netkas.org forum

General Category => PC EFI => Topic started by: bob on January 16, 2008, 11:06:10 PM



Title: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: bob on January 16, 2008, 11:06:10 PM
I was thinking that maybe there's a way to solve the HPET error, and the reboot issue ussing strings? i mean, the same way TM was solved ussing strings, maybe instead of replace AppleACPI to fix reboot and remove AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement to fix HPET error, theres a way to solve this with the strings???
Ill try with the HPET thing looking on my mbp to see whats there... but not sure about AppleACPI to fix reboot.... ?


Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: indraganzo on January 17, 2008, 12:36:41 AM
I'm with you bro!


Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: BladeRunner on January 17, 2008, 03:59:46 AM
bob:  I noticed that you have a core2 system. If you get something working, or get some good ideas on how to do it, please post the info. I would like to try to implement it on my pent. 4 system - unless your solution demands an efi enabled mobo.


Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: bob on January 17, 2008, 01:35:48 PM
Looking on my MBP, i noticed something, first HPET appears under PCI0@0/LPCB@1F/HPET, but on my hackintosh it appears as PCI0@0/HPET .. And the other thing is CPU's that on my MBP they starts at 0@0, i mean, CPU0@0+CPU1@1 but on my hackintosh they start at CPU0@1+CPU1@2...



Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: frantisheq on January 17, 2008, 01:56:25 PM
./gfxutil -f HPET gave me this DevicePath = Acpi(PNP0103,0x0)


Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: bob on January 17, 2008, 03:22:01 PM
Yeah, same here on my hackintosh, but its diferent on my MBP, gfxstring -f HPET returns:

DevicePath = PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1f,0x0)/Acpi(PNP0c01,0x0)

 ??? The weird is that LPC is the same address, but HPET on MBP is under LPC, and but its not on the Hackintosh...

Also the CPU's are enumerated from @0, but on hackintosh it starts on @1
 
Atached, how it looks on my MBP...


Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: bob on January 17, 2008, 03:37:28 PM
I been seeing that Apple updates the firmware to correct things, and supposedly, efi is upgraded in te process too... When these updates comes, they are for different platforms, MakBook, MakBook Pro, Mac Pro, iMac, etc, So what i mean, is that efi firmware is not for a specific platform, but diferent versions/properties/etc... So my thought is that, based on what i can see, the PCEfi8 is based on a MacBook firmware, and maybe, for more desktop mobos compatibility, we need a MacPro or iMac firmware maybe? netkas, what you think, maybe this is crazy and have no sense, but its just a thought.


Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: mcmatrix on January 17, 2008, 04:21:43 PM
I been seeing that Apple updates the firmware to correct things, and supposedly, efi is upgraded in te process too... When these updates comes, they are for different platforms, MakBook, MakBook Pro, Mac Pro, iMac, etc, So what i mean, is that efi firmware is not for a specific platform, but diferent versions/properties/etc... So my thought is that, based on what i can see, the PCEfi8 is based on a MacBook firmware, and maybe, for more desktop mobos compatibility, we need a MacPro or iMac firmware maybe? netkas, what you think, maybe this is crazy and have no sense, but its just a thought.
PCEFI8 is not a full/real efi firmware!
It's just customized darwin bootloader that sets up or add's some fake efi tables and devicetree nodes (efi runtime, device-prop etc).
Minimum configuration for kernel to boot happily. It has nothing to do with your pc real hardware.
The real efi firmware which is in real mac chip or come's with firmware update (firmware updates are available, you can download and extract inlcuded efi stuff) contains real efi core, drivers, apps and acpi aml tables (dsdt etc) for specific mac model (imac, macpro etc).

So its very hard to include more complex stuff to bootloader because it has 64k size limit due running in real mode.
Correct me if i'm wrong.


Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: lebidou on January 17, 2008, 11:43:10 PM
Looking on my MBP, i noticed something, first HPET appears under PCI0@0/LPCB@1F/HPET, but on my hackintosh it appears as PCI0@0/HPET .. And the other thing is CPU's that on my MBP they starts at 0@0, i mean, CPU0@0+CPU1@1 but on my hackintosh they start at CPU0@1+CPU1@2...



It's weird, on my hackintosh, HPET is under LPC and CPUs are CPU0@0 and CPU1@1…



Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: bob on January 18, 2008, 12:35:40 AM
You have almost the same config that i see on my MacBookPro.. I see on mine exactly what you see on your hackintosh...
Im not totally sure, but i think maybe "just maybe" the efi has something to do here... Not sure how netkas built pcefi, but maybe there is a diference of the ripped efi on pcefi and the efi on iMac or Mac Pro, no netkas? if yes, can be good to try with the others and have something, pcefi_mb, pcefi_mbp, _imac, _macpro  ;D


Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: MeAngry on January 18, 2008, 03:56:59 PM
Personally I don't think there's a need for different versions of PC_EFI for different types of PC's. EFI always works (about) the same, because an OS needs to have a single way to reach the stuff it needs.

