netkas.org forum

General Category => Rom things => Topic started by: netkas on September 03, 2011, 07:16:30 PM



Title: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: netkas on September 03, 2011, 07:16:30 PM
As usual, macpro, 6970, ability to flash card.

first, make card working - http://netkas.org/?p=959

if you use package in comments there, make sure to remove ATY_Init.kext before rebooting.

second, once somebody appears I will provide efirom, use ROmCreator to create rom, then flash with atiflash with -f flag.


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: andystubbs on September 04, 2011, 04:20:27 AM
You can use this package http://www.mediafire.com/?j891jqaqji9pyjb instead, it's the same but does NOT contain the ATY_Init.kext.


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: andystubbs on September 04, 2011, 04:27:38 AM
Just to clear up any confusion - I built 2 packages, one with ATY_Init and one without.

Standard Package (Without ATY_Init)  = http://www.mediafire.com/?j891jqaqji9pyjb

Native package (With ATY_Init) = http://www.mediafire.com/?328zmdddhio9rm5

Both will install Netkas' fix and the latest ATi drivers - the ONLY difference is the ATY_Init.kext.

On a hackintosh you can use either package provided you have compiled chameleon with 6970 support and use graphicsenabler, if you dont have support in chameleon for 6970 or do not use graphicsenabler then you need to use the native package, if you do have support in chameleon and do use graphicsenabler then use the standard package.

On a genuine Mac you need to follow Netkas' advice so use the Standard package and NOT the Native one.

Hope that helps!


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: pol982002 on September 04, 2011, 01:40:13 PM
Mac pro 5.1
I can use my card to test
It 6950 flashed do 6970


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: pol982002 on September 04, 2011, 07:31:59 PM
i borrow 6970 ready for test


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: netkas on September 04, 2011, 09:57:17 PM
What is your device-id of card ?

if its 0x6718, like normal 6970 has then try attached efi.rom, use RomCreator I released earlier to create hybrid rom.



Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: pol982002 on September 05, 2011, 11:27:12 AM
hi
I make rom easy thing

But i have bigger problem discover the 6970 have one 8 pin pci e power connector i don't have it just ordered 2days for delivery :(

but my 6950 have 2 x 6pin connector

maybe master netkas can make file for id 6719 i will start testing 6950


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: pol982002 on September 05, 2011, 12:49:27 PM
my idea to power 6970 1x6 pin 1x 8 pin in mac pro 5.1

1. bridge 2 x pci e power cable from mainboard to one 6 pin power cable
2. 2 x sata power cable adapter to amolex
3. 2 amolex to 6 pin cable > 6pin to 8 pin adapter


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: netkas on September 05, 2011, 05:39:37 PM
2 MOLEX to 1 6-pin + 1 6-pin to 1 8-pin should be enough.


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: netkas on September 05, 2011, 05:45:06 PM
6950 efi rom


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: pol982002 on September 05, 2011, 07:18:28 PM
Upgrade Rom on 6950 easy thing
No boot screen I check 2 mDp and 2x dvi
System some times freeze on loading
But white screen + apple logo on middle
I try reinstall my system to many crap on it
More result in 2h


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: pol982002 on September 05, 2011, 07:23:09 PM
ati 6950


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: netkas on September 05, 2011, 07:51:29 PM
I have one more rom to try for boot screen.

for bootscreen, check only with one dvi connected (the one on line with mdps)


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: pol982002 on September 05, 2011, 09:00:20 PM
Great i will check in next 1h
Finishing installing osx
Fresh install maybe this will help 


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: pol982002 on September 06, 2011, 02:07:26 AM
The same thing no boot screen


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: cargo on September 06, 2011, 08:55:19 AM
I tested it with 6970 2GB.
flashed a hybrid rom and only pluged 6970 in mac pro 4,1==>got boot logo but can't boot to desktop,it freeze at boot logo.
plug both cards (GT-120 and 6970), then can see the graphics info.
6970 is reference card.
Uncle Netaks,please make 6970 efi rom  better,I want 6970 works on mac pro 4,1?
Many thanks.


