netkas.org forum
August 19, 2019, 04:20:31 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 20
  Print  
Author Topic: nVidia +EFI  (Read 359551 times)
Thrawnhex
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« on: December 18, 2007, 10:43:43 AM »

This thread is for everything around nVidia gfx-cards with EFI.

For newest info: IRC (irc.osx86.hu - #efi-gfx)

---------------------------------------------------------------------

2007-12-22

Currently working: 7400go, 7300gt, 7600gt, 7600go, 7900gs-512MB+VRam flash, others not tried

Not working: 7300LE, 7900gs-256MB

In development: GF8xxx, GF7xxxgs cards

News: GF8xxx appears to work with 10.5.2 kexts+nvinject! made first alpha strings Wink please try and report!

Thrawnhex

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Downloads:

GF7400go: http://www.mediafire.com/?7txyld0dcxl
GF7xxx: http://www.mediafire.com/?cytghb0gvnj
GF7300gt: http://www.mediafire.com/?bnz5ntvxw99
GF7300gt-eberts(another Version): http://www.mediafire.com/?8xayrtfjy3m
GF8800gts(640Mb VRAM) + remember 10.5.2 kexts! : http://www.mediafire.com/?9mo4340bbdp
GF8600gt (256MB VRAM) + remember 10.5.2 kexts! : http://www.mediafire.com/?dxxyetwwdx5
« Last Edit: December 23, 2007, 12:55:19 AM by Thrawnhex » Logged
masaemon
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2007, 12:26:22 PM »

Yeah! thank you very much!
Here is my screen shot:



* 7900GSEFI_VRAM_Flashed.jpg (79.84 KB, 579x690 - viewed 1068 times.)
Logged
bob
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 61


MacBook Pro 13" touch bar, 2016. eGPU (Windows).


« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2007, 01:14:05 PM »

No luck with 8600 GT.
One question, how's that about flashing the card? is there a place to get the firmware and flash utilities?
Logged
time ed
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 98


« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2007, 01:26:35 PM »

Hey all --

I've tried just about every combination/iteration of 7600 string I can think of or find and its no-go here. Seems my board, too, is gfx-string non-compliant..

Mobo is Asus p5lp-le. Card is XFX 7600gt (256). Leo 10.5.1 (retail) with EFI v8

Here is the last string I used
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

When using the string, nvhal40 and geforce kexts both load.

I've attached regdumps with nvinject loaded, and with the string loaded.

Here is graphics properties with nvinject
Chipset Model:   GeForce 7600GT
  Type:   Display
  Bus:   PCIe
  PCIe Lane Width:   x16
  VRAM (Total):   256 MB
  Vendor:   NVIDIA (0x10de)
  Device ID:   0x0391
  Revision ID:   0x00a1
  ROM Revision:   NVinject 0.1.5
  Displays:
SyncMaster:
  Resolution:   1680 x 1050 @ 60 Hz
  Depth:   32-bit Color
  Core Image:   Hardware Accelerated
  Main Display:   Yes
  Mirror:   Off
  Online:   Yes
  Quartz Extreme:   Supported
  Rotation:   Supported
Display Connector:
  Status:   No display connected

Here is graphics properties with any string
Display:

  Type:   Display
  Bus:   PCIe
  PCIe Lane Width:   x16
  VRAM (Total):   256 MB
  Vendor:   NVIDIA (0x10de)
  Device ID:   0x0391
  Revision ID:   0x00a1
  Displays:
Display:
  Resolution:   1024 x 768
  Depth:   32-bit Color
  Core Image:   Software
  Main Display:   Yes
  Mirror:   Off
  Online:   Yes
  Quartz Extreme:   Not Supported

Thanks for all the help and support!
t-e

* regdumps.zip (111.04 KB - downloaded 313 times.)
« Last Edit: December 18, 2007, 02:43:41 PM by time ed » Logged
masaemon
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2007, 02:40:14 PM »

Anyway to let Darwin bootloader load VRam image while boot?
so we can get a dual-video bios system...

 why i want it:
 after my flashing vram,although 7900GS 512M works perfectly, system can only recognize 2.45G memory only....
 The total sys memory amount is 3G(512Mx2 + 1Gx2),and i don't know whether memory really works in dual channels mode or not.
 Please share if you have good idea, thanks a lot!
 Attached file is the memory map before & after flashing vram, for your reference.
 
 
MB:Asus p5b-e
CPU: C2D E6300
Video card: Elsa 7900GS 512M

P.S. Sorry for my poor English.


* Address_space_map.JPG (37.37 KB, 1079x112 - viewed 883 times.)
Logged
Thrawnhex
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2007, 03:23:24 PM »

How about nvinject? Is 3 Gb shown?

Thrawnhex
Logged
masaemon
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2007, 03:33:03 PM »

How about nvinject? Is 3 Gb shown?

Thrawnhex

it only shows 2.45G if i use the flashed vram,wherever in Bios, Windows, Tiger or Leo,
whether i use Natit or NVinject or NVdiaEFI...