The reason of all those different software updates is the same as why every different PC motherboard needs a different BIOS update. It's only for the BIOS (or EFI for that matter) so it knows how to handle certain hardware, support newer CPU's, memory modules etc. And this software contains specific details for specific hardware.

The software update for a MacBook for example tells him perhaps of a better way to handle the battery. Switch the fans on or off earlier or later, etc..
The software update for a Mac Pro tells how to handle all the interrupts for the PCI Express slots etc.

The software updates are totally on itself and have nothing (or not much) to do with OS X, or how OS X works with hardware detection.


Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: eberts on January 18, 2008, 04:50:48 PM
Hi
since my graphic string and my sound string still don't work: What exactly is it all about those configuration-tables. I can see in your screenshots that you have several tables in ioreg? I can only see two (the last two in frantisheq's screenshot starting with EB9D) here...
Thanks for any help and clarifying  :)


Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: lebidou on January 18, 2008, 05:42:11 PM
Hi
since my graphic string and my sound string still don't work: What exactly is it all about those configuration-tables. I can see in your screenshots that you have several tables in ioreg? I can only see two (the last two in frantisheq's screenshot starting with EB9D) here...
Thanks for any help and clarifying  :)

I have only two configuration-tables both begining with EB9D and gfx-stings are working well


Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: eberts on January 18, 2008, 05:54:40 PM
Hmm, thanks a lot. So it's something else preventing me from loading device-properties...  :(
But it's the wrong thread to ask for help...
Again, thanks


Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: indraganzo on January 18, 2008, 06:46:11 PM
Hmm, thanks a lot. So it's something else preventing me from loading device-properties...  :(
But it's the wrong thread to ask for help...
Again, thanks
probably the device pci address does not match on your system to the string you use following link for how to
http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,104.0.html


Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: frantisheq on January 18, 2008, 07:19:08 PM
Hi
since my graphic string and my sound string still don't work: What exactly is it all about those configuration-tables. I can see in your screenshots that you have several tables in ioreg? I can only see two (the last two in frantisheq's screenshot starting with EB9D) here...
Thanks for any help and clarifying  :)
first for graphics, second for network (TM fix) and the third for sound


Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: stellarola on January 19, 2008, 07:57:21 AM
It'd be really great to get AppleIntelCPU working at least. I was told that when using the 10.5.2 update the system will (kernel panic) freeze during the update because it tries to load this kext. I've installed an older version of the 10.5.2 adc update and it did freeze my system mid install. I was under the assumption that it checked for dsmos and said F U. Which I now know this isn't the case.

So anyways... it'd be peachy to get AppleIntelCPU to load properly.

Thanks for tuning in,

-Stell


Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: eberts on January 19, 2008, 02:19:51 PM
Hi
since my graphic string and my sound string still don't work: What exactly is it all about those configuration-tables. I can see in your screenshots that you have several tables in ioreg? I can only see two (the last two in frantisheq's screenshot starting with EB9D) here...
Thanks for any help and clarifying  :)
first for graphics, second for network (TM fix) and the third for sound

Ok, solved! I got it working, finally. Problem was, that somehow my com.apple.Boot.plist was sort of broken (?): Property List Editor couldn't open it. I used to edit it in terminal with nano before. So obviouly, I messed it. Now both graphics (my 7300GT) and sound (ALC882) work perfectly without nvinject and ALCinject. Thanks you all for your help and thanks for the great tool!  ;D
One more question related to this topic: You mentioned a HPET device. I dont' find it in IORegistryExpl. Why? My board should have it (ICH7).
Cheers


Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: indraganzo on January 20, 2008, 08:22:49 PM
 I also can not find a hpet node anywhere in my device tree my board is also ich 7
 I don't know what to look for???


Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: GLKA on April 08, 2008, 05:41:58 AM
Anybody try to make HPET-string, for use  AppleIntelCPUPowermanagement.kext ?


Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: westwaerts on April 11, 2008, 05:18:39 PM
Still wondering, but i stepped over same problem at the same time.
bob, your unable get uuid did help me,

but i found out that at the very high level of the ioreg there is an aliases entry,
on the other hand, at the system messages at startup there are on real macs prelinked modules or so, what we dont have.

so i think that real hardcoded efi has nearly a complete system profil, thats loaded at startup. if we can get that in the efi string method, we are nearer on mac than they would like to have us.

on third note, bios uses tables for cpus, thats why a core2 still has 4cores in the registry and only 2 are active





Title: Re: AppleIntelCPU, AppleACPI, etc...
Post by: GLKA on April 11, 2008, 07:02:08 PM
In Tiger,  AppleIntelCPUPowermanagement.kext  loaded and worked.