netkas.org forum
July 23, 2019, 05:22:53 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 ... 24
  Print  
Author Topic: Radeon Port Mapping  (Read 304813 times)
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #75 on: June 05, 2015, 02:35:35 AM »



@Rominator: Oh well, I think I can understand why you appear a little "grumpy" on some of your posts. Grin I think some people must be really desperate if they have to make money like that.

Do you have any of those Eyefinity Radeons? That looks indeed like a really interesting challenge, but I don't have any of these cards and they seem to be quite rare (not even one 5xxx card on ebay and only a few 7xxx).

What would be the benefit of flashing the 7970 to become a D700?


I don't like liars. Being a lying thief (or is it a thieving liar?) irritates me.

I also get grumpy because a great many people ask questions that they could answer themselves if they tried.

I do have an Eyefinity 7870 with 6MDP ports. Played around with it and figured out PCIE 2.0 but never got further than that.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131474

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/140848/powercolor-hd7870-2048-120412.html

As far as D700, part of challenge is that fact that OS X somehow won't accept the simple obvious change of these values, if you put them in BIOS normal way the card doesn't take them. I imagine that this may be so that Windows folks don't flash 7970/R9 280X to show up as "FirePro" cards and get driver support.



Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #76 on: June 05, 2015, 08:29:02 PM »

Did you ever try to use your card with the Ikura personality? This seems to match perfectly for all 6 ports (transmitter, encoder and sense id; hot plug id shouldn't matter if the cable is plugged in at boot).
Interestingly the 2 mDP ports of the 7950 Mac Edition match port #3 and #4 on your Eyefinity 7870, too, so boot screens should work OOB...
I assume you already flashed your card with the 7950 EFI and tried this to no avail, correct?

I know that those people who can't use a search engine are quite annoying, but they exist on every board since the invention of the internet  Grin
Logged
SMIKX
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 90



« Reply #77 on: June 06, 2015, 11:22:26 AM »

Your intuition is spot on . ..

From Macrumors, March, 2013

http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/mac-7950-on-the-ground-efi-works-in-1-1-mac-pro-but-drivers-dont.1559680/

Logged

Mac Pro 2009 4,1>5,1 Dual Quad Core 2.93ghz 32gb ECC RAM. Sapphire Dual-X 7970 3 gb flashed. Samsung 970 EVO M.2 High Sierra 10.13.6
960 EVO Mojave 10.14.4 bootrom 141.0.0.0.0
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #78 on: June 06, 2015, 10:33:24 PM »

So IkuraS allowed Port 1 to work after desktop reached

Using Ikura I can't seem to get any ports to work.

If I plug in displays into 5 & 6 then a boot screen will appear on 6, but goes dark after.

Going to double check and see if I buggered Ikura.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
SMIKX
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 90



« Reply #79 on: June 07, 2015, 05:02:16 AM »

Fl0r!an, many thanks, your posts have greatly widened my understanding of rom editing but I still have a long way to go.

Today I managed to get EFI boot screens on my recently purchased Sapphire Vapor-X HD 5870 1 Gb ( overclocked ) using an already created rom ( Sapuakari.rom ) using DVI-VGA.

Nothing comes close to seeing that black Apple . .apple appear after flashing.

Link : http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,11134.msg30921.html#msg30921
Logged

Mac Pro 2009 4,1>5,1 Dual Quad Core 2.93ghz 32gb ECC RAM. Sapphire Dual-X 7970 3 gb flashed. Samsung 970 EVO M.2 High Sierra 10.13.6
960 EVO Mojave 10.14.4 bootrom 141.0.0.0.0
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #80 on: June 07, 2015, 10:57:56 AM »

@Rominator: That's curious because Ikura seems to match perfectly (see attached screenshot). The single connector included in IkuraS is present in Ikura, too, but IkuraS defines it as HDMI instead of DP.

@SMIKX: You should try to build your own ROM using the modified EFI found in this thread. This will enable digital boot screens, maybe even on DVI->HDMI adapter.


