netkas.org forum
July 19, 2019, 01:16:30 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10] 11 12 ... 18
  Print  
Author Topic: R9 280x flashed with EFI  (Read 299870 times)
romfeo
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #135 on: October 21, 2014, 08:17:13 AM »

@ 3mvideo & wax2012

check your PM (messages). I sent you something.
I flashed 4 of those Gigabyte Rev 2.0 cards for myself and my buddies. Everything (bootscreen, miniDP etc) is working fine so far.

Dear Satrap. I have the exact same Gigabyte and I screw it up trying to flash it. Can you please send me the same file? I would be in gratitude. Greetings from Greece.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #136 on: October 22, 2014, 12:28:00 AM »

Does it have the "switch" behind crossfire ports?
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
romfeo
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #137 on: October 22, 2014, 05:52:38 AM »

Does it have the "switch" behind crossfire ports?

Thanks for pointing out the Dual-Bios switch!
Logged
macgaga
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #138 on: October 24, 2014, 09:41:18 AM »

Hello guys,

i new here. I have a Mac Pro 2009 4,1.

I want to upgrade the CPUs and the Firmware, where I found all information.

Now I have the topic of GPU.

I looking what cards are suitable ...

for now I see the R9 280X as the best option. But after reading all of this Thread. I only learned Gigabyte R9 280X Rev2 should be the best.

But the following questions stay.

1. How Do I flash it?
2. Where do I get the Mac ROM ?
3. how you managed Power supply for the card? The Board has 2x 6 Pin. You need 8 Pin on the Card?
4. Where you got these mini PCI Kabels for the Mac Pro ?


thank you very much for help ...

Logged
Mr. Zarniwoop
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58



« Reply #139 on: October 25, 2014, 03:33:17 AM »

Thanks everyone (especially Rominator) for this thread!

I flashed my MSI R9 280X Gaming 3GB and it works wonderfully.

However, System Information shows "AMD Radeon HD 7970". I edited that exact string in the second 64K (presumably Mac EBC firmware section) of my sewed-together ROM file to say "AMD Radeon R9 280X" but it didn't show up. Is it somewhere non-obvious?

UPDATE: figured it out. Thanks Rominator!


* Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 11.09.09 PM.png (82.24 KB, 698x466 - viewed 1222 times.)
* MSI R9 280X 3GB Mac EBC.rom (128 KB - downloaded 649 times.)
« Last Edit: October 25, 2014, 05:47:04 AM by Mr. Zarniwoop » Logged

2006 MacPro1,1 (w/2,1 EFI firmware) - 2x 3GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon "Clovertown" X5365 CPUs - MSI R9 280X Gaming 3GB (w/Mac EFI firmware) - Mac OS X w/64-bit kernel
eVasilis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 152


« Reply #140 on: October 25, 2014, 11:30:54 AM »

Thanks everyone (especially Rominator) for this thread!

I flashed my MSI R9 280X Gaming 3GB and it works wonderfully.


Does it run in full pcie 2 speed?

Cheers
Logged
denisio
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #141 on: October 25, 2014, 12:52:28 PM »

Hi

Got my R9 280X Windforce Rev.2 yesterday and got it running like it should.

In the process I updated the netkas bundle a bit.

Please don't use it until some experienced users reply here
that it really works.

Denis


* bundle.tar.bz2 (76.38 KB - downloaded 619 times.)
Logged
Mr. Zarniwoop
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58



« Reply #142 on: October 25, 2014, 03:29:43 PM »

Quote
Does it run in full pcie 2 speed?
Definitely not in my PCIe 1.1 2006 Mac Pro. For that reason I didn't bother going resistor-hunting.
Logged

2006 MacPro1,1 (w/2,1 EFI firmware) - 2x 3GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon "Clovertown" X5365 CPUs - MSI R9 280X Gaming 3GB (w/Mac EFI firmware) - Mac OS X w/64-bit kernel
macgaga
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #143 on: October 26, 2014, 10:32:43 AM »

Hey, maybe somebody can answer me ?

1. How Do I flash it? in Mac, in PC ?
2. Where do I get the Mac ROM ? for the R9 280x ?
3. how you managed Power supply for the card? The Board has 2x 6 Pin. You need 8 Pin on the Card? Over 2 SATA to PCIe
4. Where you got these mini PCI Kabels for the Mac Pro ? (I GOT IT)

Is Geforce 970 or R9 280x  the better choice ?
Logged
dub*man
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #144 on: October 28, 2014, 10:31:31 PM »



Is there a specific list of 280x cards that are preferred?

I have my eyes on the Sapphire 280x Tri-X OC.  I want to order it today as I sold my old video card.. bit I don't want to get stuck with a card that won't work well in my 5.1

This one specifically..
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814202126

Is there already a flash out there somewhere for it?

- Thanks!
Logged
romfeo
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #145 on: November 13, 2014, 01:04:49 AM »

I feel so stupid...
For the past month I am trying to Flash my Gigabyte R9 280x rev 1.0, with no success...

Is there any good samaritan willing to tell me which part in the mac7970.rom, that Rominator has uploaded, holds the EFI string and where in my rom am i supposed to paste it... I have read every post in this forum and I have still not figured this out...
Logged
denisio
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #146 on: November 13, 2014, 05:14:29 AM »

On this very page (10) there is all you need!

Denis
Logged
romfeo
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #147 on: November 13, 2014, 04:30:17 PM »

Finally success thanks to the modified script by dense, which I've just found!

Thank you denisio

I am going to do some benchmarks now



* Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 6.40.03 PM.png (67.16 KB, 589x354 - viewed 972 times.)
« Last Edit: November 13, 2014, 05:40:54 PM by romfeo » Logged
romfeo
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #148 on: November 13, 2014, 05:57:48 PM »

Wel,, I am very disappointed from the benchmarks.

With the R9 280X on OS X I have less than half the performance I have on Windows 7 (Bootcamp)

My system is a Mac Pro 3,1, 2 X 4 Quad Xeon, 32 GB RAM running Yosemite

Heaven Mac: 466
Heaven Windows: 1016

Luxmark Mac: 1077
Luxmark Windows: 2444

Is there any setting I need to do in OS X, in order to get similar performance?


* Heaven Windows.png (69.94 KB, 600x535 - viewed 758 times.)

* Heaven Mac.png (64.37 KB, 526x448 - viewed 749 times.)
« Last Edit: November 13, 2014, 06:08:17 PM by romfeo » Logged
jasonsansone
Guest
« Reply #149 on: November 14, 2014, 12:18:25 AM »

For what its worth, those are definitely low. I was getting 2500+ on my R9 280X in Yosemite before I sold off all my AMD cards.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10] 11 12 ... 18
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!