netkas.org forum
January 23, 2020, 02:49:44 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: 6970 efi rom test  (Read 59075 times)
cargo
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27


« Reply #15 on: September 06, 2011, 08:55:19 AM »

I tested it with 6970 2GB.
flashed a hybrid rom and only pluged 6970 in mac pro 4,1==>got boot logo but can't boot to desktop,it freeze at boot logo.
plug both cards (GT-120 and 6970), then can see the graphics info.
6970 is reference card.
Uncle Netaks,please make 6970 efi rom  better,I want 6970 works on mac pro 4,1?
Many thanks.


* 6970.png (61.48 KB, 748x496 - viewed 1144 times.)

* mac info.JPG (21.28 KB, 585x333 - viewed 1082 times.)
« Last Edit: September 06, 2011, 09:42:58 AM by cargo » Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 836



« Reply #16 on: September 06, 2011, 10:22:17 AM »

its not efirom problem, its driver, freeze at white-gray screen happens on first boot, you have to reboot then and works better.
Logged
cargo
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27


« Reply #17 on: September 06, 2011, 05:36:15 PM »

its not efirom problem, its driver, freeze at white-gray screen happens on first boot, you have to reboot then and works better.

Uncle Netkas:
I copied ATIRadeonX3000 to where you said.
Still freeze.
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 836



« Reply #18 on: September 06, 2011, 08:32:59 PM »

Logged
andystubbs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 505


« Reply #19 on: September 06, 2011, 09:01:20 PM »

Logged
Cindori
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 237



WWW
« Reply #20 on: September 06, 2011, 09:05:08 PM »

Logged

http://groths.org
Tools and news about Mac graphics and Hackintosh
cargo
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27


« Reply #21 on: September 07, 2011, 01:59:23 AM »


I like all your humor.
Never give up and find what's wrong.


* 2010041400000022010041400135_0.jpg (19.79 KB, 480x268 - viewed 983 times.)
Logged
Cindori
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 237



WWW
« Reply #22 on: September 07, 2011, 07:37:50 AM »

We facepalmed because netkas gave you the clearest instructions for how to boot properly:

"its driver, freeze at white-gray screen happens on first boot, you have to reboot then and works better."

and you answer with:

"I copied ATIRadeonX3000 to where you said.
Still freeze."

Which either meanst that you are an idiot and can't read instructions, or chose to not comment on the most important part of the process (which kinda still makes you look like an idiot. see signature below)
Logged

http://groths.org
Tools and news about Mac graphics and Hackintosh
waimtrp
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #23 on: September 08, 2011, 03:08:00 PM »

Hello Netkas

tried 6950 2Gb , make custom rom with your 6950.efi.rom by your RomCreator , first boot at DVI port(with Boot screen) , freeze at Apple logo ,

and then install your "ATIRadeonX3000 ", successful boot to desktop , but no QE_CI , Software mode at OpenGL Extension Viewer

is it i did something wrong? can you help

thanks a lot

Logged
etc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 124



« Reply #24 on: September 12, 2011, 08:50:45 AM »

Success! Used atiwinflash for flashing, but there are some problems with Lion.

First of all, Chess not working, it freezes system and now Lion freezing at gray apple before loginwindow (without loading flower). And too many freezes at startup, why? In System Report card appears as Radeon HD 6970 with "NETKAS-ORG" revision, it's OK?

Second, boot screen using 1280x800 resolution instead of original 2560x1600 (it occurs after PRAM reset). How can i set it to original? Lion cannot boot now, i'm planning to install old GTX285 card, boot it and then install Radeon back.
Logged

4770K/Z97 Deluxe/GTX 1080 FE + GTX 690 Ref.
whyme466
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #25 on: October 17, 2011, 02:17:40 PM »

With my MacPro 5,1, cannot find way to flash hybrid rom created by following Netkas instructions (http://netkas.org/?p=973). ATI Winflash does not see 6970 (suggests using ATIFLASH - note that Bootcamp does not allow USB drive boot), and I cannot find workable core CD boot image for ATIFLASH. For example, http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/sh...ad.php?t=57750, Nero example creates boot CD that does not respond to MacPro wired USB keyboard, http://www.ubcd4win.com/ generates an error during build and does not complete (file too large anyway), and apple iBoy's copy of Ultimate Boot CD 4.1.1 (http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=11167344&postcount=226) did not work (no DOS startup). Very frustrating.

Until I accidently erased my BIOS in this failed update process, I have been doing extensive 3D gaming with my 6970 (works great with DDD Ignition - almost need 6990). Any suggestions for a way to flash the output of RomCreator? I successfully flashed a 4890 using Cindori's clear descriptions some time ago, so I am familiar with the overall process. Running Windows 7 Pro, 64-bit with Apple GT120 for Mac OS (and Windows non 3D display).  I have both hybrid ROM and factory ROM files (I would prefer to complete hybrid installation, rather than use 6970 backup boot switch on card).