Logged
gotoh
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 54


WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 18, 2007, 03:35:40 PM »

this is in Windows only, as Windows maps at least the same amount of VRAM to RAM (when available)
since VGA ROM patching basically makes all the VRAM recognised before any OS boots, it seems (IMHO) that it is normal behaviour.
Non patched VGA ROM would make VRAM seen as 256Mb only (before windows boots) then windows will map only 256Mb VRAM to RAM...

but I may be wrong about this...
Logged
masaemon
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


« Reply #8 on: December 18, 2007, 03:47:26 PM »

this is in Windows only, as Windows maps at least the same amount of VRAM to RAM (when available)
since VGA ROM patching basically makes all the VRAM recognised before any OS boots, it seems (IMHO) that it is normal behaviour.
Non patched VGA ROM would make VRAM seen as 256Mb only (before windows boots) then windows will map only 256Mb VRAM to RAM...

but I may be wrong about this...
hi,gotoh,
 osx shows only 2.5G too... pls see attached pic,
 sometimes it shows 3G with diffrent version of AppleSMBios, but the amount "Used" + "Free" = 2.5G too...
 

[attachment deleted by admin]
Logged
Myzrael
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #9 on: December 18, 2007, 09:23:57 PM »

Ey everyone. I'm still new to this EFI + Nvidia thing but I have a quick question. I have a Sony VAIO with a 7600GO with a none working internal screen. I was wondering if this EFI could maybe fix it? Until I have Leopard running with EFI (should be soon) I'd like to know of some of you have tried this or have some tips. It's been a problem I've been having for a long time now and I have not seen a fix yet so I'm anxious to try everything new. Of-course I'll give more information once I have EFI running.
Logged
Thrawnhex
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« Reply #10 on: December 18, 2007, 09:44:07 PM »

Mhh.. I heard first time of this problem... are you sure, it has nothing to do with your configuration? And i don't really know if this fixes your Problem, but try it and if it works you're lucky Wink

@frantisheq: I made a string for 7300LE looking at your dump. Please try: http://www.mediafire.com/?9kygw5em3zy

Thrawnhex
Logged
Myzrael
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #11 on: December 18, 2007, 10:24:35 PM »

Mhh.. I heard first time of this problem... are you sure, it has nothing to do with your configuration? And i don't really know if this fixes your Problem, but try it and if it works you're lucky Wink

@frantisheq: I made a string for 7300LE looking at your dump. Please try: http://www.mediafire.com/?9kygw5em3zy

Thrawnhex

100% sure. It's a problem that affect almost all but NOT only Sony VAIO laptop users. The problem is that the external display works but the internal display doesn't. OS X thinks that the external display is the internal and says "No display connected". The internal display stays black and is not recognized. A person that has been working on this problem for a while now is Gotoh.

http://nvinject.free.fr/forums/viewtopic.php?t=10
Those are some things Gotoh figured out. At the moment a lot of people think it's a problem with the NVcap but we can only guess it and can not generate it. So far I have no been succesfull in working on this problem since information is very rare and I want to help but I can not. Probably has something to do with the way Sony and some other brands wire their laptops.

The problem is my main reason for not being able to use OS X as my primary OS on my laptop and it's the same with a lot more users.  Maybe once I get Leopard running with EFI (waiting for my Iatkos to finish)  Roll Eyes , I can help and give you more information to fix my problem and the problem lot's of users are having.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2007, 10:26:08 PM by Myzrael » Logged
nightcbis
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« Reply #12 on: December 19, 2007, 08:17:21 PM »

Hey all --

I've tried just about every combination/iteration of 7600 string I can think of or find and its no-go here. Seems my board, too, is gfx-string non-compliant..

Mobo is Asus p5lp-le. Card is XFX 7600gt (256). Leo 10.5.1 (retail) with EFI v8

Here is the last string I used
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

When using the string, nvhal40 and geforce kexts both load.

I've attached regdumps with nvinject loaded, and with the string loaded.

Here is graphics properties with nvinject
Chipset Model:   GeForce 7600GT
  Type:   Display
  Bus:   PCIe
  PCIe Lane Width:   x16
  VRAM (Total):   256 MB
  Vendor:   NVIDIA (0x10de)
  Device ID:   0x0391
  Revision ID:   0x00a1
  ROM Revision:   NVinject 0.1.5
  Displays:
SyncMaster:
  Resolution:   1680 x 1050 @ 60 Hz
  Depth:   32-bit Color
  Core Image:   Hardware Accelerated
  Main Display:   Yes
  Mirror:   Off
  Online:   Yes
  Quartz Extreme:   Supported
  Rotation:   Supported
Display Connector:
  Status:   No display connected

Here is graphics properties with any string
Display:

  Type:   Display
  Bus:   PCIe
  PCIe Lane Width:   x16
  VRAM (Total):   256 MB
  Vendor:   NVIDIA (0x10de)
  Device ID:   0x0391
  Revision ID:   0x00a1
  Displays:
Display:
  Resolution:   1024 x 768
  Depth:   32-bit Color
  Core Image:   Software
  Main Display:   Yes
  Mirror:   Off
  Online:   Yes
  Quartz Extreme:   Not Supported

Thanks for all the help and support!
t-e

Same card as this dude. Same problem.
I've tried alot and nothing.
Every idea/tip is welcome!
Logged
Thrawnhex
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« Reply #13 on: December 19, 2007, 08:31:05 PM »

@nightcbis: whats you motherboard? The string is made on XFX 7600gt - 256MB, and for me it works just woderful Cheesy

Still searching Testers for GF5xxx + GF6xxx! Please go to irc or write in here!

Thrawnhex
Logged
zascok
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 15


« Reply #14 on: December 19, 2007, 08:58:42 PM »

@frantisheq: I made a string for 7300LE looking at your dump. Please try: http://www.mediafire.com/?9kygw5em3zy

Thrawnhex
@Thrawnhex your string for 7300LE  works well for my PNY 7300GT! Does it mean that  conversion from 7300LE string to 7300GT string is  a relatively easy thing to do?
Thank you for your help. 


Zascok
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 20
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!