* Mapping_Eyefinity7870.jpg (235.55 KB, 1428x741 - viewed 889 times.)
Logged
SMIKX
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 90



« Reply #81 on: June 07, 2015, 12:01:01 PM »

@SMIKX: You should try to build your own ROM using the modified EFI found in this thread. This will enable digital boot screens, maybe even on DVI->HDMI adapter.
OK, I will as time allows. I have my own English school here in Japan .. 250 classes a month .. just myself teaching.
I also teach English in the evenings on Skype. . .  no time, not enough sleep .. but . . I WILL get round to it.
You have inspired me and YES . .DVI to HDMI would be the ultimate for me.
Many Thanks
Logged

Mac Pro 2009 4,1>5,1 Dual Quad Core 2.93ghz 32gb ECC RAM. Sapphire Dual-X 7970 3 gb flashed. Samsung 970 EVO M.2 High Sierra 10.13.6
960 EVO Mojave 10.14.4 bootrom 141.0.0.0.0
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #82 on: June 17, 2015, 05:18:54 PM »

Just realized that my framebuffer personality dump wasn't up to date, found quite a lot framebuffers I have never seen before (mostly Eyefinity stuff).
Regarding 7000 series, the framebuffers KaniS, MaguroS and Junsai (all 6x mDP) have been added. Didn't yet have a closer look at them, but one of them just has to match the Eyefinity 7870.
Anyone (Rominator? Grin) wants to try them?
Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #83 on: June 17, 2015, 06:26:53 PM »

There is some more personalities which you've missed.

Code:
10.10.3
Personality: Ramen
ConnectorInfo count in decimal: 6
Disk offset in decimal 1715280

02 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 29 04 01 00 20 01 05 06
00 08 00 00 04 02 00 00 00 01 02 00 10 00 03 05
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 03 07 11 02 01 01
00 04 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 01 04 03 21 03 04 03
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 05 07 12 04 02 02
00 04 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 01 06 03 22 05 04 03

Personality: Namako
ConnectorInfo count in decimal: 4
Disk offset in decimal 1715488

02 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 01 01 03 22 05 02 02
02 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 01 02 03 12 04 01 01
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 03 07 11 02 03 03
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 04 07 21 03 04 04


10.11
Personality: Tako
ConnectorInfo count in decimal: 6
Disk offset in decimal 1880816

02 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 01 01 03 22 05 02 04
02 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 01 02 03 12 04 01 03
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 03 07 11 02 03 01
00 04 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 01 04 03 21 03 05 05
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 05 07 10 00 04 02
00 04 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 01 06 03 20 01 05 05

My guess is that all 6 mDP personalities are connected to something in trashcan Dxxx efi drivers, what Sapphire one lacks/has disabled.
I could be wrong ofc.

Regarding SenseID: have you found it somewhere?
Changing these 0x91, 0x92... etc does nothing.
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #84 on: June 17, 2015, 09:53:41 PM »

Yeah you're right, I just listed the 6xmDP framebuffers.

I didn't find anything new yet, but I've got some ideas where to look. These 0x91, 0x92 stuff looked quite suspicious, but I already guessed that this isn't what we were searching for.
Just realized that I wanted to work on your 7770 problem. Could you attach your edited EFI as starting point?
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #85 on: June 20, 2015, 06:20:57 PM »

I'm quite confident that I might have figured out the SenseID stuff today (at least for Display Port)  Smiley

Just had the idea to compare the OEM 5770 and 5870 EFIs since these cards only differ in their sense IDs (beside obvious stuff like framebuffer or name).
The 5870 has 0x21/0x3/0x2 and 0x11/0x2/0x1 (enc/txmit/senseid) as DP mappings while the 5770 has 0x21/0x3/0x1 and 0x11/0x2/0x2.
Bin-diff'ing both files gave me the result seen in the screenshot.

Changing the IDs 0x1 and 0x2 to 0x4 and 0x1 should (in theory  Cheesy ) enable both HDMI and DP on the 5870. Didn't try it out yet but it sounds quite logical to me.
I'll upload modified EFIs with all possible combinations of enc/txmit and senseid (4 in total) when I find the time to do it.

If someone wants to play a bit around with Mrs. IDA, feel free to do so...  Wink

PS: Attentive readers might have noticed that I didn't mention DVI senseid, which isn't set in the attached screenshot. I think that this might be handled somewhere else in the code. Problem is that both 5870 and 5770 have the same DVI sense id (0x3), so I can't find it by diffing the files.


