netkas.org forum
February 17, 2020, 10:06:36 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 10 11 [12] 13 14 ... 35
  Print  
Author Topic: Mac Pro 2006-2007 Firmware Tool Released  (Read 983718 times)
ckreling
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #165 on: February 27, 2012, 12:00:12 AM »

Just want to say thanks - You made another happy camper.  I have a Mac Pro 1.1 and upgraded to 2 5320s (yes slow chips but have 8 cores).  Was getting KPs especially with VMWARE Fusion.  Been up a couple of days since the upgraded firmware.

You Sir Rock !

Thanks

Charles
Logged
ant0
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 16



WWW
« Reply #166 on: February 28, 2012, 06:57:06 PM »

Hi everybody. I follow this discussion since 2 weeks because  I'm one of the unlucky macpro owner with the damn 005D.B00 firmware. I wrote a pvt message to grammataki too, but I think that my post can be usefull to others with my same issue.
I followed the grammataki's guide to hex edit the EfiUpdaterApp2.efi. I done everything with precision... but my mac won't flash. I don't know why. I done the entire procedure 4 or 5 times again, but without results. I found some differences in my EfiUpdaterApp2.efi structure:

1) I found only 6 instances (3 at 64bit and 3 at 32bit) of the LOCKED_MP11_005C_08B crc ("90 52 63 28") AND NOT 10!  Why?

2) My LOCKED_MP21_007F_06B crc is "DA F0 BA FB" and not "FB F0 BA FB" like the guide say. However I have the same files....I have downloaded the right package, I'm sure! :\

So...can i ask your help? I hope to solve asap. It's a fortune to have found this guide (thanks grammataki end everybody)...  Thanks,
Antonello
« Last Edit: March 14, 2012, 01:16:26 AM by ant0 » Logged

orsodimare
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #167 on: February 29, 2012, 12:18:41 PM »


Mountain Lion works with Mac Pro 1,1/2,1.

You are peoples don't like think about "How to make", just believing in what Apple says... No need to have an EFI64. 10.8 has a two simple things to prevent from booting on EFI32 macs. In OSINstall.mpkg - Distribution, and PlatformSupport.plist in /System/Library/CoreServices/. Just adding BoardID of EFI32 mac and 10.8 works and boot.

Is it running 32bit kernel? is basically the same method referred in Reply #162 ?
Thanks
Logged
orsodimare
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #168 on: February 29, 2012, 08:18:05 PM »

Hi everyone, first post i'm making.. for those of you that have a mac pro 1.1 like myself and want to install mountain lion 10.8 developer preview 1 ( unless apple change things on the GM release later this year, then go here... http://www.j4mie.co.uk/blog/2012/02/18/how-to-install-mountain-lion-on-macpro11/  I have done it and works like a dream... only thing i did slightly different was to partition my hard drive and restore the modified lion image to the partition... as very quick booting...hope this helps some people

I confirm everything here on my MacPro 2,1 (formerly 1,1): just to have the old original GeFo 7300 working in ML I have copied the kexts from Lion 10.7.3 (all those with "7xxx" in their names).
Working now on the 64bit improvement....
Cheers.
Logged
ant0
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 16



WWW
« Reply #169 on: March 05, 2012, 12:02:45 PM »

Everybody off topic? Undecided Please.....there is still anyone they want upgrade his MP1.1 fw (005d.b00) to MP1.2 fw? I'm fighting to do it. Smiley
« Last Edit: March 14, 2012, 01:16:57 AM by ant0 » Logged

nycaleksey
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #170 on: March 05, 2012, 05:27:43 PM »

Everybody off topic? Undecided Please.....there is still anyone they want upgrade his MP1.1 fw (005d.b00) to MP1.2 fw? I'm fighting for do it. Smiley

I'm in the same boat (MP11.005D.B00) and would love to have hassle free way to upgrade EFI to 2,1.
Logged
dfireball
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #171 on: March 05, 2012, 06:30:41 PM »

I too am waiting for a way to upgrade my MP11.005D.B00 1,1 firmware to 2,1. An easier solution is desired as I'm afraid of bricking my mac pro. It's my Pro Tools computer and worth too much for me to be messing around with it in this way.

If anyone is developing a way to modify the current firmware upgrade tool to work with this firmware, please let me know. I would be happy to help.
Logged
hyram
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #172 on: March 06, 2012, 02:27:02 PM »

If anyone is developing a way to modify the current firmware upgrade tool to work with this firmware, please let me know. I would be happy to help.

With all due respect, why don't you develop a way to do this yourself.

