netkas.org forum

General Category => Rom things => Topic started by: icemac on June 23, 2012, 01:15:08 AM



Title: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: icemac on June 23, 2012, 01:15:08 AM
Edit:This guide can be used for pretty much any radeon card all you need is the efi rom and an original pc rom to combine it with for your card, or where available you can get a genuine mac radeon rom and then you can skip the rom creator part.

Hey not sure if there is already a guide like this but i was having some problems with my card so i decided to re-flash it and here is a step by step.

Disclaimer:
I take no responsibility for any breaking of graphics cards or mistakes, i only post this guide as a guidline to users who know they are capable of this, because it took me a good 4 hours of googling and such to get all the stuff i needed and error fixing.

This Guide is for Mac Pro users, you can use some of the parts as a PC flashing guide mostly the bottom part.
Things you will need:
1-2 hours
Blank cd/dvd
Small dos partition or a bootcamp partition


1. Get a updated rom for your card either straight from the manufacturers site or from http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/index.php?page=1&architecture=ATI&manufacturer=&model=HD+6970&interface=&memSize=0 (http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/index.php?page=1&architecture=ATI&manufacturer=&model=HD+6970&interface=&memSize=0) (this is where i got mine)

2. Get netkas 6970 Efi http://forum.netkas.org/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=1118.0;attach=928 (http://forum.netkas.org/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=1118.0;attach=928)

3. Get Netkas Rom Creator http://netkas.org/?p=943 (http://netkas.org/?p=943)

4. Open Rom creator and select Your downloaded Bios in the select Bios Rom box and select Netkas Efi in the select Efi rom box then click create Rom
Tip name the file something short and only one word for easier DOS use (i used 6970.rom)

5. Download Atiflash http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2099/ATIFlash_3.95.html (http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2099/ATIFlash_3.95.html)

6. Copy your new Rom file and atiflash.exe to a DOS/bootcamp partition

7. Now download Free DOS ftp://ftp.ibiblio.org/pub/micro/pc-stuff/freedos/files/distributions/1.0/fdbasecd.iso (http://ftp://ftp.ibiblio.org/pub/micro/pc-stuff/freedos/files/distributions/1.0/fdbasecd.iso) and burn the image to a cd or dvd with Disk Utility(Images menu and select Burn and locate fdbasecd.iso the free DOS image)

8. Assuming you have done everything above, Insert the free DOS cd you just burned and restart you computer holding down C in the startup to boot Free DOS,
You will get a menu up select the Top option
(http://ethertubes.com/wp-content/uploads/wdtler4-300x225.png)
I then selected install -> English -> Exit to command Prompt

9. You should now be in DOS and should be greated by a black screen and a C:\ or X:\
For me C: was my bootcamp partition but it might be D: or even E: for you easiest way to find yours is just type one of the above and hit enter then type DIR that should bring up a directory of the files on the drive you have accessed if you see atiflash EXE and your romfile 6970.rom or what ever you named it you are now in the right place.

10. Now the scary part :P Type atiflash -i    This command should bring you a list of your PCI-E devices Locate you graphics Card which should be called Cayman or ati Cayman and the number of the port it is in, mine was 0 but yours could be 1 or 2 or something else as well.

11. Now Type atiflash -unlockrom 0 (this number should be the port number of your card 0 having been mine)
It's should then give you a message Rom Unlocked and return you to C:\

12. The Flashing: I had a command from another site the went like this: ( atiflash -p -fs -fp 0 your_original_rom_file_name ) you can try this command first as it is a safe command which will check your roms validity and compatability this command did however not work for me and gave me a ERROR 0FL01.

The Command i used was: atiflash -p -f (your port number) (Your rom file name)      Example : atiflash -p -f 0 6970.rom
(this command force flashes the card so make sure you have the correct Bios when you make you EFI rom with rom creator)
Flashing takes only a couple of second and you should then be promted by a series of lines

Device id
new device id

and so on, don't be worried if it doesn't say anything behind those it didn't for me and it is probably a resault of the EFI hybridizing.