* SenseID.jpg (214.85 KB, 1920x1200 - viewed 951 times.)
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #86 on: June 21, 2015, 02:02:55 PM »

Short update on a different topic: Some weeks ago I mentioned that the "connector-type" property (DP,DVI,HDMI) didn't seem to matter at all.

I did some experiments today on my Hackintosh (way easier to switch framebuffers there) and it seems to be true! Mapping HDMI or DVI ports is no problem as long as all all IDs (encoder, transmitter, hotplug and sense) match. E.g. IkuraS (Eyefinity framebuffer => 6xmDP) enables three out of four ports on my non-reference R9 280 (upper DVI, HDMI and DP work, lower DVI dead, hot plug not working on all ports).
I think this is great news for upcoming AMD cards! Even if Apple decides to only include those odd mDP-only framebuffers, there's a great chance that those will work thus allowing properly initialized cards.

Of course this would have to be investigated more deeply, I'd expect that those ports might be limited to single link and HDMI audio might break, but it's still worth a try.

Modified 5870 ROMs will follow later...
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #87 on: June 21, 2015, 06:03:14 PM »

Whew, a rainy Sunday like this can be quite productive...  Grin Two updates:

HD 5870
I've attached a modified HD 5870 EFI. I'm quite sure that the other three possibilities don't make any sense, so hopefully this EFIs will give bootscreen on DVI, HDMI and DP. Just for the records (enc/txmit/sense):

0x12 / 0x4 / 0x1
0x22 / 0x5 / 0x4
0x11 / 0x2 / 0x3

One more thing:
I've figured out how to extract the hot plug ID from the PC BIOS: Everything needed was already present in radeon_bios_decode source code, so I just had to add a printf in the right place.
I've analyzed some PC ROMs and learned a few new things. The HD 7870 Eyefinity 6 is a perfect match regarding encoder, transmitter and senseid (as already stated before), but the hot plug IDs make things more complicated. In fact, only a single port has all 4 IDs matching in IkuraS and the other Eyefinity-Framebuffers. This should explain Rominators observation (only 1 out of 6 ports working after flash).
This is really bad luck since there is a total of 5 different 6-mDP-Framebuffers.  Sad

On the other hand, the HD 5870 Eyefinity 6 perfectly matches Zonalis with all 6 ports! When my SenseID mod can be confirmed to be correct, I'm quite sure we could turn this oldie in a fully compatible card with boot screens on 2 ports! Again, mappings for the records:

HD 7870 Eyefinity 6:

enc  / tx  / HP  / SenseID
0x11 / 0x2 / 0x3 / 0x3
0x21 / 0x3 / 0x1 / 0x4
0x12 / 0x4 / 0x4 / 0x1
0x22 / 0x5 / 0x5 / 0x2
0x10 / 0x0 / 0x2 / 0x5
0x20 / 0x1 / 0x6 / 0x6

HD 5870 Eyefinity 6:

enc  / tx  / HP  / SenseID
0x12 / 0x4 / 0x3 / 0x1
0x22 / 0x5 / 0x4 / 0x2
0x11 / 0x2 / 0x1 / 0x3
0x21 / 0x3 / 0x2 / 0x4
0x10 / 0x0 / 0x5 / 0x5
0x20 / 0x1 / 0x6 / 0x6

* 5870_2.efi.rom (41.97 KB - downloaded 498 times.)
Logged
Bunga-Bunga
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 50


« Reply #88 on: June 21, 2015, 06:56:11 PM »

Hello Flo,

same result as before with 5870. No bootscreen on DP, bootscreen with upper DVI or lower DVI with VGA-Adapter, HDMI i can't test.

The file is damaged, check the header. I corrected it for my test.
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #89 on: June 21, 2015, 07:13:19 PM »

Damn, thanks for the test though.  Sad

You're right, overwrote last 20 bytes of the header. I'll double and tripple check everything, can't imagine that this isn't the right track as it's quite much the only difference between 5770 and 5870 EFIs...
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 ... 24
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!