netkas.org forum
May 26, 2017, 12:18:28 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 30 31 [32] 33
  Print  
Author Topic: Mac Pro 2006-2007 Firmware Tool Released  (Read 439477 times)
daav
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« Reply #465 on: October 11, 2015, 12:29:10 PM »

installed with a 2006 MacPro with success on Yosemite

u guys rock !

thanx
Logged
sv1cec
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #466 on: January 18, 2016, 09:36:34 PM »

I am trying to update my firmware from 2006 to 2007, but it seems it doesn't work. I am running El Capitan. Is the tool supported under El Capitan?

Many thanks
Logged
bax2003
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #467 on: February 06, 2016, 12:37:18 AM »

I am trying to update my firmware from 2006 to 2007, but it seems it doesn't work. I am running El Capitan. Is the tool supported under El Capitan?

Many thanks

I had success under Snow Leopard ( 10.6 ), Lion ( 10.7 ) and Mountain Lion ( 10.8 ). On newer OS X version, especially Yosemite (10.10) - just problems.
I recommend you to go to 10.6 or 10.7 and upgrade from there.
Logged
apple666
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #468 on: February 08, 2016, 04:52:15 PM »

So I have following config:

Model Name:   Mac Pro
  Model Identifier:   MacPro1,1
  Processor Name:   Dual-Core Intel Xeon
  Processor Speed:   2.66 GHz
  Number of Processors:   2
  Total Number of Cores:   4
  L2 Cache (per Processor):   4 MB
  Memory:   32 GB
  Bus Speed:   1.33 GHz
  Boot ROM Version:   MP11.005D.B00
  SMC Version (system):   1.7f10
  Serial Number (system):   G875031K0GN
  Hardware UUID:   00000000-0000-1000-8000-0017F20EFBFE

Under 10.7.5 I am doing firmware update, everything seems to go fine. Shutdown. Hold power button until long beep, screen goes gray but no logo no progress bar, after about 30s computer restarts and OS loads. Unfortunately it still shows as MacPro 1.1 like update was not done at all.
 When I run firmware update software again it gives me option to upgrade firmware, so no upgrade happened.

Any ideas?
Logged
apple666
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #469 on: February 10, 2016, 07:00:45 PM »

So answering my own question. Seems that firmware update tool does not work with Boot ROM Version:   MP11.005D.B00
 However if the only reason you do Firmware update is to upgrade CPU and your Mac Pro has already MP11.005D.B00, then firmware update is not necessary.
You can use for example Xeon X5365. The only thing is that system profiler will show CPU as 3Ghz "Unknown" but it does work properly, all cores are working cache etc.
No kernel panics. If you do Geekbench test it shows proper score and Geekbench does recognize CPU as X5365.
So the only downside of not upgrading Firmware on MP11.005D.B00 is purely cosmetic.
Logged
DavNeil
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #470 on: April 12, 2016, 01:16:26 PM »

So I have following config:

Model Name:   Mac Pro
  Model Identifier:   MacPro1,1
  Processor Name:   Dual-Core Intel Xeon
  Processor Speed:   2.66 GHz
  Number of Processors:   2
  Total Number of Cores:   4
  L2 Cache (per Processor):   4 MB
  Memory:   32 GB
  Bus Speed:   1.33 GHz
  Boot ROM Version:   MP11.005D.B00
  SMC Version (system):   1.7f10
  Serial Number (system):   G875031K0GN
  Hardware UUID:   00000000-0000-1000-8000-0017F20EFBFE

Under 10.7.5 I am doing firmware update, everything seems to go fine. Shutdown. Hold power button until long beep, screen goes gray but no logo no progress bar, after about 30s computer restarts and OS loads. Unfortunately it still shows as MacPro 1.1 like update was not done at all.
 When I run firmware update software again it gives me option to upgrade firmware, so no upgrade happened.

Any ideas?

I have same issue but version is B08 but I think this is due to Bootcamp install being improperly destroyed. I received this computer and it will not boot to anything and gave windows boot disk error. From that hint I am able to boot it easily but no firmware upgrade.
Logged
DavNeil
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #471 on: April 12, 2016, 01:33:33 PM »

I am trying to update my firmware from 2006 to 2007, but it seems it doesn't work. I am running El Capitan. Is the tool supported under El Capitan?