13. That's it assuming you followed all the instructions you should now be able to reboot to a sexy Apple logo gray screen ( note you may need to hold down option in startup and select your mac os x partition to boot back to mac os x)


Hope your flashing goes well


Title: Re: Flash AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: mac-bitch on June 23, 2012, 12:59:38 PM
Safe yourself some trouble and obtain a cayman card with a bios switch. Toggle the switch towards the display outputs (position 1); this is where the unlocked bios sits.

(http://www.chip.de/ii/1/0/1/8/3/6/3/8/gpu-z-6970-6fbaf5baf6c69430.jpg)

Download this bios using "atiflash -s 0(your-graphics-adapter-number) BIOS.ROM 20000.
Use this BIOS.ROM file to stitch the efi onto it. Then you do not have to force-flash anything.
Just flash with "atiflash -p 0 EFI.ROM".

If anything went wrong now simply toggle the switch to position "2" and restart. Then the card uses a locked backup bios.


Title: Re: Flash AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: icemac on June 23, 2012, 02:07:41 PM
Safe yourself some trouble and obtain a cayman card with a bios switch. Toggle the switch towards the display outputs (position 1); this is where the unlocked bios sits.

(http://www.chip.de/ii/1/0/1/8/3/6/3/8/gpu-z-6970-6fbaf5baf6c69430.jpg)

Download this bios using "atiflash -s 0(your-graphics-adapter-number) BIOS.ROM 20000.
Use this BIOS.ROM file to stitch the efi onto it. Then you do not have to force-flash anything.
Just flash with "atiflash -p 0 EFI.ROM".

If anything went wrong now simply toggle the switch to position "2" and restart. Then the card uses a locked backup bios.

Good idea but kinda harder when you already have a card that doesn't have one :P


Title: Re: Flash AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: mac-bitch on June 23, 2012, 02:56:25 PM
Safe yourself some trouble and obtain a cayman card with a bios switch. Toggle the switch towards the display outputs (position 1); this is where the unlocked bios sits.

(http://www.chip.de/ii/1/0/1/8/3/6/3/8/gpu-z-6970-6fbaf5baf6c69430.jpg)

Download this bios using "atiflash -s 0(your-graphics-adapter-number) BIOS.ROM 20000.
Use this BIOS.ROM file to stitch the efi onto it. Then you do not have to force-flash anything.
Just flash with "atiflash -p 0 EFI.ROM".

If anything went wrong now simply toggle the switch to position "2" and restart. Then the card uses a locked backup bios.

Good idea but kinda harder when you already have a card that doesn't have one :P

True :).


Title: Re: Flash AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: etc on June 23, 2012, 03:00:13 PM
ATIWinFlash is much easier.


Title: Re: Flash AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: mac-bitch on June 23, 2012, 03:11:37 PM
ATIWinFlash is much easier.

Maybe, but nothing is more unstable than a Windows environment. I do not trust windows beyond booting it for casual gaming sessions.


Title: Re: Flash AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: icemac on June 23, 2012, 03:28:29 PM
ATIWinFlash is much easier.

Maybe, but nothing is more unstable than a Windows environment. I do not trust windows beyond booting it for casual gaming sessions.

I agree i already lost a SSD drive cause windows froze up while updating the firmware, plus if you don't already have a windows install this free dos method is super fast.


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: Rominator on June 24, 2012, 10:17:28 PM
Thank you for posting this.

I saw that FreeDos fish many times in art flashing.

I now have a dedicated PCIE PC with a USB stick full'o'dos and roms

But for people with just a Mac Pro, this is great.

I agree that getting a reference 6950/70 with that switch is best possible choice, but after initial run of cards they started "decontenting".

That switch and 2nd EEPROM were some of first things to go.

I doubt the there are any new 6950s still shipping with them.

