netkas.org forum
May 26, 2022, 02:31:34 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 26 27 [28] 29 30
  Print  
Author Topic: 6870 efi rom test  (Read 685873 times)
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #405 on: June 06, 2013, 03:30:07 PM »

Just take your time to read the forum. There is plenty of reports of flashed 6870s. Pick one or two and check availability.
All flashing and ROM making info, including "step by step", is widely available here or on MR forum.
You should understand what you're doing before you start doing it, so first read, next try.
Logged
GP-SE
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 75


« Reply #406 on: June 06, 2013, 07:07:46 PM »

I flashed a Sapphire 6870 Flex (2 mini display ports) worked great.
Logged
xelanaiznac
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


« Reply #407 on: July 04, 2013, 07:39:35 PM »

hi guys. you are fantastic!
i read, read, and again read your guides and even tried a lot of your modified rome, but i have still this problem (cosmetic one, let's say).
i couldn't see the apple logo (obviously using the bottom dvi port without anything else linked to my xdx 6870 1gb dual fan).
i have both of them, very similar. one is zdfc 5.0 and one is zdfc X.0
i flashed succesfully both of them but i can't see the apple logo boot screen.
what's the matter?
here my files, the original firmwares and the modified by me using this guide: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,692.0.html

please, help me

* firmwares.zip (248.88 KB - downloaded 659 times.)
Logged
GP-SE
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 75


« Reply #408 on: July 09, 2013, 12:32:50 AM »

use "rom creator" http://rghost.net/19375601

EFI here: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,1085.msg6517.html#msg6517
use the XFX one, remove 1 card, and flash 1 at a time.

use Zeus 2.3 to flash
Logged
xelanaiznac
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


« Reply #409 on: July 09, 2013, 09:25:29 AM »

thank you, but the link for the romcreator.zip doesn't work, file was deleted
can you give me please another link?
Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #410 on: July 10, 2013, 08:04:39 AM »

Re-read "How to make..." thread, try one more time and you should find where the problem is.
Logged
xelanaiznac
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


« Reply #411 on: July 10, 2013, 02:46:39 PM »

really i read a lot of times the how to, but i can't understand where the error is.
i even tried a 6870 zdfc rom downloaded from here http://www.groths.org/resources/firmware-database/, from chris user and it is confirmed that it is working, but not for me.
everything is working in system profiler, the only issue is the boot screen!
i tried even adding efi with zeus 2.8 and then flashing with atiflash and even with zeus 2.3, same results.
i tried adding efi using terminal, everything went right, except from the boot screen.
using xfx6870.efi.rom from netkas, doesn't work, vga was detected as ati 6xxx


i'm using 10.8.4 on a mac pro 4,1 flashed to 5,1 with the firmware utility.
Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #412 on: July 10, 2013, 08:28:39 PM »

Your 5.0original ROM is messed up. First 512 bytes are replaced by some weird shit - kind of Unarchiver file header or so.
It's curious that it works at all.
Your other original ROM (x.0) looks OK at first sight. Modified x.0 one as well.


Logged
xelanaiznac
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


« Reply #413 on: July 11, 2013, 12:55:27 PM »

thank you blacksheep.
the problem is that i have both the modified roms working (as you can see in the picture in this post), the only thing that is not working is the boot screen.
i tried with a tv and with a monitor (connected to dvi-vga adapters)
black screen until the login


* Schermata 2013-07-09 alle 20.04.06.png (81.28 KB, 750x517 - viewed 1579 times.)

* Schermata 2013-07-09 alle 20.04.19.png (88.38 KB, 755x521 - viewed 1446 times.)

* Schermata 2013-07-09 alle 20.04.24.png (107.03 KB, 765x536 - viewed 1455 times.)
« Last Edit: July 11, 2013, 12:58:28 PM by xelanaiznac » Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #414 on: July 11, 2013, 04:37:58 PM »

Didn't you switch ROMs one with another? I.e. are you sure you're flashing correct card with correct ROM?
Your x.0 ROM has ZDFV50 version in header, what suggests it should be 5.0.

Hard to tell what code this second one has, because as I said it lacks its original first 512 byte block.
I'm still surprised that it works without PCIR, device ID and such  Huh
Logged
xelanaiznac
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


« Reply #415 on: July 11, 2013, 08:41:42 PM »

yes, i'm sure.
i think that x.0 rom is the same as 5.0
i saved bios from x.0 with both gnu-z and atiwinflash.
answering to this (Hard to tell what code this second one has, because as I said it lacks its original first 512 byte block),
the 5.0 original that i load in this thread is broken, i was wrong loading it, but the modified one is correct.

i tried different method:
-adding efi part with zeus 2.8 to my orignal one, and then flashing with zeus2.3 or with atiflash. everything is working except from boot screen
-flashing a modified rom, tested and working for other people, with zeus 2.3 and even with atiflash. everything is working except from boot screen
-create a modified rom using the jeanlain guide (make you own radeon etc...) adding xfx6870.efi.rom (not working) and adding 6870.efi.rom (everything is working except from boot screen)

i really need help.

Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #416 on: July 11, 2013, 10:07:59 PM »

Modified 5.0 one from your "firmwares.zip"is even more f'ed up than original.
Open all 4 in hex editor and you'll see what I mean.
I've seen no bootscreen issue once, one page back.
I've checked your x.0 BIOS connector info and there's nothing unusual.
All connectors do match reference values which work with EFI including bootscreen.
Logged
xelanaiznac
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


« Reply #417 on: July 12, 2013, 11:38:57 PM »

All connectors do match reference values which work with EFI including bootscreen

so, why can't i see the boot screen?
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #418 on: July 16, 2013, 07:14:12 AM »

Read and listen to 666sheep, he knows his shit.

If he says you buggered the first 512, then you buggered it.

Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
xelanaiznac
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


« Reply #419 on: July 17, 2013, 12:40:19 PM »

ok, probably i'm not explaining the issue properly. these are the original roms. please, could someone add the efi part for me?

firmware saved both with gpuz and atiwinflash

* XFX 6870 ZDFC version 5.zip (86.12 KB - downloaded 652 times.)
* xfx 6870verx.0.zip (82.75 KB - downloaded 662 times.)
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 26 27 [28] 29 30
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!