netkas.org forum
September 24, 2020, 03:54:38 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9 ... 24
  Print  
Author Topic: Radeon Port Mapping  (Read 402222 times)
Bunga-Bunga
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 52


« Reply #90 on: June 21, 2015, 07:22:19 PM »

I don't have experience in programming-stuff, but comparing the unpacked efifiles with the netkas-file didn't show much differences as expected.......perhaps something got wrong? Except your special tip for Mr. bitch.
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #91 on: June 21, 2015, 08:04:34 PM »

There should be a total of about 18-20 bytes difference (+ the "no ebay" stuff). Will check it later/tomorrow.
Logged
Bunga-Bunga
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 52


« Reply #92 on: June 21, 2015, 10:45:05 PM »

Ok, i tested my second hd5870 - same result as above.  Wink
Logged
Asural
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #93 on: June 24, 2015, 02:43:06 PM »

"5870_2.efi.rom" insert 0x140 ~ 0x15F ( 32 bytes ) same as old data.
0x160 0xA8 change to 0xA7.

HDMI prot : no bootscreen, but can display screen
upper DIV : can bootscreen
Lower DIV : no bootscreen ( i have not VGA adapter )
DisplayPort : i can't test this device

Logged
BitingChaos
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #94 on: June 25, 2015, 07:06:47 AM »

Great work on this!

Is the modified 5870 EFI that keeps getting posted generally for the AMD/ATI "Reference" board?
(looks like this: http://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/253/radeon-hd-5870.html)

Mine looks like the reference board ("Built by AMD"), and has 1 HDMI, 1 DisplayPort, and 2 DVI ports.
I patched the latest stock/reference firmware that I could find with the old "5870_uakari_netkas" EFI data and flashed it to my card.

I get the boot screen on the bottom DVI port w/ a VGA adapter. I only get video on the top DVI port and HDMI port after OS X loads. I haven't tested the DisplayPort, yet (and all I have is a DP -> DVI adapter to use with it). I'm not too concerned about DisplayPort, but having the other ports working would be nice.

I was close to testing the EFI files posted in the past few days, but it sounds like they may have issues; 20 bytes off? Is something about eBay embedded in them?

I haven't messed with video card firmware since updating a mess of old cards and taping pins for my G4 system (and it is still using a Radeon 9700 Pro). The biggest issue I had then was making sure I had the right CPU and memory timings, which were sorta easy to fix through trial and error. I think the process then was just to get an Apple ROM, edit the timings with some firmware editor (NVidia or ATI), and then flashing the ROM to the card. Things seem a bit more complex now. Modifying existing ROMs, patching in EFI data, changing the MCuC offset, etc. And even after all that I end up with some ports sorta not working.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to more updated with this!
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #95 on: June 25, 2015, 08:55:49 AM »

Yes, we're talking about reference 5870 (2x DVI, HDMI, DP).
EFI is still in testing stage because we have not completely figured out the EFI port mapping stuff yet. Using the ROMs here should get you a boot screen on one of the DVI ports without a VGA adapter. The port mapping after OS X loads should not be affected, all 4 ports should be fully working both with my modified EFI and netkas EFI.

I'll have a look at the files later when I come home, maybe I've mixed something up or forget to save some changes in IDA.
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 405


« Reply #96 on: July 03, 2015, 12:52:58 PM »

I did some testing on HD5850 today which nobody mentioned here before.

Same results as on HD5870, DVI bootscreen is working on upper DVI.

HDMI and passive DisplayPort adapters -> DVI does not work at all (no bootscreen, black screen on desktop).
« Last Edit: July 03, 2015, 01:26:42 PM by Spacedust » Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #97 on: July 03, 2015, 08:11:14 PM »

Thanks for the test. Did those two ports work before?
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 405


« Reply #98 on: July 03, 2015, 09:53:35 PM »

Thanks for the test. Did those two ports work before?

No they've never worked but sadly I've sold my second display so I'm unable to test HDMI/DisplayPort at the moment.

I've also made a ROM for HD5850 ASUS DirectCU (really complicated default BIOS) and it boots fine, however no bootscreen via DVI.

This card has one DVI port, one DP and one HDMI.

It probably thinks that this is the lower DVI port which works only with DVI to VGA adapter. Maybe you can flip these ports.

It looks like this:



Attaching default ROM for this card:

* Cypress.rom (128 KB - downloaded 537 times.)
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #99 on: July 08, 2015, 01:54:33 PM »

Did not yet have the time to take a look at it. Will be interesting to have another 5xxx series card with yet another connector mapping, hopefuly I'll find the time at the weekend.
Logged
mew_bg
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #100 on: July 09, 2015, 04:05:43 PM »

I have Asus 7970 DirectCU II:




I'm attaching the rom. Is there any hope to reflash it's rom with an EFI one, so I can get bootscreen and throw away the 7300 that I keep for this single purpose?