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: netkas on September 06, 2011, 10:22:17 AM
its not efirom problem, its driver, freeze at white-gray screen happens on first boot, you have to reboot then and works better.


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: cargo on September 06, 2011, 05:36:15 PM
its not efirom problem, its driver, freeze at white-gray screen happens on first boot, you have to reboot then and works better.

Uncle Netkas:
I copied ATIRadeonX3000 to where you said.
Still freeze.


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: netkas on September 06, 2011, 08:32:59 PM
(http://blastmagazine.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/facepalm.jpg)


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: andystubbs on September 06, 2011, 09:01:20 PM
(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-SLhcQfuSGcE/TbC9VER0R9I/AAAAAAAAAB8/l4Wio43GSIA/s1600/facepalm_picard2.jpg)


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: Cindori on September 06, 2011, 09:05:08 PM
(http://media24.onsugar.com/files/ons1/279/2797639/18_2009/d73d51948c128337_JagsFanMatt-DoubleFacepalmRickerPicard.xxlarge.jpg)


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: cargo on September 07, 2011, 01:59:23 AM
(http://media24.onsugar.com/files/ons1/279/2797639/18_2009/d73d51948c128337_JagsFanMatt-DoubleFacepalmRickerPicard.xxlarge.jpg)
I like all your humor.
Never give up and find what's wrong.


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: Cindori on September 07, 2011, 07:37:50 AM
We facepalmed because netkas gave you the clearest instructions for how to boot properly:

"its driver, freeze at white-gray screen happens on first boot, you have to reboot then and works better."

and you answer with:

"I copied ATIRadeonX3000 to where you said.
Still freeze."

Which either meanst that you are an idiot and can't read instructions, or chose to not comment on the most important part of the process (which kinda still makes you look like an idiot. see signature below)


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: waimtrp on September 08, 2011, 03:08:00 PM
Hello Netkas

tried 6950 2Gb , make custom rom with your 6950.efi.rom by your RomCreator , first boot at DVI port(with Boot screen) , freeze at Apple logo ,

and then install your "ATIRadeonX3000 ", successful boot to desktop , but no QE_CI , Software mode at OpenGL Extension Viewer

is it i did something wrong? can you help

thanks a lot



Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: etc on September 12, 2011, 08:50:45 AM
Success! Used atiwinflash for flashing, but there are some problems with Lion.

First of all, Chess not working, it freezes system and now Lion freezing at gray apple before loginwindow (without loading flower). And too many freezes at startup, why? In System Report card appears as Radeon HD 6970 with "NETKAS-ORG" revision, it's OK?

Second, boot screen using 1280x800 resolution instead of original 2560x1600 (it occurs after PRAM reset). How can i set it to original? Lion cannot boot now, i'm planning to install old GTX285 card, boot it and then install Radeon back.


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: whyme466 on October 17, 2011, 02:17:40 PM
With my MacPro 5,1, cannot find way to flash hybrid rom created by following Netkas instructions (http://netkas.org/?p=973). ATI Winflash does not see 6970 (suggests using ATIFLASH - note that Bootcamp does not allow USB drive boot), and I cannot find workable core CD boot image for ATIFLASH. For example, http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/sh...ad.php?t=57750, Nero example creates boot CD that does not respond to MacPro wired USB keyboard, http://www.ubcd4win.com/ generates an error during build and does not complete (file too large anyway), and apple iBoy's copy of Ultimate Boot CD 4.1.1 (http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=11167344&postcount=226) did not work (no DOS startup). Very frustrating.

Until I accidently erased my BIOS in this failed update process, I have been doing extensive 3D gaming with my 6970 (works great with DDD Ignition - almost need 6990). Any suggestions for a way to flash the output of RomCreator? I successfully flashed a 4890 using Cindori's clear descriptions some time ago, so I am familiar with the overall process. Running Windows 7 Pro, 64-bit with Apple GT120 for Mac OS (and Windows non 3D display).  I have both hybrid ROM and factory ROM files (I would prefer to complete hybrid installation, rather than use 6970 backup boot switch on card).

