netkas.org forum
February 17, 2020, 10:43:53 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 30
  Print  
Author Topic: 6870 efi rom test  (Read 522786 times)
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 246


« Reply #15 on: August 18, 2011, 10:04:58 PM »

Yet another first by Netkas!  Shocked

Any way to make an EBC for older Mac Pros?  Grin

I suppose the DVD player/Steam issues can be fixed easily.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #16 on: August 18, 2011, 10:14:50 PM »

Dumb me, missed that this was 64 bit.

I will go try it there.

Oddly, even on the 32 bit machine, I just saw a grey screen followed by the s[pinning Apple and then desktop.

But I think this is due to super fast SSD boot in Lion.

Dragging the 64 bit machine over now.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Dakoman
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


« Reply #17 on: August 18, 2011, 10:36:38 PM »

I also have an SSD and Lion boots in about 5 seconds to desktop! What causes DVD/GB/Steam to crash btw?
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #18 on: August 18, 2011, 10:39:37 PM »

The Brilliant Netkas had a wonderful idea to do this ROM.

On 64 bit machine, the boot screen appears on at least one of the DVI ports.

I could not get it on either MDP port...but...wait......

I am able to get 4 displays working at once !!!!

Talk about some screen real estate.....I could move onto my own desktop...and have room for a couch !!!

Oddly, it loaded "Duckweed" from EFI as the Audio device, but still uses RadeonFrameBuffer for DIsplay driver...and works anyway.

HDMI seems to work as well.

The Audio out via MDP isn't working, but they may have something to do with that "NO" in the "driver Installed" column.



* Screen Shot 2011-08-18 at 2.37.19 PM.jpg (106.99 KB, 791x547 - viewed 1109 times.)

* Screen Shot 2011-08-18 at 2.32.40 PM.jpg (154.73 KB, 825x666 - viewed 1142 times.)
« Last Edit: August 18, 2011, 10:43:49 PM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 836



« Reply #19 on: August 18, 2011, 11:36:50 PM »

lol, it initiated card at boot time but set keys for audio device, not videocard.

Rominator, combine this with aty_init and you will fix geekbench/steam
Logged
dingles
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #20 on: August 18, 2011, 11:51:27 PM »

Here's the bios from my XFX 6870.

* dingles6870.bin (128 KB - downloaded 547 times.)
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 836



« Reply #21 on: August 18, 2011, 11:54:49 PM »

lol, it initiated card at boot time but set keys for audio device, not videocard.

Rominator, combine this with aty_init and you will fix geekbench/steam

nah, wrong.

Now i know what's wrong with fw
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 836



« Reply #22 on: August 19, 2011, 12:21:45 AM »

get the roms and gogogo test, should work now.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2011, 12:56:48 PM by netkas » Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 836



« Reply #23 on: August 19, 2011, 12:27:10 AM »

Yet another first by Netkas!  Shocked

Any way to make an EBC for older Mac Pros?  Grin

I suppose the DVD player/Steam issues can be fixed easily.

So far it's just imac's efi part, hence no ebc parts.
Logged
Dakoman
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


« Reply #24 on: August 19, 2011, 12:32:41 AM »

get the roms and gogogo test, should work now.

100% Working. EFI boot screen and DVD player etc working without ATY_Init
« Last Edit: August 19, 2011, 12:58:47 AM by Dakoman » Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 836



« Reply #25 on: August 19, 2011, 12:34:57 AM »

get the roms and gogogo test, should work now.

100% Working. EFI boot screen and DVD player etc working without ATY_Init

test different ports

shoud be: 6870 - active/passice mdp works, dvi and vga via upper dvi slot works, second dvi slot doesnt work at all, hdmi works, tried max 3 displays at time - all work.

also interesting what ports give boot screen
Logged
Dakoman
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


« Reply #26 on: August 19, 2011, 12:40:44 AM »

get the roms and gogogo test, should work now.

100% Working. EFI boot screen and DVD player etc working without ATY_Init

test different ports

shoud be: 6870 - active/passice mdp works, dvi and vga via upper dvi slot works, second dvi slot doesnt work at all, hdmi works, tried max 3 displays at time - all work.

also interesting what ports give boot screen

DL-DVI port works (gives boot screen), HDMI port works (does not give boot screen), Other DVI port doesn't work. My monitor doesn't accept VGA so I can't test DVI->VGA, and my MDP->DVI adaptor is at work so I'll have to test that tomorrow. I'm off to bed now as I'm in england and it's 1am Smiley
« Last Edit: August 19, 2011, 12:56:00 AM by Dakoman » Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #27 on: August 19, 2011, 12:57:16 AM »

The "new" EFI works even better.

Well, it's nicer looking anyway.

running 4 screens still


* Screen Shot 2011-08-18 at 4.56.05 PM.jpg (146.41 KB, 831x698 - viewed 1143 times.)
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
luh
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 37


« Reply #28 on: August 19, 2011, 01:09:45 AM »

The "new" EFI works even better.

Well, it's nicer looking anyway.

running 4 screens still

Does boot screen work in the Led Cinema Display?
I'm flashing my Sapphire 6870 vapor-x tomorrow morning! YAY Cheesy
So...reading over here... I need a PC for flashing...
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #29 on: August 19, 2011, 01:27:50 AM »

So far, the only port I find a boot screen on is the lower DVI port. (one in line with other ports)

The other DVI port is dead to the world for all purposes, so far.

I just tried VGA, it is present in lower DVI port, but no boot screen.

The MDP Apple DIsplay does NOT have a boot screen. Sadly, having it plugged in with a DVI display causes the DVI not to display boot screen either.

I tried both MDP ports, both work for MDP once reached desktop, but no boot screen from either.

I even tested with Passive DVI adapter on them, still no DVI for boot.

But this is WAY better than the 5870, where only way to see boot was VGA.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 30
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!