Currently it's running rather fine on my 2006(firmware of 2,1) with Yosemite and tyamo's EFI. I get output on the 2 DVI's + 4DP (however only with DP to VGA, my DP to DVI doesn't seem to work for whatever reason).

The card has a little specific thing: it has an extra switch, which selects whether one of the DVI ports is dual link(at the expense of one of the display ports not working) or it's single link and all DPs work (i'm using that config to get all outputs):



Also the switch selects between U2 and U3 BIOS? Just a raw theory, does this mean that it's a dual bios card - that way I can flash EFI on one position, and keep the original rom on the second position.

* 7970-eyefinity.rom (128 KB - downloaded 539 times.)
« Last Edit: July 09, 2015, 11:25:46 PM by mew_bg » Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #101 on: July 10, 2015, 07:55:03 AM »

Hi,

really interesting card, thanks for providing the ROM!

Two out of 6 ports are matching the port mapping of a reference 7950 (DP4 and DVI1 if I recall correctly), so when flashing the card with the 7950 EFI it should show boot screen on those two ports! A thrid one could maybe be enabled.
You could easily try this yourself, just do as described in the 7xxx tutorial thread. (Yes, your card seems to have dual bios, so nothing bad can happen to you, just keep a copy of the original unmodified BIOS you are overwriting).

However, because of the mismatched framebuffer, you'll only see output on those two mentioned ports when flashing the standard 7950 EFI. OS X doesn't have a perfectly matching framebuffer for your card, but some of the Eyefinity framebuffers come close (Encode, Transmitter and SenseID match, hotplug ID only matches for 1 or 2 ports). We could try those, maybe everything will work.
But maybe the standard RadeonFramebuffer (this is the generic framebuffer the drivers defaults to on unflashed cards) would be even enough for your purpose:
- How many ports are working at a time?
- Are you using active DP adaptors?
Logged
mew_bg
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #102 on: July 10, 2015, 09:13:38 AM »

Hello Florian,

thank you for all the info, I'll test out the 7950 rom as per the other thread today and report back.

At the time, all ports are working - 2x DVI and 4xDP with DP to VGA Adapter.

I guess that my DP to DVI adapters are all passive, that's why they don't work with the card.

I've tried to 2 types, both HP, but could not find any real specifications....

1. HP P/N - 481409-002, has label BizLink 1313
2. HP P/N - 752660-001, no other visible labels



Update


Sadly it doesn't work.  Sad

Here's the output of the rom mod and I'm attaching the rom itself. No output on any port, tried the DVIs with DVI-to-VGA adapter. All DPs were with DP to VGA
Code:

 ./makerom.sh --efifile=7950mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader.rom --originalrom=cardname.rom --devid=6798

running on 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom with devid 6798

Patching files 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom for device-id 0x6798

Successfully patched efi file

Successfully patched efi rom file

./makerom.sh: line 42: /Users/lmtzusr/Downloads/ati: No such file or directory

dd: 7950mac.efi.comp: No such file or directory

EFI part is ready at 6798.efipart.rom

orig size - 65536

65536+0 records in

65536+0 records out

65536 bytes transferred in 0.117185 secs (559253 bytes/sec)

rm: 7950mac.efi.comp: No such file or directory

Before:

OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x229, indicator=0x80, checksum=0xff)

OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)

RawData (size=17408)



After:

OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x229, indicator=0x0, checksum=0x7f)

OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x89)

RawData (size=17408)

the rom is ready at cardname.rom.efi.rom


* efi7970.rom (128 KB - downloaded 531 times.)
« Last Edit: July 10, 2015, 01:15:12 PM by mew_bg » Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #103 on: July 10, 2015, 01:59:20 PM »

The script had some problems with your files (all paths are definitely correct?). I'll try to run the script myself later when I come home, I'm currently on a Windows machine so it would be a little tricky.
Logged
mew_bg
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #104 on: July 10, 2015, 05:41:28 PM »

I've missed the dd error on the script  Roll Eyes

Reran the script this time with no errors (fixed a path isssue), and I can report a mediocre success Cheesy

I'm attaching the semi working rom.

Mediocre because I get bootscreens, however only the 2 outputs (as suggested one DP and one DVI) get output. The rest are dead black. Also, the card is reported as Radeon 7950 in about this mac (as expected)


* efi7970.rom (128 KB - downloaded 541 times.)
« Last Edit: July 10, 2015, 06:02:09 PM by mew_bg » Logged
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9 ... 24
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!