netkas.org forum
August 05, 2020, 11:08:22 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 26 27 [28] 29 30 ... 82
  Print  
Author Topic: Mac Pro Firmware Upgrade Utility Released!  (Read 2432645 times)
subfly
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #405 on: March 29, 2012, 11:11:34 PM »

Thanks from  Belgium, an hexacore 3.2GHz  is born! Too bad I just bought 16Gb of 1066 RAM instead of 1333. Does it make a significant difference?
Logged
Firechild
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #406 on: March 30, 2012, 08:29:10 AM »

Yes, it does but even more you should not use 4 RAM modules but 3. So 12 or 24 GB for you Mac Pro.
Logged
axsnetworks
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #407 on: March 30, 2012, 05:42:14 PM »

Thanks....
Logged
AlexPopov
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #408 on: April 06, 2012, 10:48:28 AM »

First of all thanks for the good job!
Question:
is it possible to put the x5698 xeon - in SINGLE PROCESSOR macpro 4.1 ?
this CPU is supposed to work in pair. I've allready bought it.
I'm using WinXP prof. 32bit. Bootcamp. 90% of time (my job soft is for this OS only)
But sometimes i use OSX for entarteinments.

Thanks in adnance.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2012, 07:56:08 AM by AlexPopov » Logged
6ixgun
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #409 on: April 07, 2012, 10:04:15 PM »

After much reading on here I am ready to take the plunge but want a few things clarified first.... I have a W3680 in hand and am anxious to do this..
My MP is an early 2009,  Single 2.66GHZ,    Firmware MP41.0081.B07,  16 GB  1066 ECC RAM  SMC version 1.39f5  It just came off apple care..

1>  Is this firmware upgrade safe / stable  to use with LION ?
2>  Will it still allow apple software updates to function normally ?
3>  Are the steps to install as follows:  
        a.   Back up OS / Boot Disc
        b.   Install firmware update and Run it.
        c.   Reboot / App will Flash  SMC
        d.   Check system after reboot, make sure boots OK and looks normal ...
        e.   Replace 2.66 Processor
        f.    Install  3x8 GB  1333 ECC RAM   in slots 1-3  
        g.   Say a prayer,  and boot again,  clear  PRAM

4>    Is there a big difference with using 4x4 GB  1066 RAM   vs   3x8GB 1333 RAM ?    
5>    Is it paramount to use only 3 modules for the best results ?

6>    Are then any issues with RAID ?   I have a 6 TB -  4 disk  RAID0 Drive as my data drive,  an Intel  128GB SSD as the boot / system drive.  

7>    Are the any gotchas ?   For instance - does it really matter if my 10.5 install disk is useless after the upgrade ?  

8>    Will this combo work with an Nvidia  GTX285 / Mac Version

That's it...   thanks!




« Last Edit: April 07, 2012, 11:15:49 PM by 6ixgun » Logged
NickLambert
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 15


« Reply #410 on: April 08, 2012, 10:24:58 AM »

I had the MP 2009  twin 2.66GHZ and had no problems, so:

1>  Yes
2>  Yes
3>  Yes
4>  Not really, if you need more RAM then go for 4  
5>  For best results yes, but it is marginal
6>  No problem, I have SSD boot, 3xSSD int. RAID & 4x HDD ext RAID  
7>  So far I'm only aware of the pre-Lion boot DVD issue. I've had no other problem.  
8>  Yep, I have Nvidia  GTX285 / Mac Version Smiley

Hope that helps.
Logged
6ixgun
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #411 on: April 09, 2012, 01:33:57 AM »

Thanks for the info....  I upgraded the  EFI today,  now its  at  5.1  had no issues at all, seems to be stable and cannot tell any difference from 4.1   next step,  processor and  RAM swap.      I ordered 3X8GB  ECC 1333, that will take me from 16GBX4 sticks to  24GB x 3 sticks.      

I'll let you know if it all goes well....   its one of our production machines so we probably won't do it until next weekend....  

M
« Last Edit: April 09, 2012, 09:26:42 PM by 6ixgun » Logged
6ixgun
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #412 on: April 10, 2012, 01:38:00 AM »

Wow, that was painless... we decided to go ahead why wait.. LOL    

BEFORE:  geekbench score   with 2.66,  16GB 1066 ECC,  and 4.1   ~9500

Updated EFI to 5.1
Installed  W3680 in about 10 minutes
Installed  8GB x3  1333 ECC RAM    in slots 1-3
Installed  GTX285 Mac Edition  and connected two 30" Cinema Monitors

Reboot,  reset PRAM -  worked like a champ -  new geekbench score  15353 +   and 1333 memspeed.     That was a no-brainer.
Photoshop and Lightroom now run as they should... no latency whatsoever.    LOVE IT !!
  
Thanks to all who put in the time to make this happen.    

PS:  I am interested to see if there will be any issues updating to mountain lion...
« Last Edit: April 11, 2012, 05:56:26 PM by 6ixgun » Logged
6ixgun
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #413 on: April 10, 2012, 05:52:50 PM »

The conversion went very smoothly,  however we have noticed a few quirks to be aware of:

1>  Time machine did not "see"  the original computer, it thinks its a new computer and asks to inherit data profile from the old computer  (say yes!)
2>  All icons that were arranged in the launch pad were  set back to default (alphabetical)...   that was a strange one
3>  Safari was reset so apple home screen came up (preferences.plist maybe was deleted ,  not sure)  all other settings + bookmarks were fine
4>  Some (only a few) icons we had changed reverted back to their originals..  another "no explanation"  but we changed them back now they're fine.


