netkas.org forum
August 01, 2014, 10:47:01 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 59
  Print  
Author Topic: Booting the 64-bit kernel on the 2006/2007 Mac Pro  (Read 275678 times)
MacEFIRom

« on: September 07, 2011, 05:27:43 AM »

I'm a big Mac Pro fan, and I own both a 2006 and 2010 Mac Pro. After writing the firmware tools for these systems, I started to feel like the 2006 Mac Pro didn't get much of a boost from the 2007 firmware upgrade, unlike the 2009 upgrade, which unlocked a lot of potential. I'm also a big hackintosh fan, and I've built numerous platforms going back to 2006, when it all began. I started doing some research on booting the 64 bit kernel on the 2006/2007 Mac Pro. As you probably know, these Macs have a 32 bit EFI implementation, so the Mac OS can only boot the 32 bit kernel. This is of course an arbitrary decision on Apple's part, as the Xeon CPUs in all the Mac Pros are certainly 64 bit capable. There's been some posts on this forum, as well as some earlier posts by netkas on the subject, about using the Chameleon bootloader to load the OS, since in theory, this should be a pretty darn compatible hackintosh! I attempted to configure the system to boot in this manner, using all of the information available in these posts, but all of the information and suggestions available are close, but none of them get everything right. I did successfully accomplish this, and I can say that it works very well, with the only thing not recognized and working is the built-in audio. This can probably be fixed with some additional work, and maybe someone else can suggest some settings to accomplish this, but right now, with this guide, you can boot the 2007 Mac Pro (of course my 2006 has been upgraded to 2007) in 64 bit ker