netkas.org forum

General Category => Rom things => Topic started by: thestraycat on January 14, 2017, 06:12:21 PM



Title: Mac Pro 4.1 board in a Mac Pro 5.1?
Post by: thestraycat on January 14, 2017, 06:12:21 PM
Hi guys,

strange one..

I've got a mac pro 5.1 and would like to use a 4.1 board in it... it's running 2 x 2.26ghz quad cpu's and it does POST with the 4.1 board in but the fan run at 100% could i run the upgrade to sort the fans out do you think?

anyone tried it?


Title: Re: Mac Pro 4.1 board in a Mac Pro 5.1?
Post by: Bunga-Bunga on January 14, 2017, 10:51:51 PM
No, not possible.

Problem are the two SMCs, one on the cpu-tray and second on backplane, which have different versions. No way to up- or downgrade the SMCs, so you can't combine the parts. Please sell the tray and try to get a "real" 5.1-tray.


Title: Re: Mac Pro 4.1 board in a Mac Pro 5.1?
Post by: thestraycat on January 14, 2017, 10:54:06 PM
But as it does actually boot with the 4.1 tray in it and gets into el capitan... couldnt i run the firmware updater to get the firmware up to 5.1?

I was thinking that both would then match?


Title: Re: Mac Pro 4.1 board in a Mac Pro 5.1?
Post by: tomtomgps on January 16, 2017, 01:20:50 AM
from what I understand these cpu boards have their own firmware which is independent of what firmware you have on your Mac Pro. There is no practical way of getting it to work well. It might boot but I had read that the fans would spin at full speed. If you have a 5.1 you need a 5.1 board.


Title: Re: Mac Pro 4.1 board in a Mac Pro 5.1?
Post by: EvilMonk on January 18, 2017, 12:32:04 AM
I tested it and you can't, I answered this question on the last 2 pages of the 4,1 to 5,1 mac pro firmware utility... I have a 2009 and a 2010 Mac Pro and tried it, it never worked without the fans running at full speed. Many other users on the forum reported the same problem. The SMC on the 2009 is 1.39F5 and on the 2010 is 1.39F11, many people tried to tweak the firmware update utility or make tools to flash the 1.39F11 on the 2009 CPU board but it never worked.


Title: Re: Mac Pro 4.1 board in a Mac Pro 5.1?
Post by: dijitalitrx on February 03, 2017, 12:10:14 AM
Just out of interest, would it be possible to program the smc chips with one of these:

http://m.ebay.com/itm/230974573263 (http://m.ebay.com/itm/230974573263)


Title: Re: Mac Pro 4.1 board in a Mac Pro 5.1?
Post by: EvilMonk on February 10, 2017, 04:29:53 AM
Just out of interest, would it be possible to program the smc chips with one of these:

http://m.ebay.com/itm/230974573263 (http://m.ebay.com/itm/230974573263)
No idea I know some people tried to get the smc but there was never an official project...


Title: Re: Mac Pro 4.1 board in a Mac Pro 5.1?
Post by: Bunga-Bunga on June 02, 2017, 11:21:37 PM
No, because the SMCs are in a BGA-housing with no accessible contacts. And i guess the programming-software is also proprietary, developed by the manufacturer.


Title: Re: Mac Pro 4.1 board in a Mac Pro 5.1?
Post by: Rominator on June 05, 2017, 12:55:29 AM
One of my 4,1s recently needed a new logic board

I got one on Ebay months ago, they guy asked if I wanted it left flashed as a 5,1 or downgraded back to 4,1.

I told him leave as 5,1

When I finally got around to installing it, it turns out it was a real & true 5,1.

Only way to fix the roaring fans was to jam pencils in all of them and run an external fan through the thing.

Finally got a 5,1 CPU tray for $100 and fixed it.

Would be great if someone figured put how to flash the SMC (like can be done on 1,1)


Title: Re: Mac Pro 4.1 board in a Mac Pro 5.1?
Post by: brockbackups on June 15, 2017, 10:40:24 PM
If apple releases a new firmware for the 2010 models to support APFS, do you guys plan on remaking your 4,1 to 5,1 flasher to use the latest firmware?


Title: Re: Mac Pro 4.1 board in a Mac Pro 5.1?
Post by: netkas on June 20, 2017, 08:57:35 PM
from what I've found:

apfs.efi driver is embeded into apfs guid partition (in fact it's container for apfs volumes inside of it)

apfs.efi is signed, if you modify a single byte in it, efi stops loading it.

also this functionality arrived in efi update which came together with 10.12.4 update.


Title: Re: Mac Pro 4.1 board in a Mac Pro 5.1?
Post by: Lxixboss on January 06, 2018, 01:16:44 PM
I know this is an old thread but since my question applies to this precise topic, I thought it would be acceptable to revive it.
From what I have read on this and other sites, it appears that the only ill effect of swapping processor trays between Mac Pro 4,1 and 5,1 computers (provided the 4,1's firmware has been updated to 5,1 status) is that the system's various fans will run at full speed. If this is indeed the only ill effect, will a utility such as Mac's Fan Control solve the problem?


Title: Re: Mac Pro 4.1 board in a Mac Pro 5.1?
Post by: h9826790 on January 09, 2018, 11:20:57 PM
I know this is an old thread but since my question applies to this precise topic, I thought it would be acceptable to revive it.
From what I have read on this and other sites, it appears that the only ill effect of swapping processor trays between Mac Pro 4,1 and 5,1 computers (provided the 4,1's firmware has been updated to 5,1 status) is that the system's various fans will run at full speed. If this is indeed the only ill effect, will a utility such as Mac's Fan Control solve the problem?

No, because MacsFanControl actually control the fans via SMC. And the fans will run at full speed because SMC now is not working. Therefore, most likely no existing software can control the fan.