro1,1 (w/2,1 EFI firmware) - 2x 3GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon "Clovertown" X5365 CPUs - MSI R9 280X Gaming 3GB (w/Mac EFI firmware) - Mac OS X w/64-bit kernel
fiatlux
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #218 on: May 21, 2012, 11:10:21 PM »

Ok, maybe I should have rebooted twice?  Embarrassed
On my first boot I noted that I only saw one CPU.  Didn't look at Bluetooth or WiFi.  Subsequent reboots have been fine.

If Bluetooth/WiFi continue to be DOA, I'd at least try to reset PRAM.

Ok Thanks! I'll try again next time I have some spare time to kill.

I see that you have a very similar system to mine. Did you notice any speedup in moving to 64 bit kernel? Any geekbench score to share?
Logged
Mr. Zarniwoop
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58



« Reply #219 on: May 22, 2012, 02:42:29 PM »

I see that you have a very similar system to mine. Did you notice any speedup in moving to 64 bit kernel? Any geekbench score to share?

Speed is pretty much the same.  I just booted up in EFI32/32-bit kernel mode with OS X Lion 10.7.4 and ran Geekbench 6 times alternating between Intel (32-bit) and Intel (64-bit).  My values:

EFI32/32-bit Kernel and Extensions
Intel (32-bit): 9393, 9349, 9301
Intel (64-bit): 10628, 10586, 10627

Then I rebooted with legacy mode/Chameleon/64-bit kernel and did the same thing.  My values:

Legacy mode/Chameleon/64-bit Kernel and Extensions
Intel (32-bit): 9761, 9423, 9036
Intel (64-bit): 10613, 10643, 10660

I wasn't overly scientific, I have a few background tasks running that probably account for the variations, such as TechTool's protection, Little Snitch and iStat Menus CPU display.  I know memory in these first generation Mac Pros also can make a difference as well; I have 10GB of RAM in mixed FB-DIMM sizes (four 2GB FB-DIMMs, four 512MB FD-DIMMs) so perhaps that could be optimized a bit.

My view of the 64-bit kernel and extensions is that the benefit is largely to extend the life of the machine.  Clearly not bad for a circa 2006 computer!
« Last Edit: May 22, 2012, 02:45:02 PM by Mr. Zarniwoop » Logged

2006 MacPro1,1 (w/2,1 EFI firmware) - 2x 3GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon "Clovertown" X5365 CPUs - MSI R9 280X Gaming 3GB (w/Mac EFI firmware) - Mac OS X w/64-bit kernel
Retrocosm
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #220 on: May 22, 2012, 11:41:32 PM »

I just upgraded the processors in my 1,1 to 5355's and it appears to be working fine.  Should I attempt the firmware upgrade or take an 'if it ain't broke don't fix it' approach and leave it alone?
Logged
konran
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71



WWW
« Reply #221 on: May 23, 2012, 01:03:19 PM »

I just upgraded the processors in my 1,1 to 5355's and it appears to be working fine. Should I attempt the firmware upgrade or take an 'if it ain't broke don't fix it' approach and leave it alone?

I followed the Booting the 64-bit kernel on the 2006/2007 Mac Pro thread for a quite long time having an original MacPro1,1 with X5150. I refrained from upgrading the 2,1 firmware because I thought there is no benefit to let the machine seem to be a newer one just for nothing. There was told little speed advantage with 2,1 firmware. Later I realized that there is a microcode update for Intel CPU's in the 2,1 firmware ... so I upgraded my Mac Pro. CPU stepping is one parameter that changed with the microcode which is uploaded to the CPU on every boot by the firmware. The result was a "smoother" CPU running. Some weeks later I changed to X5160 processors and I'm fine again with 2,1 firmware.
Logged

MacPro2,1(1,1) 2 x Intel Xeon Dual Core 3 GHz, 10 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 250/750/750 GB HDD, nVidia 8800 GTS, Eizo EV2333W, Eizo L768 TFT, Mighty Mouse, Apple Alu Keyboard, OS X 10.7.4
nielstm
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #222 on: May 28, 2012, 07:50:59 PM »

Allright, 1st tool worked flawlessly so far for me. Big thanks to you.  Kiss
Logged
macster
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #223 on: May 30, 2012, 10:45:00 AM »

Later I realized that there is a microcode update for Intel CPU's in the 2,1 firmware ... so I upgraded my Mac Pro. CPU stepping is one parameter that changed with the microcode which is uploaded to the CPU on every boot by the firmware. The result was a "smoother" CPU running. Some weeks later I changed to X5160 processors and I'm fine again with 2,1 firmware.
I was planning to upgrade my clunky 2.0 GHz chips to 5160's too but found there are 3 different steppings to choose from.  The oldest one has a max. temp limit that's the lowest of all the 51x0 line, so it's not my first choice obviously.  Is this 2,1 firmware update critical for using the later 2 steppings of 5160? 
Logged
sweetspud
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


« Reply #224 on: May 30, 2012, 04:57:23 PM »

Hey guys!

I would love to get my Mac Pro 1,1 upgraded to 2,1.  I've been away from here for a bit and just tuned-in to discover that you guys are having some success with this.

I upgraded the processors to 5535's some time ago (see attached).  All is fine except for occasional kernel panics.  I am a competent Macster but not familiar with "hex editing".  Could someone. please post a detailed procedure to make this work on my machine??

I will be eternally grateful!!


* mac.tiff (92.28 KB, 750x522 - viewed 1717 times.)
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 13 14 [15] 16 17 ... 34
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!