netkas.org forum
August 17, 2019, 02:55:47 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8]
  Print  
Author Topic: How To: EFI GFX+Audio Introduction & Tutorial  (Read 289831 times)
milanca
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #105 on: June 05, 2008, 01:06:12 AM »

Quote
metalchaos:
Could someone please attach the hex for the 8800GTS 320MB ??
PLEASE, I cannot find it anywhere.
The one from the netkas package gives me ./gfxutil: cannot parse gfx data from hex input file

Or please tell me what to modify in the 8800gts640MB plist attached in the first post on this thread

Here it is.. 8800GTS 320MB from my 10.5.3, I excluded my audio (alc889a) and network strings so you can have your working GFX string to start from. Please do not forget to replace device_path PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0) with your own.
Find it with:
Code:
./gfxutil -f display

Had to do a quick edit;-)
5 Stars to MoDs for all his effort in making this extraordinary howto. Cheers!

* 8800GTS_320MB.plist (1.5 KB - downloaded 346 times.)
« Last Edit: June 05, 2008, 01:09:19 AM by milanca » Logged
sWORDs
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 37


« Reply #106 on: June 05, 2008, 10:35:29 AM »

Asus P5K ALC883:
Code:
<key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1b,0x0)</key>
<dict>
<key>PinConfigurations</key>
<string></string>
<key>built-in</key>
<string>0x00</string>
<key>layout-id</key>
<string>0x0000000c</string>
<key>revision-id</key>
<string>0x00000002</string>
<key>subsystem-id</key>
<string>0x0000829f</string>
<key>subsystem-vendor-id</key>
<string>0x00001043</string>
<key>vendor-id</key>
<string>0x00008086</string>
</dict>
« Last Edit: June 05, 2008, 10:56:47 AM by sWORDs » Logged

Gigabyte DS3, Q6600 3GHz (1333MHz bus), 4x 1GB Kingston DDR2 800, Asus 8500GT 512MB, OptiArc 7200S, 3x Samsung 500GB (dual bootable RAID0), CM Stacker 830, Tagan TG530-U22.
Leo4Allv3 + Kalyway 10.5.3 + 10.5.4 9E6 + Chameleon + GFX/ETH devicestrings + Intel ICH9 ACPI kexts + Taruga 889a HDAenabler.
sama7896
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #107 on: June 05, 2008, 10:09:40 PM »

Can someone help me please, can't get the location right, i'm on p5k (flashed to p5kr), have a alc883 audio, attached is the ioreg, but can't figure what my plist should look like Sad Tried the plist from sWords but it does not work....

also, as you can see there is no mention of azalia ..


* Picture 1.png (135.93 KB, 1289x531 - viewed 607 times.)
Logged
sWORDs
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 37


« Reply #108 on: June 06, 2008, 02:52:21 AM »

Can someone help me please, can't get the location right, i'm on p5k (flashed to p5kr), have a alc883 audio, attached is the ioreg, but can't figure what my plist should look like Sad Tried the plist from sWords but it does not work....

also, as you can see there is no mention of azalia ..
It's identical to mine.

Edit:
I've just crossflashed to p5kr aswell, it still works. Are you sure you didn't mess up with your graphics string? And are you using a modified AppleHDA.kext (required)?

There is no mention of azalia for me aswell. I use PCI8086,293e.
« Last Edit: June 06, 2008, 03:32:58 AM by sWORDs » Logged

Gigabyte DS3, Q6600 3GHz (1333MHz bus), 4x 1GB Kingston DDR2 800, Asus 8500GT 512MB, OptiArc 7200S, 3x Samsung 500GB (dual bootable RAID0), CM Stacker 830, Tagan TG530-U22.
Leo4Allv3 + Kalyway 10.5.3 + 10.5.4 9E6 + Chameleon + GFX/ETH devicestrings + Intel ICH9 ACPI kexts + Taruga 889a HDAenabler.
sama7896
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #109 on: June 06, 2008, 05:16:49 AM »

i think i am ... i do have sound as provided by alcinjector. How can i have sound without the modified applehda ?
Thanks for your reply
Logged
bigpoppa
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #110 on: June 06, 2008, 07:38:21 AM »

i think i am ... i do have sound as provided by alcinjector. How can i have sound without the modified applehda ?
Thanks for your reply
Actually, you will need the modified AppleHDA.kext with the EFI string if I have read this thread correctly.
Logged
MoDs
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 42


« Reply #111 on: June 06, 2008, 10:40:36 AM »

i think i am ... i do have sound as provided by alcinjector. How can i have sound without the modified applehda ?
Thanks for your reply
Actually, you will need the modified AppleHDA.kext with the EFI string if I have read this thread correctly.