Update:  

Finally resolved CD boot image issue - apple iBoy's copy of Ultimate Boot CD 4.1.1 DID work. I (incorrectly) followed MagicISO web site example for creating boot CD, versus the correct sequence provided in his detailed screen shots (see link to screen images in http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...&postcount=226).

Unfortunately, the hybrid EFI ROM does not yet work with Lion (10.7.2) and my Mac Pro 5,1 - I just get frozen grey displays with Apple logo, or dark displays, when I try to bring up Lion, even when reseting to Lion. With the hybrid ROM, I lost the Mac boot screen for OS selection, as well. Bootcamp (Windows) graphics work normally with hybrid ROM, though. I could also bring up Snow Leopard with the hybrid ROM (GT 120 used for display, not 6970).  However, once I initialized to Lion (I have both 10.7.2 and 10.6.7 - the last Snow Leopard version not impacted by my non-EFI 6970), both displays froze.

Somewhat unusual gaming computer: MacPro 5,1 (mid 2010 model) - 8.0 GB RAM, 6-core Xeon W3680 @ 3.33 GHx, 512 GB SSD (plus 2 TB standard disk storage), Sapphire 6970 graphics card with Arctic Cooling Accelero XTREME Plus cooling modification, Windows 7 Pro 64-bit - Experience Index 7.0, NVIDIA GT120 graphics card for dual boot (Windows/Mac) connected to 30 in Apple 2560 x 1600 monitor previously used for gaming. 6970 has HDMI 1.4 connection to Panasonic VIERA TC-P50VT25 3D HDTV.

I had hoped to eliminate my need for the EFI-based GT120, and fix a number of Mac Pro bus-level problems with my non-
EFI 6970 (for example, I cannot put my system to sleep without one of the chassis fans spinning up unnecessarily to full speed upon waking).  Unfortunately, I will have to abandon the current version of the hybrid ROM for now, since I had to physically remove the 6970 to change boot OS.  I remain very interested in the evolution of 6970 solution.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2011, 07:18:55 PM by whyme466 » Logged
rafuz
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #26 on: October 25, 2011, 10:23:56 AM »

I've ordered a Sapphire 6970 with dual rom.
I'll post a report in a few days as soon as I get it working in my MacPro 3.1  Grin

EDIT: Delivered right now, I'm going to try Smiley
« Last Edit: November 04, 2011, 02:26:52 PM by rafuz » Logged

MacPro 3,1 OctaCore 3.2 Ghz - 16 GByte RAM - 2 x Seagate Momentus XT 320 GByte Hybrid disks - Sapphire Readeon 6970 (gaming only) - Nvidia GT120 (for booting OSX and Physx in gaming Tongue)
rafuz
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #27 on: November 04, 2011, 06:45:17 PM »

The modified ROM is a success, I have boot screen on the first DVI port and the card works normally in Windows.

But now I cant get in OSX. I've installed the base package driver (as suggested by netkas) but I can't get past the apple logo with the spinning loading wheel. I've to manually install the drivers?

My system is a MacPro 3,1
The graphic card a Sapphire 6970 2Gbyte

The "EFIzed" rom is attached to the message, if someone wants to use it Smiley

* 6970EFI.rom (128 KB - downloaded 560 times.)
Logged

MacPro 3,1 OctaCore 3.2 Ghz - 16 GByte RAM - 2 x Seagate Momentus XT 320 GByte Hybrid disks - Sapphire Readeon 6970 (gaming only) - Nvidia GT120 (for booting OSX and Physx in gaming Tongue)
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #28 on: November 04, 2011, 07:44:54 PM »

you need to install Netkas' special drivers in OSX, then boot into Windows with drivers loaded and working there, then reboot into OSX. This is not a turn off and then hit power...that WILL NOT WORK.

It needs to be a warm re-boot.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
rafuz
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #29 on: November 04, 2011, 08:17:06 PM »

I've installed the standard package provided by Andystubbs in this thread (without aty_init)
After installation:

Shutdown
I remove the 5870 and plug in the 6970
1st boot to Windows
Reboot from Windows to OSX
OSX hangs as described in my previous post


« Last Edit: November 04, 2011, 08:18:38 PM by rafuz » Logged

MacPro 3,1 OctaCore 3.2 Ghz - 16 GByte RAM - 2 x Seagate Momentus XT 320 GByte Hybrid disks - Sapphire Readeon 6970 (gaming only) - Nvidia GT120 (for booting OSX and Physx in gaming Tongue)
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!