netkas.org forum
July 30, 2016, 07:50:42 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 33
  Print  
Author Topic: Mac Pro 2006-2007 Firmware Tool Released  (Read 325077 times)
MacEFIRom
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 19


« on: August 23, 2011, 03:09:30 AM »

I have tested this myself, on a 2006 Mac Pro. You can upgrade or downgrade at will. If you have a CPU or CPUs in a 2007 Mac Pro that isn't supported in the 2006 Mac Pro, the system will not boot after the update until a compatible CPU or CPUs are installed. The program checks the Mac Pro model and will only install the 2007 Mac Pro firmware on a 2006, or the 2006 Mac Pro firmware on a 2007, whichever is appropriate. If you have a 2007 Mac Pro, the program will warn you about downgrading, but will still allow the firmware update. The download does not contain any firmware updater files or image files. The program creates a small RAM disk, downloads the needed files, copies all of the scripts to the RAM disk, and then runs the scripts. Everything is left on the RAM disk for you to look at and study, if needed.

The SMC version will stay at whatever version it was at before the update, and I'm looking into a SMC firmware tool, as it is also an EFI program that runs during the boot process. If I'm successful with that I will post a utility for that, although many people have upgraded the dual core Xeons in the 2006 to quad core Xeons without any ill effects, so I don't know how important this really is.

I'm also going to work on a utility for the iMac4,1 and iMac5,1, as there is a RAM limit that can broken if the firmware is updated. There have also been requests for a MacMini1,1 and MacMini2,1 utility, but the installer file from Apple has only one firmware image in it, so this one I don't understand.

I hope you enjoy the benefits of extending the value of your 2006 Mac Pro, or being able to change your system back and forth for development purposes.

* MacPro2006-2007FirmwareTool.zip (131.41 KB - downloaded 12799 times.)
Logged
chromafile
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 85


« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2011, 08:41:37 AM »

My 2006 Mac Pro has firmware version MP11.005D.B00. So I guess this doesn't work with my MP since Apple doesn't release MP11.005D.B00 to the public.
Logged
vurubshnut
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2011, 05:07:25 PM »

gonna give it a go on my macpro 1,1 and report back.

Edit:  worked like a charm.  thanks!
« Last Edit: August 23, 2011, 05:31:36 PM by vurubshnut » Logged
pjdgilmour
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 17



WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2011, 06:08:26 PM »

Works!!! On the first boot recognized only one processor. I hung up and called again and recognized the two.
I have a pair of E5410 here, will it work? In 1.1 I know what did not. I wanted to test
Logged

Mac Pro 2.1 (2x E5335)  - 2.1 now, firmware tool! :-)
8 GB RAM
Radeon 5870 Apple
HP LP2475W
Alesis IO 26 Firewire
M-Audio BX5
hyram
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2011, 08:36:56 PM »

I have a pair of E5410 here, will it work?

No.
Logged
nekton1
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2011, 11:23:04 PM »

Any chance of updating MacPro 2,1 to 3,1 so that it would have EFI64 and support the 6870 hack?
Logged
mieleton
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2011, 09:53:27 PM »

Worked well, thanks. At first boot I also got only one processor recognized, but SMC reset fixed things. Now I have proper CPU info in system profiler.
Logged
armdn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 147


« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2011, 03:43:29 AM »

Works very well! Yesterday i make it! It converted without problems, also my newly installed E5345s fully recognized. Thank you so much!

By the way, i remember that for some reason ATI Radeon HD 5870 Mac Version doesn't work in Mac Pro 1,1 (only on specific models with another rom), so now, will it now works with Mac Pro 2,1 firmware??
« Last Edit: August 25, 2011, 03:45:18 AM by armdn » Logged
dbculp
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 11



« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2011, 03:09:26 PM »

The program checks the Mac Pro model and will only install the 2007 Mac Pro firmware on a 2006, or the 2006 Mac Pro firmware on a 2007, whichever is appropriate.I hope you enjoy the benefits of extending the value of your 2006 Mac Pro
I have a 2006 MacPro (1,1) with two 3 GHz Xeon 5160 Dual-Core processors. Could someone summarize for me the benefits of upgrading the firmware? Is there any chance that a future firmware hack will allow the early MacPros to boot into 64-bit?
Logged

MacPro 1,1: 2 x 3 GHz with 16 GB RAM, OWC SSD, XFX 6870 ZNFC
OS X 10.8 64-bit via Chameleon -r2030
Squishy Tia
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78



« Reply #9 on: August 26, 2011, 04:10:24 AM »

I have a question about the tool.

