netkas.org forum
September 24, 2017, 04:38:49 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 23
  Print  
Author Topic: Radeon Port Mapping  (Read 120510 times)
Fl0r!an

« on: April 22, 2015, 05:43:07 PM »

Hey Guys,

I'm quite new to MacPro VGA flashing, so I've got a few questions: Recently I upgraded the graphics card in my Hackintosh, so I had a spare HD 6870. Since my dad has some MacPros, I decided to flash it for him to replace one of his entry-level GPUs (GT120 and stuff like that). Thanks to this great forum, flashing was really simple, the card works fine, but a few questions have come to my mind:

1. Port Mapping in OSX
Before flashing the card, I put it in a MacPro and fired it up. It worked fine OOB in Yosemite (no EFI boot screen of course): Both monitors (hooked up to both DVI ports) were working and the Cinebench score looked fine, too. Everything was stable and smooth.
After flashing, I had an EFI boot screen on one of the ports (as it's supposed to be), but the 2nd DVI port was gone, even when OSX took over control. Beside that, everything stayed the same (e.g. Cinebench score).
From my understanding, this is because of the Duckweed framebuffer, which doesn't support this 2nd DVI port. I know that you could modify the Duckweed framebuffer to support that port (that's what some of the hackintosh guys do), but I want to keep the OSX install vanilla to prevent issues when updating.
I think that, before flashing, the "RadeonFramebuffer" personality was used (I didn't check it however because I didn't expect any problems after flashing). Since everything seemed to work fine unflashed (beside the lack of a boot screen), I thought that it might be possible to use "RadeonFramebuffer" with a flashed card?