Update:  

Finally resolved CD boot image issue - apple iBoy's copy of Ultimate Boot CD 4.1.1 DID work. I (incorrectly) followed MagicISO web site example for creating boot CD, versus the correct sequence provided in his detailed screen shots (see link to screen images in http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...&postcount=226).

Unfortunately, the hybrid EFI ROM does not yet work with Lion (10.7.2) and my Mac Pro 5,1 - I just get frozen grey displays with Apple logo, or dark displays, when I try to bring up Lion, even when reseting to Lion. With the hybrid ROM, I lost the Mac boot screen for OS selection, as well. Bootcamp (Windows) graphics work normally with hybrid ROM, though. I could also bring up Snow Leopard with the hybrid ROM (GT 120 used for display, not 6970).  However, once I initialized to Lion (I have both 10.7.2 and 10.6.7 - the last Snow Leopard version not impacted by my non-EFI 6970), both displays froze.

Somewhat unusual gaming computer: MacPro 5,1 (mid 2010 model) - 8.0 GB RAM, 6-core Xeon W3680 @ 3.33 GHx, 512 GB SSD (plus 2 TB standard disk storage), Sapphire 6970 graphics card with Arctic Cooling Accelero XTREME Plus cooling modification, Windows 7 Pro 64-bit - Experience Index 7.0, NVIDIA GT120 graphics card for dual boot (Windows/Mac) connected to 30 in Apple 2560 x 1600 monitor previously used for gaming. 6970 has HDMI 1.4 connection to Panasonic VIERA TC-P50VT25 3D HDTV.

I had hoped to eliminate my need for the EFI-based GT120, and fix a number of Mac Pro bus-level problems with my non-
EFI 6970 (for example, I cannot put my system to sleep without one of the chassis fans spinning up unnecessarily to full speed upon waking).  Unfortunately, I will have to abandon the current version of the hybrid ROM for now, since I had to physically remove the 6970 to change boot OS.  I remain very interested in the evolution of 6970 solution.


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: rafuz on October 25, 2011, 10:23:56 AM
I've ordered a Sapphire 6970 with dual rom.
I'll post a report in a few days as soon as I get it working in my MacPro 3.1  ;D

EDIT: Delivered right now, I'm going to try :)


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: rafuz on November 04, 2011, 06:45:17 PM
The modified ROM is a success, I have boot screen on the first DVI port and the card works normally in Windows.

But now I cant get in OSX. I've installed the base package driver (as suggested by netkas) but I can't get past the apple logo with the spinning loading wheel. I've to manually install the drivers?

My system is a MacPro 3,1
The graphic card a Sapphire 6970 2Gbyte

The "EFIzed" rom is attached to the message, if someone wants to use it :)


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: Rominator on November 04, 2011, 07:44:54 PM
you need to install Netkas' special drivers in OSX, then boot into Windows with drivers loaded and working there, then reboot into OSX. This is not a turn off and then hit power...that WILL NOT WORK.

It needs to be a warm re-boot.


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: rafuz on November 04, 2011, 08:17:06 PM
I've installed the standard package provided by Andystubbs in this thread (without aty_init)
After installation:

Shutdown
I remove the 5870 and plug in the 6970
1st boot to Windows
Reboot from Windows to OSX
OSX hangs as described in my previous post




Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: rafuz on November 04, 2011, 11:13:10 PM
I've got it working installing kext binaries manually. For some reason the pkg does not work for me.

Anyway the card now has a working EFI bios and I'm happy with it. In OSX the driver still crashes opening iTunes (even with the patched AtiRadeonX3000), so I'm sticking with a gt120 for now.
For gaming in windows that card totally rocks  :P

Thanks for your help, I need to click that nice Paypal button in RomCreator   :D


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: BastyJuice on December 07, 2011, 12:31:56 AM
Hey

I have Flashed my 6950 to a 6970 via BIOS and my Question is now to Create a EFI rom witch EFI Version i Must use 6850 to Compressor witch 6970 BIOS or the 6970 EFI

Best regards


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: BastyJuice on December 08, 2011, 12:31:07 AM
Sorry guys this is Not Working for my card.

