netkas.org forum
September 24, 2020, 04:01:11 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 9 10 [11] 12 13 ... 24
  Print  
Author Topic: Radeon Port Mapping  (Read 402227 times)
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #150 on: August 18, 2015, 07:30:39 AM »

You'll find them in /System/Library/Extensions.

After doing the modification repair file permissions and rebuild the kext cache (both can be googled), this should do the trick.
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #151 on: August 19, 2015, 06:22:35 PM »

Did some testing with HD 7870 myself now:

Works perfectly fine in OS X with Futomaki framebuffer. Suffers performance bug on 3,1, but can be fixed by deleting those two PowerManagement kexts.

Bootscreen can be enabled on DVI and passive DP. Active DP won't work due to hotplug ID mismatch (I guess). Actually great value for money card. Got a Gigabyte Windforce 3 for less than 90€. Stays very silent even under full load.
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #152 on: August 19, 2015, 10:09:35 PM »

Btw, just realized that there are actually people selling this card (Pitcairn-Version, as mine) with Hamachi. This will:
  • Disable HDMI completely
  • Disable active/native DisplayPort (only passive single-link adapters will work)
  • Disable hot plugging on DVI, so the cable has to be in at boot time
And they actually want money for this shit  Roll Eyes
Logged
Djeross
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #153 on: August 20, 2015, 02:46:42 AM »

Hi Florian!

I'm sorry I didn't report back on my 7870 like I was supposed to, but right now I can't do any test, a happy newborn happened, and is consuming all my time right now  Grin.
I promise I'll do some testing asap though, not fair to ask for help and not return back.
Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #154 on: August 20, 2015, 08:31:00 PM »

Btw, just realized that there are actually people selling this card (Pitcairn-Version, as mine) with Hamachi. This will:
  • Disable HDMI completely
  • Disable active/native DisplayPort (only passive single-link adapters will work)
  • Disable hot plugging on DVI, so the cable has to be in at boot time
And they actually want money for this shit  Roll Eyes

That's because I removed my Futomaki ROMs from this forum and ebay kiddos don't have a clue how to change the personality in EFI Cheesy
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 405


« Reply #155 on: August 21, 2015, 09:11:22 PM »

I've managed to get a reference R9 270 2 GB - when unflashed it does not boot to OS X at all.

When flashed it shows boot screen via lower DVI, but only Apple Software Render is available.

What's wrong ? I've been testing on El Capitan public beta 3 with both Futomaki and Hamachi framebuffers.

Here's the unmodified ROM Wink

Card is awesome - very silent and needs just single power connector. Would be great to run two of these in a pair.

* cardname.rom (128 KB - downloaded 572 times.)
« Last Edit: August 21, 2015, 09:14:10 PM by Spacedust » Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #156 on: August 21, 2015, 09:20:14 PM »

I didn't look into it, but I'm 99,9% sure OS X just doesn't have the device id in the drivers.

Edit: No good framebuffer match either, max. 2 fully working ports in OS X. If you feel adventurous, try flashing a similar R9 270X ROM combined with Futomaki EFI.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2015, 09:26:12 PM by Fl0r!an » Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 405


« Reply #157 on: August 21, 2015, 10:15:52 PM »

I didn't look into it, but I'm 99,9% sure OS X just doesn't have the device id in the drivers.

Edit: No good framebuffer match either, max. 2 fully working ports in OS X. If you feel adventurous, try flashing a similar R9 270X ROM combined with Futomaki EFI.

OK - so I will try to find reference R9 270X rom Wink
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 405


« Reply #158 on: August 22, 2015, 01:12:25 PM »

Just tried - the same effect - boot screen but only Software Renderer.

Card is properly detected as R9 270 and ATY,Futomaki is loaded.
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #159 on: August 22, 2015, 03:54:01 PM »

Which device ID does it show in the system profiler?

I guess the device ID is somehow set in hardware and can't be directly modified with ROM (maybe some straps?). Didn't verify this, maybe some bios tweaking tool already offers an option to change devid.
Guess it would be easier to go for a R9 270X though (2xmDP version should work fine) and mod it to run on 1 power connector (would need slightly lowered clocks I guess).
« Last Edit: August 22, 2015, 05:37:45 PM by Fl0r!an » Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 405


« Reply #160 on: August 22, 2015, 07:48:16 PM »

Which device ID does it show in the system profiler?

I guess the device ID is somehow set in hardware and can't be directly modified with ROM (maybe some straps?). Didn't verify this, maybe some bios tweaking tool already offers an option to change devid.
Guess it would be easier to go for a R9 270X though (2xmDP version should work fine) and mod it to run on 1 power connector (would need slightly lowered clocks I guess).

Device ID is 6811


* r9_270.gif (18.99 KB, 400x490 - viewed 1261 times.)
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #161 on: August 22, 2015, 08:49:14 PM »

Okay. So unless someone knows a method to change the device ID you'd have to add this dev id to the kexts in OS X. Thats obviously no good solution, especially with kext signing and rootless in mind. Hackintoshs have a big advantage here...
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 405


« Reply #162 on: August 22, 2015, 08:57:09 PM »

Okay. So unless someone knows a method to change the device ID you'd have to add this dev id to the kexts in OS X. Thats obviously no good solution, especially with kext signing and rootless in mind. Hackintoshs have a big advantage here...

270X - ID is 6810
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #163 on: August 22, 2015, 08:58:51 PM »

Yep I know, this one should be in.
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 405


« Reply #164 on: August 22, 2015, 09:01:32 PM »

Yep I know, this one should be in.

It was possible in the past with RBE, but it doesn't work for the latest roms:

Logged
Pages: 1 ... 9 10 [11] 12 13 ... 24
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!