Right now there are only two options in the tool: Upgrade to 2007, or Downgrade to 2006. I have a good working .BO8 ROM, so if I should need to downgrade for any reason after performing an upgrade to the 2007 firmware, would I be able to get my original ROM back in proper order? I ask this because my setup now is known to be good with the HD 5770 and HD 5870 cards (I own both). My main reason for wanting to try this upgrade is this: Right now my Areca 1880ix-12 card shows up as only x4 link width in my x8 PCI-E slot (they're set up as profile #1, x8, x1, x1, x16). I'm hoping there might be a microcode fix to the PCI-E ICH controller in that firmware for the 2007 model that lets me get my Areca RAID card operating at x8 status.

Heh, I get rid of the problems caused by the (pathetically supported) RocketRAID card and run into new problems with a $1000 Areca card. Whee.
Logged
Squishy Tia
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78



« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2011, 10:02:08 AM »

Nermind. I answered my own question when I tried the firmware update to 2,1 from 1,1 to see if that solved my problem with my Areca 1880ix-12 RAID card showing up as only x4 instead of x8 on the PCI-E bus. The firmware changer does indeed reflash to the .B08 firmware.

On the plus side, updating to the 2,1 firmware didn't wreck my CPUs being able to to be seen properly.
Logged
Hooper
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 23


« Reply #11 on: August 26, 2011, 12:45:39 PM »

Squishy Tia you have all that in a mac pro 1,1 ? I would think maybe you could allso buy yourself a newer mac pro ? ;-) To the point: you have in: pcie-slot 1 (x16 lanes) with ati 5870, slot 2 (x1 lane) with ati 5770, slot 3 (x1 lane) empty, and slot 4 (x8 lanes) the Areca sas-sata card ? Are you shure though that your not working with profile #2 ? where slots 3 & 4 are both x4 lanes ? (system-library-coreservices-expansionslotutility)
« Last Edit: August 26, 2011, 12:52:35 PM by Hooper » Logged
Cindori
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 237



WWW
« Reply #12 on: August 26, 2011, 01:05:04 PM »

By the way, i remember that for some reason ATI Radeon HD 5870 Mac Version doesn't work in Mac Pro 1,1 (only on specific models with another rom), so now, will it now works with Mac Pro 2,1 firmware??

that was just false information spread by barefeats afaik
Logged

http://groths.org
Tools and news about Mac graphics and Hackintosh
akspa420
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 23


« Reply #13 on: August 26, 2011, 06:50:04 PM »

I had always assumed that the differences between the 1,1 and 2,1 models were just firmware-related, and not chipset related - now I guess those assumptions can be confirmed. Now, I have no idea why I'd want to 'upgrade' my 1,1 into a 2,1 if it offers no other features than a change in the model number and some additional processor support - is there any other reason to run this, or is it more or less for the added support?
Logged
Mr. CoBalt
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 22


« Reply #14 on: August 26, 2011, 08:30:23 PM »

My 2006 Mac Pro has firmware version MP11.005D.B00. So I guess this doesn't work with my MP since Apple doesn't release MP11.005D.B00 to the public.
Same here:
Code:
Boot ROM Version: MP11.005D.B00
SMC Version (system): 1.7f10

I haven't tried the utility since I'm not sure it would really change anything for me. I'm already running a MacPro1,1 with a flashed Powercolor 5770 and upgraded dual Xeon X5365 3GHz quad-core processors (ie. same as the 2,1) without any apparent issues.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 33
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!