netkas.org forum
September 23, 2017, 04:56:22 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: New Apple 5770 works in 1st Gens !!!! For sure this time !!!  (Read 31700 times)
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2131



« on: August 26, 2010, 01:09:07 AM »

Tired of "It should" and "Someone I know has it on good authority" type stuff?

Well, here is THE ANSWER:

I have gotten ahold of an Apple OEM 5770 and plugged it into my 2006.

Booted right up beautifully on the DVI port.

Will be testing other ports, etc shortly.

Will also be posting the ROM here.

Further testing reveals that a certain trusted "authority" who has been posting that the MDP ports don't work should check his facts better before starting an uproar.

The DVI portion that is a pass through works.

Next I will test the MDP port when used with an Apple MDP to DUal Link adapter.

The card works in 1st Gens, Folks. Simple as that.

Which means a 99% likelihood that 5870 does too...or certainly can be made to.

UPDATE: while the OEM Apple 5770 works great in 1st Gen, the story isn't so pretty with PC one flashed.

Just like it's big brother, the flashed 5770 dies during boot...never reaching desktop.

Apple has worked some "magic" on their ROM to make them "unflashable". Just need to find the right combo of Eye of Newt and some other stuff.

Be patient.


* 5770.png (98.81 KB, 774x494 - viewed 549 times.)
« Last Edit: August 26, 2010, 03:45:03 AM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
boli
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 99



« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2010, 08:09:36 AM »

Awesome news, cheers Rominator!
Logged
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 237


« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2010, 08:33:22 AM »

Excellent! Hopefully, flashing will be possible in the future.
Did you make a custom ROM for the 5770, or did you just use the Apple ROM for this first attempt?
Logged
Arch Stanton
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 22


« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2010, 04:58:44 PM »

Sweet!  As soon as we have confirmation on the 5870, I'm buying :-)
Logged
sunshine-x
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2010, 03:16:19 AM »

UPDATE: while the OEM Apple 5770 works great in 1st Gen, the story isn't so pretty with PC one flashed.

Just like it's big brother, the flashed 5770 dies during boot...never reaching desktop.

Apple has worked some "magic" on their ROM to make them "unflashable". Just need to find the right combo of Eye of Newt and some other stuff.

I have a 1,1 and a HIS HD 5770 card, dual booting to win 7..  Let me know if I can help test.
Logged
JadedGamer
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2010, 04:45:54 AM »

Yes, I have a 1,1 as well and would gladly test.
Logged
doc
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 17


WWW
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2010, 07:22:26 AM »

I've got a Sapphire 5770 on a MacPro 3,1 - I'll be very happy to help test as well.. Smiley
Logged
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 237


« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2010, 08:13:42 AM »

Darn, this has to work!
What could be the difference that makes the iMac's EFI flashable?  Huh
And where's Pipomolo42 when you need him?  Angry (FYI, he's the one who made possible flashing 4870 cards via custom firmware).
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2131



« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2010, 06:22:32 PM »

Good idea.

Here is is home page....see if you can get him interested.

Looks like he lives in Strasbourg now. Anyone want to bake him a cake?

http://boeglin.org/blog/
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 237


« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2010, 07:45:06 PM »

I'm dropping him a PM...

EDIT: sent!
« Last Edit: August 27, 2010, 07:57:30 PM by jeanlain » Logged
Oncle Sam
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #10 on: August 31, 2010, 08:59:33 AM »

Hey! Hello,

I'm french and my inglish is terrible Sad  So be pacient with me please lol Smiley

Ok i have some questions..

I have Mac Pro 2006, rev1,1 and I want to change the graphic card.

I that dificulte to instal the 5770? or you need to change ROM or to do some thing to use?

I don't want to flach it or instal software... juste instal the card and use it...

HD 5770 is a good choise for me?

Sorry Sorry aboute my inglish... Please use a basic inglish...

THX!!
Logged
zennzero
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #11 on: August 31, 2010, 09:46:08 AM »

Good idea.

Here is is home page....see if you can get him interested.

Looks like he lives in Strasbourg now. Anyone want to bake him a cake?

http://boeglin.org/blog/

Ha - I am going to be in Strasbourg next weekend, but I don't think he would take kindly to me turning up on his company's doorstep.  Perhaps I will leave a bloodied video card there, Godfather-style.  Anyway, it would be nice if the solution was as simple as it appears to have been for the 4870.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2010, 09:48:27 AM by zennzero » Logged
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 237


« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2010, 10:24:42 AM »

Reporting from Macbidouille. A forum member has flashed a sapphire 5770 (I believe using a ROM modified with the iMac's EFI, I'm trying to find out which he used), and got the EFI boot screen working, albeit at crappy resolution.  Shocked He can chose the boot drive.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2010, 05:25:46 PM by jeanlain » Logged
nekonoko
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 27


« Reply #13 on: August 31, 2010, 03:36:38 PM »

Rerpoting from Macbidouille. A forum member has flashed a sapphire 5770 (I believe using a ROM modified with the iMac's EFI, I'm trying to find out which he used), and got the EFI boot screen working, albeit at crappy resolution.  Shocked He can chose the boot drive.


Interesting. I wonder if he modified something that can be applied to all Evergreen ROMs or if it is specific to the flashed card.
Logged
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 237


« Reply #14 on: August 31, 2010, 05:25:26 PM »

He just used the sapphire vanilla ROM and got lucky.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!