I have flashed the Card with Many Combos nothing worked my Card is a Sapphire 6950 2gb reference.

Original BIOS +6950 EFI
6970 BIOS + 6970 EFI
Finisched Sapphire 6970 Rom from this Forum

Strange when i put my Radeon 2600 in and Boot with Booth cards the System profilier Rosenthal See any EFI Version under the 6970. I have flashed the Card with ATIwinflash under cmd windows After flashing the Card the popup tells me all Good but ne ID is 1

I Hope anyone can help me


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: BastyJuice on December 08, 2011, 12:08:38 PM
So after Hours of Test i have found a Sollution.

With the latest Bios from the Techsite and the Second EFI from Netkas the Bootscreen Works but the screen looks very ugly, is it normal ?

(http://img31.imageshack.us/img31/1037/img0183ou.jpg)
(http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/5113/img0182nf.jpg)

@Netkas can you make an EFI Rom for a 6970 with 0x6719 ? taht would be nicly for people that can flash a 6970 BIOS on there 6950 Refernce Cards

so best Regards from Germany


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: BastyJuice on December 08, 2011, 03:15:24 PM
So all Works Now, some Newer BIOS Version's von Sapphire has problems with the Combination of BIOS and EFI.

I anyone search for a Bios for a 6950 from Sapphire i have it Atteched for you


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: philatub on January 16, 2012, 07:19:39 PM
Hi Netkas,

Romcreator crashes as soon as I click on create Rom... Frustrating.. I try to make an hybrid rom for a HIS 6970 IceQ Turbo 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E HDMI/2xDVI/2xMini DP
I've found two bios here : http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/index.php?page=1&architecture=ATI&manufacturer=HIS&model=HD+6970&interface=&memSize=0 (http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/index.php?page=1&architecture=ATI&manufacturer=HIS&model=HD+6970&interface=&memSize=0)
I think the original is the turbo (900/1400) and the other one is "normal" (same as reference AMD 6970)
Could you make it for both an hybrid Rom for me please ?
Thanks a lot.

PS : my computer is a MacPro 5,1


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: verdf on January 17, 2012, 12:27:37 AM
EFI Rom for a 6970 with 0x6719? is that possible?


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: philatub on January 17, 2012, 09:30:20 AM
It's 0x6718  (from http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/93896/HIS.HD6970.2048.110109.html (http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/93896/HIS.HD6970.2048.110109.html)) :

HIS HD 6970 TURBO 2048 MB
GPU Device Id: 0x1002 0x6718
113-SS1G02-001
CAYMAN XT PCIE 2G/256B GDDR5 SLDVI-D/DLDVI-I/HDMI/2XMINI-DP 900E/1400M)
(C) 1988-2010, AMD Technologies Inc.
ATOMBIOSBK-ATI VER013.008.000.009.039303
C2000100.107

But maybe I'm wrong ! It's first time ever I will try to flash a card. Any advices are welcome, but first, I need someone helping me to build the hybrid ROM, as I can't use RomCreator  (it crashes).

Best regards from Marseille (France)


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: etc on March 12, 2012, 10:04:20 AM
For a long time a have 1280x800 boot screen resolution instead of native 2560x1600. Can I fix that?


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: hawthor20 on February 27, 2014, 06:39:28 PM
Sorry to revive an Old thread, but I am trying to flash my 6950 so that I can use it with my Mac Pro.. and I can't find the download to the Rom Creator Package... it just shows file deleted... Can someone post the package?

Thanks!



Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: Rominator on February 27, 2014, 11:05:18 PM
I'll try to post a copy soon

Be warned, OS support was sketchy. I finally sold my 6970 as a PC Card because working in OSX frequently required patches/ fixes


Title: Re: 6970 efi rom test
Post by: hawthor20 on February 27, 2014, 11:52:10 PM
So it doesn't work out of the box with 10.9? In that case I am not sure its worth it then !