netkas.org forum
February 22, 2020, 02:07:48 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 30
  Print  
Author Topic: 6870 efi rom test  (Read 523429 times)
dingles
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #30 on: August 19, 2011, 02:14:52 AM »

So far, the only port I find a boot screen on is the lower DVI port. (one in line with other ports)

The other DVI port is dead to the world for all purposes, so far.

I just tried VGA, it is present in lower DVI port, but no boot screen.

The MDP Apple DIsplay does NOT have a boot screen. Sadly, having it plugged in with a DVI display causes the DVI not to display boot screen either.

I tried both MDP ports, both work for MDP once reached desktop, but no boot screen from either.

I even tested with Passive DVI adapter on them, still no DVI for boot.

But this is WAY better than the 5870, where only way to see boot was VGA.


I get the exact same results. VGA doesn't seem to work either. I can't test HDMI at the moment.

Valve/Source engine games work and so does Geekbench (without ATY_init). I can live without the boot screen. Big improvement either way.
 
Logged
Weust
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #31 on: August 19, 2011, 07:11:30 AM »

Getting mine today and will test it on monday.
Ain't got time this weekend at all.

Getting the Sapphire Radeon HD6870, 1GB.
Standard version.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #32 on: August 19, 2011, 08:48:06 AM »

I'm a cheap fxxxxr.

I just picked the cheapest 6870 that Newegg had.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814141124

(remember to send in rebate)

I used Netkas newer ver 2 of his EFI and connected it to my original ROM.

Guaranteed to work....bu you should still dump the ROM on the card in case they use different RAM or change power circuitry.

Do it.

* mnu68702.rom (128 KB - downloaded 514 times.)
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
harrinp1
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #33 on: August 19, 2011, 08:50:19 AM »

get the roms and gogogo test, should work now.

Will this ROM work with my XFX Black edition or will I lose the overclock?

Can somebody please point me at a guide on how best to dump/flash my card.

Cheers

Logged
Weust
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #34 on: August 19, 2011, 08:55:01 AM »

Just to be sure, since at the moment I only see a XFX_6870 ROM up for download in the reply-post by netkas, I take it the Sapphire ROM needs to be modified first, or is it meant for me to use the XFX ROM on the Sapphire too?
Logged
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 246


« Reply #35 on: August 19, 2011, 09:13:09 AM »

Yet another first by Netkas!  Shocked

Any way to make an EBC for older Mac Pros?  Grin

I suppose the DVD player/Steam issues can be fixed easily.

So far it's just imac's efi part, hence no ebc parts.
OK.

Since you managed to get the Boot screen on the 6870, is there a chance you could fix the lack of boot screen on 5770/5870s?  Smiley
Logged
karaluchy
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 40


« Reply #36 on: August 19, 2011, 09:27:46 AM »

I'm very curious about flashing XFX Black Edition Dual Heat Pipe. It is quiet and powerfull. Will this efi work with overclocked version?
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 399


« Reply #37 on: August 19, 2011, 09:30:13 AM »

Netkas, does HD6870 work in PCI-EX 16x 2.0 5.0 GT/s or just 16x 2.5 GT/s ?
Logged
Weust
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #38 on: August 19, 2011, 09:33:55 AM »

Netkas, does HD6870 work in PCI-EX 16x 2.0 5.0 GT/s or just 16x 2.5 GT/s ?

Rominator posted a screenshot on page 2 shoing it to run at 2.5GT/s.
Not sure if that changed since then though.
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 836



« Reply #39 on: August 19, 2011, 09:52:48 AM »

what sysprofiler shows about transfer rate (2,5t or 5t) is actualy FALSE.

the value can differ depends on gpu workload, but sysprofiler displays only inital value durring system startup, not current one.

current one you can get with lspci utility for osx.

So stop this things about transfer rate in sysprofiler as it's complete nonsense.

for example gtx480 change its transfer rate dynamicaly, i checked this.
Logged
Weust
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #40 on: August 19, 2011, 09:55:33 AM »

Ah, nice to know that. Didn't know it could change that on the fly too.
Logged
armdn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 149


« Reply #41 on: August 19, 2011, 10:12:43 AM »

What with the EBC ROM ?? Will it be for Mac Pros 1,1 and 2,1?? Smiley
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #42 on: August 19, 2011, 10:21:58 AM »

This one is EFI64 only.

If you dig deep enough in 5870 thread, the first 5870 rom he did was efi64 only from iMac.

The good news is that patching these ROMs is easy. While 4870 needed an empty space in middle of ROm to insert EFI, these ROMs are super simple. You just need to know where the PC BIOS ends.

If ROM opens with 55 AA 7D then rom length is 7D. (ie, whatever follows "55AA" is length) In decimal that is 125 x 512 byte blocks = 64000. So add Netkas' new EFI starting at 64000 and then run the "fixrom.py" script from 4870 days and rom is DONE.

Flash & boot up to a lovely boot screen on DVI.

YOU NEED TO ALWAYS DUMP YOUR ROM FIRST. It is quite possible tha tone of these premade ROMs will work, especially if the cards are reference models. But if one of these premade's DOESN'T work you will kick yourself silly for not having backed up the original. If you have an overclocked card or one that runs a unique fan you will most likely need to make your own.

But I just told you how to do that in 3 sentences. WAY easier than 4870.

Enough winching and whining, get flashing !!!

Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
armdn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 149


« Reply #43 on: August 19, 2011, 10:47:54 AM »

The good news is that patching these ROMs is easy. While 4870 needed an empty space in middle of ROm to insert EFI, these ROMs are super simple. You just need to know where the PC BIOS ends.

If ROM opens with 55 AA 7D then rom length is 7D. (ie, whatever follows "55AA" is length) In decimal that is 125 x 512 byte blocks = 64000. So add Netkas' new EFI starting at 64000 and then run the "fixrom.py" script from 4870 days and rom is DONE.

So, you say it is simpler than a patching and making hybrid OpenFirmware ROM for PowerPC Macs?? Interesting. Nad where i can get EFI part? Will it be compatible with 32-bit system after using fixrom.py script??
« Last Edit: August 19, 2011, 11:09:09 AM by armdn » Logged
luh
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 37


« Reply #44 on: August 19, 2011, 11:21:53 AM »

Would there be any solution in a future for make bootscreen work in Mini Displayport?
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 30
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!