Thanks again !!!


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: Giskard on June 26, 2012, 04:09:45 AM
Cool!  Are there any compatiblity issues with the 6970 in a Mac Pro, or does it work just like a flashed 6870?


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: icemac on June 26, 2012, 01:31:02 PM
Unigine benchmark has some weird green screen issue but so far i haven't had that issue in any games very strange.
Other then that i've not had any issues really except a overheating issue but i found out that is a problem with the brand i bought which i fixed by editing the fan settings in the Bios.

Edit:
Well apparently i haven't fixed the overheating issue since something in osx keeps reseting the bios fan setting even now when i flashed it to keep the fans at 100% as soon as the os loads right after the gray apple screen boom fans go slow motion.

Brand is Gigabyte GV-697OC-2GD


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: Giskard on June 27, 2012, 01:03:23 AM
I've got a Visiontek on the way, I'll post the results once I've tried to flash it. 


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: whyme466 on July 26, 2012, 07:05:19 PM
Unfortunately, with my Mac Pro 5,1, I encounter the same loss of OS boot screen with Snow Lion/10.8 after flashing that I originally encountered with 10.7 (see http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,1118.msg7511.html#msg7511).  So, this hybrid EFI ROM version is still unusable in my system, and I must still rely upon 2 graphics cards in my Mac Pro.  My 2 GPU approach (one fully Apple supported, but minimal footprint GPU; one state of art Windows GPU) appears to be losing more support from Apple, though.

In fact, when I restore my original factory (non-EFI) ROM, Snow Lion/10.8 immediately crashes during startup - unless 6970 is removed (10.7 did not work, but it did not crash). With the newer Mac Pro 6,1's missing option for a single, small profile GPU like the GT120, Apple appears to be enforcing use of Apple only graphics cards.  I have contacted Apple and strongly encouraged a more current graphics GPU option for the Mac Pro than the 5870.


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: Rominator on July 26, 2012, 08:55:18 PM
Unfortunately, with my Mac Pro 5,1, I encounter the same loss of OS boot screen with Snow Lion/10.8 after flashing that I originally encountered with 10.7 (see http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,1118.msg7511.html#msg7511).  So, this hybrid EFI ROM version is still unusable in my system, and I must still rely upon 2 graphics cards in my Mac Pro.  My 2 GPU approach (one fully Apple supported, but minimal footprint GPU; one state of art Windows GPU) appears to be losing more support from Apple, though.

In fact, when I restore my original factory (non-EFI) ROM, Snow Lion/10.8 immediately crashes during startup - unless 6970 is removed (10.7 did not work, but it did not crash). With the newer Mac Pro 6,1's missing option for a single, small profile GPU like the GT120, Apple appears to be enforcing use of Apple only graphics cards.  I have contacted Apple and strongly encouraged a more current graphics GPU option for the Mac Pro than the 5870.

I am sorry nobody pointed this out before but if you don't get a boot screen, it has NOTHING WHATSOEVER to do with which OS you are using.

It just means you didn't put the EFI together right.

When the power button is hit, the machine polls all connected devices, if a useable EFI driver is found, the device turns on. If you are connected via lower DVI port ONLY and don't have a boot screen, then you probably used 6950 EFI with 6970 BIOS or some other error. On an EFI64 Mac, you should see the boot screen via lower DVI port even with no Hard Drives or OS connected.


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: whyme466 on July 26, 2012, 11:17:17 PM
Thanks for response, Rominator.

I already thought the problem was not OS related, since the boot screen precedes any OS launch.  I carefully performed every step listed by icemac again, downloading every source file and creating a new boot DVD for flashing.  For a second time, I still cannot obtain a boot screen with the flashed ROM.  This flashed ROM works in Bootcamp (PC gaming, for example), but I cannot boot up either 10.6.7 or 10.8 OS.  If I return to the original 6970 ROM version, the start-up OS boot screen reappears, and I can easily boot between 10.6.7 and Bootcamp.