Many thanks

It didn't work for me in El Capitan, I think it didn't work on 10.10.5 (Yose) too but worked with 10.10.3 (Yose) or earlier version till 10.7.5. I am having little tough time with 10.6.8 but it could be my setup.
Logged
Revoxy
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #472 on: April 13, 2016, 10:01:15 PM »

I hope someone can help me  Huh

I flashed (on 10.75) the slightly modded Version from Page 13. My Mac turned on and flashed the efi.
After my restart and got stuck with both CPU LED's on.

I tried all kinds of Reset (even removed the Battery for 1 Day)

I pressed the ON Button for more than 5s and my Pro asked for the recovery CD 1.4.
For a few seconds it loads the EFI from the CD but still both CPU LED shine on.

My basic configuration was with two 2GHZ 5130 but even with x5355 the problem seems to be the same!

Now i have a few Questions:
Is flashing the firmware so risky (i already flashed one MAC in 2014)?
Is there any possibility to recover the efi with another tool?
Should i flash the next EFI with the x5355 or the old 5130 ?
Is it possible to soldier a bios Chip of a 2.1 into the 1.1 Board? (i have prof. tools, but i don't know if there are other flash memorys on the board, or an product number check etc.)?



« Last Edit: April 13, 2016, 10:03:12 PM by Revoxy » Logged
timdale21
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #473 on: April 19, 2016, 04:36:20 PM »

Can I upgrade to firmware 2 1 before upgrading my processors?  I have them coming but was wondering if that is possible.  I look forward to some responses.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2117



« Reply #474 on: April 21, 2016, 08:08:51 PM »

Yes
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
dalanm
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #475 on: May 08, 2016, 03:18:37 PM »

Hi.  I upgraded my old 2006 Mac Pro from 2.66 dual core to 3.0 quad core and I have 14gb of memory running OS 10.7.5.  It went pretty easily.  The benchmark test for 64bit multi core went from 4622 to 11360.  The "about this Mac" screen didn't recognize the processors, so I tried to install the 2,1 firmware.  I got the message that I needed to be connected to the Internet (even though I was) and couldn't install it.  I ended up installing CPUInjector and got the computer to list the right processor, instead of "unknown".  I still had the high benchmark when I tested it again.

Today, I got the firmware update to install.  When I upgraded from 1,1 to 2,1, I did another bench test and my multi core number got cut in half, back down to about 5500.  I removed the CPUInjector and got the same benchmark score.  I tested converting a 2gb (17 min) video.  With 1,1 installed it was going to take 30mins.  With 2,1 installed, it was going to take 45 minutes. I didn't wait until it completed.  I just waited a few minutes to  give it time to start converting.  Just wondering if anyone knows why my benchmark goes down when I upgrade to 2,1 and if there's something I can do to bring it back up.  I guess I'll have to stick with 1,1 for now unless someone has an idea I can try.  I'd also like to run a newer OS if I get brave enough to try some of those ideas.  Thanks!
« Last Edit: May 09, 2016, 04:04:52 AM by dalanm » Logged
Appleusr
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #476 on: May 09, 2016, 06:01:44 PM »

I just install X5355s into my 2006 Mac Pro. updated the firmware, I am now having issues with it starting and freezing.
The firmware seem to work, but now I get it running and then freezes, and won't get past the boot screen.

Any help?

Thanks
Rob
Logged
ashergrey
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #477 on: June 09, 2016, 06:11:49 AM »

To those having trouble running the firmware updater on El Capitan (or likely later systems), you must first disable system integrity protection (SIP).

Doing so is as simple as booting into the recovery partition and entering a terminal command (Google it... easy to find). Once SIP is disabled, the firmware update will work as it has under previous versions of Mac OS X. After it's complete, remember to enable SIP once again.
Logged
PhilippSilvo
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #478 on: June 20, 2016, 08:03:59 PM »

Well, I got some issues with my Mac Pro (2006, 1.1) aswell...
I now got El Capitan running perfectly thanks to netkas, and I'd like to upgrade to firmware 2.1 in order to use Windows 10 64-Bit as my Bootcamp partition. Because of SIP, I'd need to use csrutil in the recovery mode's terminal, but even with perfectly fine El Capitan installation flash drives, I'm not able to start it (Recovery Mode). Everytime I selected it with holding Alt at the start, the Mac just ignores it and boots the regular Hard drive.. Can anybody help me with that?
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2117



« Reply #479 on: June 20, 2016, 08:16:56 PM »

Have to put boot.efi in re partition as well.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Pages: 1 ... 30 31 [32] 33
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!