Not necessarily! I mentioned the AppleHDA Patcher as an example of how you may enable sound on your computer, if you don't have sound! You just have to have a working sound before switching to the  efi method.

MoDs
Logged
sWORDs
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 37


« Reply #112 on: June 06, 2008, 12:41:32 PM »

i think i am ... i do have sound as provided by alcinjector. How can i have sound without the modified applehda ?
Thanks for your reply
Actually, you will need the modified AppleHDA.kext with the EFI string if I have read this thread correctly.

Not necessarily! I mentioned the AppleHDA Patcher as an example of how you may enable sound on your computer, if you don't have sound! You just have to have a working sound before switching to the  efi method.

MoDs
I don't need alcinject anymore, but I do need a modified AppleHDA.kext. Could this be because it's not seen as AZAL?
When using alcinject or EFi it comes up as PCI8086,293e, when using HDEnabler it comes up as HDEF.

Working:
- alcinject
- HDEnabler
- EFI + modified AppleHDA.kext

Not Working:
- OOTB
- Only EFI
- Only modified AppleHDA.kext
« Last Edit: June 06, 2008, 02:05:55 PM by sWORDs » Logged

Gigabyte DS3, Q6600 3GHz (1333MHz bus), 4x 1GB Kingston DDR2 800, Asus 8500GT 512MB, OptiArc 7200S, 3x Samsung 500GB (dual bootable RAID0), CM Stacker 830, Tagan TG530-U22.
Leo4Allv3 + Kalyway 10.5.3 + 10.5.4 9E6 + Chameleon + GFX/ETH devicestrings + Intel ICH9 ACPI kexts + Taruga 889a HDAenabler.
sama7896
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #113 on: June 06, 2008, 04:13:15 PM »

weird thing is i changed the applehda to the one included in ALC882 AppleHDA v0.4b.mpkg, and now it works ! Thanks sWORDs for putting me on the right track. I would still want to know why did it not work with the first one, i had sound enabled than too ...
Here is a sshot of the ioreg with this kext. Looks pretty much the same to me..

One other question, is there any way for the card to be shown in profiler? Now says no built-in audio card



* Picture 2.png (149.86 KB, 1172x554 - viewed 604 times.)
Logged
sWORDs
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 37


« Reply #114 on: June 06, 2008, 05:17:03 PM »

weird thing is i changed the applehda to the one included in ALC882 AppleHDA v0.4b.mpkg, and now it works ! Thanks sWORDs for putting me on the right track. I would still want to know why did it not work with the first one, i had sound enabled than too ...
Here is a sshot of the ioreg with this kext. Looks pretty much the same to me..

One other question, is there any way for the card to be shown in profiler? Now says no built-in audio card


You can trick it by modifying no_info_found in /System/Library/SystemProfiler/SPAudioReporter.spreporter/Contents/Resources/[LANGUAGE].lproj/Localizable.strings. With

Code:
no_info_found = "ASUS P5K Realtek ALC883 High Definition Audio:

 Avaliable Devices:
 Line Out:
 Connection:   1/8 Jack
 Headphones:
 Connection:   1/8 Jack 
 Mic in:
 Connection:   1/8 Jack
 Line in:
 Connection:    1/8 Jack
 Speakers:
 Connection:    1/8 Jack
 S/P-Dif out:
 Connection:    Optical
 S/P-Dif in:
 Connection:    Optical";

With HDAenabler it's PCI0@0 -> HDEF@1B ->


Profiler:
Intel High Definition Audio:

  Apparaatcode:   0x1043829F
  Audiocode:   12
  Beschikbare apparaten:
   
With HDAenabler it shows up in the profiler aswell, but I'm not sure how they do it.
Maybe we could drop the modified kext/Localizable.strings if we modify something in the plist. However the only thing different is PCI0@0 -> HDEF@1B instead of pci8086,293e and the credits (which must be useless).