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: Rominator on July 27, 2012, 12:25:06 AM
  If I return to the original 6970 ROM version, the start-up OS boot screen reappears, and I can easily boot between 10.6.7 and Bootcamp.

???

Are you saying that you get a boot screen on 6970 when it DOESN'T have EFI rom?

makes no sense at all.

Do you understand that 6950 and 6070 have different device id's and require different EFI?


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: whyme466 on July 27, 2012, 03:02:48 AM
See my original posting in 6970 efi discussion.  I have 2 graphics cards in my configuration: (EFI) GT120 driving 30 in Apple Cinema Display (boot screen generally appears on this display, Dual Link DVI connection), and (non-EFI) HD6970 for HDMI 1.4a connection to Panasonic 50VT25 3D display (viewed from 3 feet).  I (unsuccessfully) attempted to flash this 6970 card.  I also have/use a newer HD7970, but I do not really need the 7970 until 2 3D display issues are resolved, preventing 3D Eyefinity configurations using large 3D HDTVs.  I am not aware of any EFI support for the 7970 yet, so a GT120 would still be required for booting Mac OS .  I would prefer to use only one graphics card, eventually.

I believe the blank screens are caused by confusion between the 2 graphics cards and their display assignments. I have not tried reconnecting the displays to other interface connectors after flashing, however.

Update:  Reflashed 6970 rom with efi version from this discussion, and displayed all DVI connections in search for missing startup Apple boot screen.  Unfortunately, boot screen still not available from either GT120 or EFI-flashed 6970 hardware.  Had to remove flashed 6970 to continue, since default OS boot was Snow Lion.  With only GT120 in computer, Snow Lion booted right away, and reported system crash (Snow Lion seems to crash with 6970 in backplane, using either Sapphire factory or netkas-based EFI roms, at least in my computer). Restored factory settings for 6970, and OS booting via (Apple) GT120.


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: icemac on July 28, 2012, 10:22:19 AM
I read in the other thread you are using a sapphire card try flashing it using this rom.


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: whyme466 on July 29, 2012, 03:39:29 PM
Thanks for the file, icemac.

Unfortunately, same result - I cannot obtain Apple boot screen on either display (Panasonic - connected to 6970 HDMI, and Cinema Display - connected to either GT 120 DVI or either HD 6970 DVI connector), unless I restore the original ROM data.  An ideal efi flashed rom would co-exist with another efi-based graphics card.  I should note that during the repeated hardware flashing process, the DOS boot screen would occasionally appear on the Panasonic display (via HDMI connection), rather than the usual Cinema Display.


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: Rominator on July 29, 2012, 10:08:09 PM
Past experience is what you should be considering here.

The lower DVI port is the ONLY legacy port that can be connected if you want to see DVI boot screen.

So no other DVI/VGA/HDMI connections made.

And you need to be sure the EFI device id is same as the BIOS device id.


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: krysstoff on April 01, 2013, 11:49:58 PM
Hello,

i flash my sapphire HD6970 2gb with 2x Mini display port, 1x hdmi, 2 dvi ; but i have a problem, that don't work on 10.8.3 and no apple grey screen on boot.

i boot with freedos and atiflash on bootcamp partition, i verify with atiflash -i

i save myrom.rom with atiflash -s 0 myrom.rom 20000

and use romcreator and 6970.efi.rom to add efi at myrom.rom, all seem alright, no error.

and i reboot with freedos, i unlockrom with atiflash -unlockrom 0

and i flash with atiflash -f -p 0 myrom.rom

and don't work, black screen and reboot all the time. On bootcamp and windows, running 3 screens without problems,

what i do wrong ?

any idea ?


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: Rominator on April 02, 2013, 12:19:28 AM
You have left out the most important part.

WHAT ROM DID YOU FLASH WITH ?

Where did it come from?

How did you make it?

Did you save your original ROM first?

How are we supposed to guess all of this?