A few observations :    

1>  sleep mode seems far more reliable.  We used to lose mouse and USB communication once a day but now that trait is gone.
2>  memory leaks seem to be reduced, we no longer need to use the free memory app to release memory tied up by leaks  (way cool!)
3>  we use Adobe Lightroom 4 for photo prep / processing,   we can now make image mods in real time,  we've not even seen the wheel of death once.  That alone was worth the upgrade price.    

Overall, we are very pleased with the update.   We'll give it a little time,  but we have 4 more MP 2009's to update.    Sure beats buying new machines.

« Last Edit: April 11, 2012, 05:56:11 PM by 6ixgun » Logged
AlexPopov
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #414 on: April 10, 2012, 10:25:34 PM »

Is here anybody who has done this firmware switch and using BootCamp+WinXP (or Win7) Huh
Are there any problems with Windows?
My config:
MacPro 4.1, 2.66 (single CPU).
Allready bought:
- Processor Tray
- Heatsink
- x5698 Xeon
- 3x 1GB 1333 RAM (pulled from MacPro 5.1)
Currently i've replaced w3520 with w3580 - works OK without firmware upgrade.

Thanks in advance!
P.s. - ones again - is it no problem to switch back to 4.1 Huh
« Last Edit: April 11, 2012, 07:11:20 PM by AlexPopov » Logged
6ixgun
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #415 on: April 13, 2012, 04:53:45 PM »

One last comment -  for anyone looking to upgrade your  1066 memory to 1333  -   don't bother - its a waste of $$      We replaced 4x4 16 GB of 1066 RAM with  3x8 24GB of 1333 RAM -  our geekbench and graphics benchmarks were within a few percent of each other.   

The 1333 is running at 1333 so no issues there,  it just does not make much of a diff.    We wanted the capacity upgrade so we spent the cash on the 1333, but overall this was a waste of cash if you are looking for more performance.      Keep that in mind should you be contemplating the memory purchase -  1066 works just fine and still gives a 60% performance boost over baseline. 





Logged
AlexPopov
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #416 on: April 18, 2012, 10:27:09 AM »

I've done this Firmware upgrade.
Everything went with no problems. (CD opens, then closes itself)
BUT!!! the x5698 XEON was not able to boot!!!
w3580 - is OK. 1333 memory was OK too after PRAM reset.
Any ideas to make the x5698 run? (is there a full list of supported CPUs)
the only info that i've found on this XEON:
http://h20195.www2.hp.com/v2/GetPDF.aspx/4AA3-7735ENW.pdf
http://www.cpu-world.com/sspec/SL/SLC32.html
The CPU itself - is OK (tested in my PC)
Also i can confirm that downgrading to 4.1 firmware was OK.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2012, 01:05:14 PM by AlexPopov » Logged
AlexPopov
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #417 on: April 19, 2012, 05:11:02 PM »

The question to the AUTHOR, to MacEFIRom!
I just suppose: May be there is a List of supported CPUs somewhere inside the Firmware files?
And is it possible to edit this List ?

x5698 - should not be in this List.
It's the OEM CPU.
It is not supposed to be sold to the public.
Any other ideas?
Thanks a lot anyway.
My fear and doubts are gone - i'm using w3580 now.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2012, 06:06:08 PM by AlexPopov » Logged
tyvol
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


WWW
« Reply #418 on: April 21, 2012, 02:14:13 AM »

Well, this is a wonderful piece of work!

My 4,1 is working well as a 5,1 in OSX w/and 5780, VMWare Fusion and in Boot Camp Windows 7...

Amazing.

Most grateful MacEFIRom!!!!

I'm now going to the donation page...

Kindest regards,

tyvol
Logged
tyvol
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


WWW
« Reply #419 on: April 23, 2012, 08:28:04 AM »


Again, everything working after 4,1 to 5,1 upgrade on my 2009 8 core 2.26 mHz 32 GB MP with a 5870 GPU.
Lion, VMWare Fusion with W7 and Office 2007 are fine.
Boot Camp is working perfectly with W7 and Office 2007 as well with FWIW WEI scores of 7.4, 7.4, 7.8, 7.8 and 6.9 (some say the WEI is useless, but it is all I can look at for now on the Boot Camp side), and DirectX 11 is a beautiful thing.

Anyway, I'm ready to update the CPUs (what has come over me?), but being a bit new to this kind of thing, I have three probably trivial newbie questions...

Read everything on this thread a couple of times and all of philipma1957's terrific posts and other helpful details, photos and screenshots and I have the tools recommended by all from Amazon, latex gloves and Artic Silver kit, etc.

It is also clear that my CPU focus should be on B1 stepped units in the x5650 to x5690 range (lower watts might be better) and I that don't need new heat sinks.

I did however see from your guidance that the two heat sinks I now have need to be used again (in the same spots they came from) but I did see a couple of posts that indicate that they will need to be trimmed. So, my first newbie question is:
Q1: What needs to be trimmed on each sink (and even how, if you have the time)?

As for spacing washers on each screw, it appears I have the choice of 2 x M4 1mm or 2 x M4 0.8mm + 1 M4 1mm. So, my second question is:
Q2: Where might I get such M4 washers and are they made of metal or heat treated plastic?

Lastly, some indicate that the fans kick on and stay on after successful new CPU installation...
Q3: Will such happen and are there any steps I need to take to deal with it before/after?

I know that to most on this thread that the answers to these things are probably obvious, but I'd be most grateful for any pointers you'd care to give to sort me out some, if you would.

After this great firmware upgrade, I just can help it - I just have to take full advantage of it, if with a little help I can...

Many thanks,

tyvol
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 26 27 [28] 29 30 ... 82
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!