netkas.org forum

General Category => OSX and Graphics Cards => Topic started by: Rominator on June 06, 2018, 11:45:34 PM



Title: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: Rominator on June 06, 2018, 11:45:34 PM
Hey, so I haven't seen a lot of people (as in just me and 1 or 2 others) post info about 10.14 on cMP 4,1/5,1.

When I have tried it boots, but on my machine the Finder crashes over and over. System Preferences mostly crash too, some work. System Profiler works so you can get some nice screen shots and see Metal support on cards so that is good enough for me.

Nobody else has posted the Finder crashing thing so maybe it's just me?

Oddly enough, I tried on 2011 iMac that has unsupported 6970. Desktop is all glitchy and obviously there is no acceleration but Finder works and so do System Preferences.

So let's get some more info going.

And it's super easy to make it work if you have a supported machine to install on. Once the install is done, make sure SIP is "off" on your cMP. Reboot your supported machine into High Sierra and copy the Platform Support.plist from /System/Library/CoreServices from High Sierra to Mojave. No need to tinker with it, just replace it. Should work with anything that worked on High Sierra.

If High Sierra worked, now Mojave will.  

I used a SATA drive with USB3 adapter, but you can be creative. Curious how it works for others.


Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: alloverclover on June 07, 2018, 10:57:26 AM
Can confirm finder was constantly crashing running the 10.14 Beta on a 5,1, pretty unusable at the moment.


Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: Rominator on June 07, 2018, 11:02:16 AM
Try clicking on stuff in dock.

Once you get something running other than Finder running you can choose "About This Mac" and see what it has to say about GPU.


Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: alloverclover on June 07, 2018, 11:05:55 AM
Thanks, I found opening System preferences worked for me. Just wanted to have a nosey around really.


Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: Zodi on June 10, 2018, 05:19:04 PM
Hmm, if I try to install Mojave i get the message: "not possible to install on this computer"
I've a MacPro4.1 flashed to 5.1

Is i a bug or feature ???

  Modellname:   Mac Pro
  Modell-Identifizierung:   MacPro5,1
  Prozessortyp:   6-Core Intel Xeon
  Prozessorgeschwindigkeit:   3,06 GHz
  Anzahl der Prozessoren:   2
  Gesamtanzahl der Kerne:   12
  L2-Cache (pro Kern):   256 KB
  L3-Cache (pro Prozessor):   12 MB
  Speicher:   48 GB
  Geschwindigkeit für Prozessorverbindungstyp:   6,4 GT/s
  Boot-ROM-Version:   MP51.0087.B00
  SMC-Version (System):   1.39f5
  SMC-Version (Prozessormodul):   1.39f5


Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: lowrider on June 10, 2018, 06:31:54 PM
^^^^Mojave is not yet ready for a cMP 5,1.  That capability will bo coming later for machines that have been upgraded with a metal capable GPU.

Lou


Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: Rominator on June 10, 2018, 06:41:55 PM
Hmm, if I try to install Mojave i get the message: "not possible to install on this computer"
I've a MacPro4.1 flashed to 5.1

Is i a bug or feature ???


PLease take a moment and read first post.


Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: Zodi on June 10, 2018, 09:53:34 PM
Sorry Rominator,
I read the fist post, but I couldn't imagine that my Mac is
one of the unsupported Mac's..
Is is like a blind spot to recognise how old my MacPro is..

Hope for the 10.14 beta2 or beta3 and for a new and modern MacPro mid 2019

Regards Zodi

P.S. I'm a little bit disappointed about the strategies of the new Apple leadership


Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP DP2 has Finder working !
Post by: Rominator on June 20, 2018, 11:12:36 AM
Definitely moving toward cMP working well.

First DP had Finder crashing a few dozen times per minute.

Now it stays running.

Getting there.

BTW, super-duper easy way to run Mojave on 4,1/5,1 is to install on another machine (supported) and copy the platformsupport.plist from 10.10. or other earlier OSX. 10.10 would also include 3,1 and X-Serve.


Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: netkas on June 20, 2018, 12:08:02 PM
just remove paltformsupport.plist completely


Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: netkas on June 20, 2018, 04:06:47 PM
is windows still booting after installing beta2?

http://netkas.org/?p=1472


Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: Zodi on June 23, 2018, 11:09:55 AM
I'm not able to download beta2 :-(


Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: Rominator on June 23, 2018, 11:11:55 AM
On 3,1 with APFS mod I got to Mojave desktop, looked great, but as I reached for mouse it rebooted.

But fact it got to desktop indicates it's doable to me.


Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: Zodi on June 23, 2018, 11:28:14 AM
i've around 10 different Mac's in my house, but not one is able to download beta2  ???


Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: Spacedust on July 05, 2018, 07:35:13 PM
Watch out if have Bootcamp partition on the same drive. It killed MBR on my Bootcamp partition so I wasn't able to boot anymore.

Solution is to place 16 GB SSD just for MBR inside second optical bay.

I've also moved Mojave from APFS back to HFS+ to be able to switch it from Windows (and read it).


Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: RogueFive on July 05, 2018, 08:55:14 PM
cMP 5,1 here running PB1, had to pull vanilla AMD 5770 due to lack of Metal support, replaced with EFI-flashed 7950 (main gfx is a RX580)
Zero issues during upgrade or after. I've seen the netkas beta2 post ... I assume that relates to DP2, which should be identical to PB1, no issue getting into W10 via boot screen.

Guess I should consider myself lucky ...?


Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: nmano on July 09, 2018, 01:18:21 AM
Unsupported CPU worked for me without SSE 4.2
Just replace
10.13.4 file to 10.14
com.apple.telemetry.plugin
/System/Library/UserEventPlugins/com.apple.telemetry.plugin



Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: Rominator on July 10, 2018, 09:39:49 PM
nmano, to be clear you are on Hackintosh, yes?


Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: netkas on July 11, 2018, 08:38:59 AM
that make cmp 3,1 to work with Mojave
I have tried.
but everything is slow, yorkfield core can't handle that.


Title: Re: Mojave 10.14 on cMP
Post by: nmano on July 18, 2018, 10:20:11 PM
nmano, to be clear you are on Hackintosh, yes?
Yes Its hackintosh please look
https://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/334898-pre-release-macos-mojave/?do=findComment&comment=2624866