I'm not trying to be flippant here. The smart folks here didn't get that way by whining about not getting someone else to do something they don't have time or interest to do, but rather by rolling up their sleeves and doing it themselves. And don't start with the "I don't know enough" whine either... just start and learn what you need to along the way. It might take a while, but think of how much better off you'll be when you figure it all out. Then you'll be one of the smart ones.
Logged
ant0
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 16



WWW
« Reply #173 on: March 06, 2012, 05:09:31 PM »

I'm glad to be not alone.  Wink So, I have patched the  efi updater for 005d.b00 but it doesn't work for me. I think there is something wrong in my efi partition 'cause I have two bootable hd (it means two efi partition) and one pair hd in raid mode (software raid). Can someone try my patched version? I can't guarantee that it's risk less, but otherwise I can say that it's very hard to brick a macpro rom. I can say that because:
1) the grammtaki user updated efi without problems (but unfortunately he is vanished  Sad )
2) if something wrong on flashing update process, the macpro just protect it self restarting, without update anything.
I can also share the guide to bless the update. Is there someone brave too?  Wink
« Last Edit: March 07, 2012, 04:09:17 PM by ant0 » Logged

cimo01
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #174 on: March 08, 2012, 02:00:30 PM »

Quote
"1) I found only 6 instances (3 at 64bit and 3 at 32bit) of the LOCKED_MP11_005C_08B crc ("90 52 63 28") AND NOT 10!  Why?

2) My LOCKED_MP21_007F_06B crc is "DA F0 BA FB" and not "FB F0 BA FB""

Exact same issue, exact same numbers!!

+ my own firmware is: 2A 76 72 CB and MP11.88Z.005D.B00.0708280936

Another problem is that after "sudo bless -mount / -firmware /....." I checked the created volumes/bless.xxxx folder and it was empty.

terminal says: "preallocation not supported on this filesystem for /Volumes/bless.LPPe//EFI/APPLE/FIRMWARE//EfiUpdaterApp2.efi"

I tried with fresh formatted guid partitioned hdd and fresh installed snow leopard on it but with no luck!
Logged
ant0
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 16



WWW
« Reply #175 on: March 08, 2012, 02:40:09 PM »

Perfect. So we can exclude the "double efi partition issue". I suppose we have the same patched updater, but something goes wrong during bless command. When I try to bless the upd, I get the same message (can you look at console log too pls? We can collect more infos). I'll google ASAP to reach a solution.
However Is very very very (very) curious that we meet the same CRCs; both different from grammtakis's CRCs. Are we modifying the right update package (1.2)? Grammtaki, where are you?
 Please update me if you add another puzzle's slice. We must do it, we can do it Smiley stay tuned.

P.s. your firmware's crc is different from mine 'cause the crc is calculated over each byte of the dump. Inside the dump there are some private Infos ( like sn...) that generates different crc results. The "locked upd files" have not sn so they generates same crc.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2012, 02:51:14 PM by ant0 » Logged

hyram
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #176 on: March 08, 2012, 03:02:59 PM »

Something doesn't smell right here... The CRC is not need for the firmware to run; I've proven that many times. I suspect that it is only needed for the update package check, in which case the file should be somewhat generic. The updater would be adding all the machine specific info during the install. My thought still is that it has to do with version checking.
Logged
ant0
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 16



WWW
« Reply #177 on: March 08, 2012, 05:58:21 PM »

Something doesn't smell right here... The CRC is not need for the firmware to run; I've proven that many times. I suspect that it is only needed for the update package check, in which case the file should be somewhat generic. The updater would be adding all the machine specific info during the install. My thought still is that it has to do with version checking.
You right! The crc is only used to verify the fw identity. Hopfully I wrote to make not miss understanding but sometimes I use English worst than a 2 years old child  Smiley (I'm Italian...you know  Grin lol ).  What you  figures out from our recent posts? We can clarified the main idea together ..
Logged

cimo01
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #178 on: March 08, 2012, 09:06:54 PM »

I downloaded the firmware update from this link:

http://support.apple.com/downloads/Mac_Pro_EFI_Firmware_Update_1_2

console message after sudo bless mount firmware... :
 
3/8/12 8:59:30 PM   com.apple.autofsd[77]   automount: Mount for UUID=B213441A-FC73-4BDA-A6A7-EBEF681680C1 has no path for the directory to mount
3/8/12 8:59:30 PM   com.apple.autofsd[77]   automount: Mount for LABEL= has no path for the directory to mount
3/8/12 8:59:30 PM   com.apple.autofsd[77]   automount: Mount for UUID=6584A7A8-71F7-4073-9CFD-F2CB704AAC01 has no path for the directory to mount
3/8/12 8:59:30 PM   com.apple.autofsd[77]   automount: Mount for LABEL= has no path for the directory to mount

ant0: thanx for the crc info!
Logged
cimo01
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #179 on: March 09, 2012, 03:37:38 PM »

I downloaded the firmware update from this link:http://support.apple.com/downloads/Mac_Pro_EFI_Firmware_Update_1_2

console message after sudo bless mount firmware... :
 
3/8/12 8:59:30 PM   com.apple.autofsd[77]   automount: Mount for UUID=B213441A-FC73-4BDA-A6A7-EBEF681680C1 has no path for the directory to mount
3/8/12 8:59:30 PM   com.apple.autofsd[77]   automount: Mount for LABEL= has no path for the directory to mount
3/8/12 8:59:30 PM   com.apple.autofsd[77]   automount: Mount for UUID=6584A7A8-71F7-4073-9CFD-F2CB704AAC01 has no path for the directory to mount
3/8/12 8:59:30 PM   com.apple.autofsd[77]   automount: Mount for LABEL= has no path for the directory to mount

ant0: thanx for the crc info!
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 10 11 [12] 13 14 ... 35
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!