netkas.org forum
September 24, 2020, 04:47:19 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 14 15 [16] 17 18 ... 24
  Print  
Author Topic: Radeon Port Mapping  (Read 402248 times)
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #225 on: December 12, 2015, 04:00:40 PM »

I think you just tried to run the script on an already compressed EFI file instead of a uncompressed one (don't remember which one I uploaded here). EFI can't be used without modification because of dev id mismatch.
I'll look into it tomorrow if you can't fix it yourself.
Logged
bmac
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #226 on: December 13, 2015, 10:06:55 PM »

Yea I haven't been able to get it to work.  I couldn't figure out how to decompress the EFI so I could use the script on it as that is what I was used to, I searched through multiple pages of the thread for examples on how people were even putting it together.

Any help would be much appreciated.  I only use one monitor, 27" Apple LED Cinema Display, so mini display port booting would be fantastic.
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #227 on: December 14, 2015, 09:02:50 PM »

From my current knowledge a boot screen on mDP is a no-go on your card. I can help you with a DVI bootscreen though.
Logged
bmac
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #228 on: December 14, 2015, 09:08:11 PM »

That stinks. I only really have a monitor on my desk with miniDP. I'll take the help though, better than nothing after boot. I was gonna go tri monitor soon so it won't matter for long anyway.
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #229 on: December 15, 2015, 09:55:43 PM »

Okay, I've attached the 7870 EFI with 7850 device ID to your original ROM.

Good luck! Smiley

* Pitcairn.rom.efi.rom (128 KB - downloaded 593 times.)
Logged
bmac
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #230 on: December 15, 2015, 10:51:37 PM »

Thank's, I'll try it right now.  I got all the time now to test this out since just loosing my job, lol so I got time, beer, and a 7850 I look forward to using in OS X.  Smiley
Logged
bmac
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #231 on: December 15, 2015, 11:20:24 PM »

Seems to work, but I really wonder why the 7850 won't work for bootscreens on miniDP.    I am trying a DVI to miniDP adapter, and that seems to get me a boot screen on the cinema display and OS X works fine, but oddly Windows 10 won't work with it (just like the adapter didn't work with the 4870 either on DVI to miniDP).  Linux on this adapter works fine on the same card, and the same DVI port.  So I blame ATI drivers honestly.,
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #232 on: December 16, 2015, 09:26:25 AM »

Cool Smiley

The technical description is somewhere on the last 16 pages... Wink
In short: The port mapping (= physical connection of the DP/DVI/HDMI ports to the GPU chip) differs between HD 7770/7850/7870/7950/7970. The only available EFI matches the reference 7950, others only match partly (e.g. your 7850).
In OS X things are handled differently, so you have all ports working but boot screen only on DVI.

Btw, can you verify if passive DP adapters give boot screen?
Logged
bmac
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #233 on: December 16, 2015, 02:23:32 PM »

I used an Atlona AT-DP400 dvi to minidisplay port adapter and that does give me bootscreen on a cinema display. I don't know if its passive though, doesnt seem like it since it requires power. But it won't work on windows 10, not even an official 4870, but does on Linux and OS X. So either way I still have to do a cable swap. I did hook up a second monitor with the adapter plugged in and found windows 10 maxes out at 1080p, so that's why I think windows 10 has issues with dual link dvi or something.
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #234 on: December 16, 2015, 06:55:48 PM »

No, I meant the other way around: mDP-Port on your card -> passive adapter -> DVI or HDMI port on display. Those should work, too, but are limited to 1080p resolution.
Logged
bmac
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #235 on: December 16, 2015, 07:23:00 PM »

Oh that I wouldn't know. Sadly I dont have an adapter that way around.
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 405


« Reply #236 on: December 17, 2015, 12:39:31 PM »

On HD7850 with 2x DVI + HDMI + DP you have to use Futomaki framebuffer to get a boot screen via lower DVI and DP, HDMI and upper DVI does not work.

On HD7850 with DVI, HDMI + 2x mDP you have to use Hamachi framebuffer to get a boot screen via DVI and both mDP. HDMI does not work.

If using 2x HD7850 at the same time, you've got 32 OpenCL cores with a LuxMark 2,1 score of 2553 points.
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #237 on: December 17, 2015, 01:03:14 PM »

That's wrong, the framebuffer doesn't matter at all for boot screen.

mDP will most likely only give boot screen on legacy TMDS connections, not through true DisplayPort. Better double check what you're selling at ebay  Wink
Oh, and while you're at it, better check OS X behavior (hint: hot plugging ability on all ports and true DP support) of your Hamachi-flashed Pitcairn cards.
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 405


« Reply #238 on: December 17, 2015, 05:15:38 PM »

That's wrong, the framebuffer doesn't matter at all for boot screen.

mDP will most likely only give boot screen on legacy TMDS connections, not through true DisplayPort. Better double check what you're selling at ebay  Wink
Oh, and while you're at it, better check OS X behavior (hint: hot plugging ability on all ports and true DP support) of your Hamachi-flashed Pitcairn cards.

Hotplugging works both on Futumaki (DP) and Hamachi (mDP) - tested via Apple mDP to DVI and DP to DVI. I will test true DP support soon.
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #239 on: December 18, 2015, 11:36:24 AM »

Yep, legacy TMDS connections via passive adapters don't need a correct HP ID to work. Native DP does though.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 14 15 [16] 17 18 ... 24
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!