Modified kext pci8086,293e@1b->


Best working (3 line outs) AppleHDA.kext
« Last Edit: June 08, 2008, 02:39:04 AM by sWORDs » Logged

Gigabyte DS3, Q6600 3GHz (1333MHz bus), 4x 1GB Kingston DDR2 800, Asus 8500GT 512MB, OptiArc 7200S, 3x Samsung 500GB (dual bootable RAID0), CM Stacker 830, Tagan TG530-U22.
Leo4Allv3 + Kalyway 10.5.3 + 10.5.4 9E6 + Chameleon + GFX/ETH devicestrings + Intel ICH9 ACPI kexts + Taruga 889a HDAenabler.
sama7896
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #115 on: June 07, 2008, 07:09:10 PM »

thanks for the tweak on the profiler
Logged
pcwiz
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #116 on: July 09, 2008, 05:51:57 PM »

Maybe you should mention that you don't necessarily need IORegistryExplorer. You can get the same info using the ioreg command built into OS X:

Code:
$ ioreg -p IODeviceTree -n AZAL@1B -r
+-o AZAL@1B  <class IOPCIDevice, registered, matched, active, busy 1, retain 8>
    {
      "IOPCIResourced" = Yes
      "IOInterruptControllers" = ("io-apic-0","IOPCIMessagedInterruptController$
      "IOName" = "pci8086,293e"
      "subsystem-id" = <02a00000>
      "IOPCIExpressLinkCapabilities" = 0
      "IODeviceMemory" = (({"address"=18446744073594208256,"length"=16384}))
      "layout-id" = <0c000000>
      "class-code" = <00030400>
      "IOPowerManagement" = {"ChildrenPowerState"=2,"CurrentPowerState"=2}
      "revision-id" = <02000000>
      "IOInterruptSpecifiers" = (<1600000007000000>,<0300000000000100>)
      "assigned-addresses" = <10d8008200000000000020f90000000000400000>
      "built-in" = <00>
      "acpi-device" = "IOACPIPlatformDevice is not serializable"
      "device-id" = <3e290000>
      "vendor-id" = <86800000>
      "acpi-path" = "IOACPIPlane:/_SB/PCI0@0/AZAL@1b0000"
      "subsystem-vendor-id" = <58140000>
      "name" = "pci8086,293e"
      "IOPCIExpressLinkStatus" = 0
      "reg" = <00d800000000000000000000000000000000000010d800020000000000000000$
      "compatible" = <"pci1458,a002","pci8086,293e","pciclass,040300">
      "PinConfigurations" = <104011011220010111600101141001013099a1013f90a10231$
    }
   

$
Logged
MoDs
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 42


« Reply #117 on: July 09, 2008, 10:11:01 PM »

Maybe you should mention that you don't necessarily need IORegistryExplorer. You can get the same info using the ioreg command built into OS X:

Code:
$ ioreg -p IODeviceTree -n AZAL@1B -r
+-o AZAL@1B  <class IOPCIDevice, registered, matched, active, busy 1, retain 8>
    {
      "IOPCIResourced" = Yes
      "IOInterruptControllers" = ("io-apic-0","IOPCIMessagedInterruptController$
      "IOName" = "pci8086,293e"
      "subsystem-id" = <02a00000>
      "IOPCIExpressLinkCapabilities" = 0
      "IODeviceMemory" = (({"address"=18446744073594208256,"length"=16384}))
      "layout-id" = <0c000000>
      "class-code" = <00030400>
      "IOPowerManagement" = {"ChildrenPowerState"=2,"CurrentPowerState"=2}
      "revision-id" = <02000000>
      "IOInterruptSpecifiers" = (<1600000007000000>,<0300000000000100>)
      "assigned-addresses" = <10d8008200000000000020f90000000000400000>
      "built-in" = <00>
      "acpi-device" = "IOACPIPlatformDevice is not serializable"
      "device-id" = <3e290000>
      "vendor-id" = <86800000>
      "acpi-path" = "IOACPIPlane:/_SB/PCI0@0/AZAL@1b0000"
      "subsystem-vendor-id" = <58140000>
      "name" = "pci8086,293e"
      "IOPCIExpressLinkStatus" = 0
      "reg" = <00d800000000000000000000000000000000000010d800020000000000000000$
      "compatible" = <"pci1458,a002","pci8086,293e","pciclass,040300">
      "PinConfigurations" = <104011011220010111600101141001013099a1013f90a10231$
    }
   

$

True, but this tutorial was targeted for experts *and* beginners. I think the IORegistryExplorer approach is easier than using the ioreg command line.

Anyways, I appreciate  your help Smiley

MoDs
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!