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: krysstoff on April 02, 2013, 12:43:23 AM
yes

1- i save rom first

2. Get netkas 6970 Efi http://forum.netkas.org/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=1118.0;attach=928

3. Get Netkas Rom Creator http://netkas.org/?p=943

4. Open Rom creator and select Your downloaded Bios in the select Bios Rom box and select Netkas Efi in the select Efi rom box then click create Rom
Tip name the file something short and only one word for easier DOS use (i used efi.rom)

5. i flash my card with atiflash -p -f 0 efi.rom

there is dual bios with a switch on my hd6970

i do an atiflash -checkpn to check if are the same PN.

i do atiflash -ai

i see hybrid rom on image 1

all seem good

efi6970.rom = the rom i use to flash my card, i create it with my original rom (6970.rom) and romcreator with 6970.efi.rom

sorry for my bad english


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: krysstoff on April 02, 2013, 01:07:09 AM
You have left out the most important part.

WHAT ROM DID YOU FLASH WITH ?

Where did it come from?

How did you make it?

Did you save your original ROM first?

How are we supposed to guess all of this?

i tell you i save myrom with atiflash, and i use romcreator !


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: jmaynard on July 10, 2014, 12:53:53 AM
So I was going to follow these instructions on my shiny new 6970.

Unfortunately, Netkas ROM Creator seems to have disappeared.

Where do I find it? Or is there another way to create the ROM?


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: Nur710 on August 05, 2014, 10:19:40 AM
What about HD 6950? Is it the same way?


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: Bunga-Bunga on September 21, 2014, 12:47:57 PM
Hello,

all links to romcreator.zip are dead. Can anyone send me the .zip?


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: reyne on June 12, 2015, 03:38:08 AM
Bump.

Anyone here kind enough to upload a copy of the old Netkas app please?

Thanks!

Hello,

all links to romcreator.zip are dead. Can anyone send me the .zip?


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: JebusKrist on July 29, 2015, 09:46:18 PM
Just curious if anyone has a working 6970 rom they could send? I tried Sapphire6970efi.rom as well as efi6970.rom from this thread both with the same results kernel panics and other oddities. The card itself is a standard Sapphire 6970. Thanks


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: Rominator on July 29, 2015, 09:55:57 PM
the efi part doesn't change, you just need to put your PC BIOS with it

reason I quit bothering with 6970 was with various OS updates it would work or get broken, you may need to do whatever the fix was to make it work

I forgot long ago when I sold mine off

good luck


Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: weyerma on September 28, 2015, 10:28:15 AM
Hi all

Can someone upload the Netkas Rom Creator again ?
Links are dead :-(



Title: Re: Guide for Flashing AMD Radeon HD 6970 in your Mac Pro
Post by: silverlight2008 on January 08, 2019, 11:06:55 AM
sorry to dig out the old thread...
but... i´m flashing a gigabyte hd6970 oc 2gb rev.1 (GV-R697OC-2GD https://www.gigabyte.com/us/Graphics-Card/GV-R697OC-2GD?fbclid=IwAR3rrgJiUE0Ul9Ysm3ZhYBQnXSfXF8RQa9EGlkzEN9b_09eHCUq6h7C5B2A#ov ) using the guide from #1.
have found an archive with the rom creator :D (for anybody in the attachment)

yesterday creating a rom. first tryed a saved rom from atiflash-4.17 under dos (freedos) with the unflashed card. no errors logged. rom done with lion 10.7.5 on my mac pro 1,1/2,1 (upgraded)
result: black screen, running fans. (power from logicboard 6pin and from optical bay with adaptor molex to 8pin)
today flashed another rom, now created with a rom (yesterday) saved under win with gpu-z with the unflashed card. used rom creator under el capitan, no errors logged.

in both cases no new id and so on. (picture attached) => you can see what i have done for flashing.

what i made wrong ?
have anybody a matching patched rom ? maybe icemac ?