netkas.org forum
January 23, 2020, 02:41:48 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10] 11 12 ... 30
  Print  
Author Topic: 6870 efi rom test  (Read 519148 times)
Cindori
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 237



WWW
« Reply #135 on: August 23, 2011, 08:19:41 PM »

Cindori,

Anyone test your new Zeus with a 5870 yet?  If not, I'll do that when I get home today.

please do Smiley
Logged

http://groths.org
Tools and news about Mac graphics and Hackintosh
robthebrew
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #136 on: August 23, 2011, 08:55:27 PM »

Using a ASUS AEH6870 1GB, without any changes to standard Lion install on a MP 3,1, there is no efi stuff (boot screen etc), but the DVI, HDMI and mdp ports work after boot. Only tried 2 at a time, as that is all the screens I have.
rtb
Logged
ital
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #137 on: August 24, 2011, 07:59:39 PM »

Just wanted to add my experience here in case it helps anyone. I had a Sapphire 6850 that i successfully flashed thanks to everyone here.

A couple of things didn't work at first.

I followed Netkas's instructions and had a similar experience to the user ROM. Following their exchange earlier in this thread I was able to get it to work.
For my card I needed to set blocknum=128.
After that was fixed the next thing was the fixrom.py produced errors. No idea why.
I ended up using Cindori's Firmware Converter tool, and edited the dd.sh file (show package contents) to also set blocknum=128.
I then re-ran his program and everything worked fine.

I first tried flashing with Zeus (the 6800 version posted in this thread), but it wouldn't work giving an error.
I then tried flashing in DOS with atiflash and that worked perfectly.

Thanks again to everyone for their hard work!
Logged
Weust
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #138 on: August 24, 2011, 08:03:33 PM »

Getting my DisplayPort cable in tomorrow so can test that then.
Will test HDMI to DVI too (my monitor has no HDMI in), and DVI-VGA adapter.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #139 on: August 24, 2011, 08:56:21 PM »

I have tried the special Zeus 6000 2.3

I was able to flash 3 different cards with it, but not necessarily with the ROM I wanted to flash with.

It flat out REFUSES to use an XFX ROM I have...the ROM works, but the app will flash the ROM I posted for a Biostar card.

I am pretty sure it flashed  a card despite saying that it hadn't.

The app can flash, but it would be great to figure out what flaggs it to stop or not work.

Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
MachineShedFred
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 97


« Reply #140 on: August 24, 2011, 11:57:20 PM »

Cindori,

Anyone test your new Zeus with a 5870 yet?  If not, I'll do that when I get home today.

please do Smiley

Got a chance to do this today, and here's what I did.  First, some background:

Card:  VisionTek Radeon 5870
Mac:  Mac Pro 4,1; non-hacked firmware

Procedure:
Booted into Win7
Used RBE to extract BIOS and save
Changed BIOS fan ramp to be obnoxiously loud at low temps, and saved
flashed new obnoxious BIOS to card
rebooted to Mac OS X
Heard fans much louder than previous
opened new zeus tool
selected original BIOS with non-obnoxious fan ramp
Clicked flash.  Received error of ROM being incompatible or the same.
Clicked flash again.  What the hell, right?
BIOS flashed successfully!
Rebooted to Win7, quiet fans during boot, checked in RBE; original fan ramp.

So yes, it does work with 5xxx cards, but it's a bit wonky.  Note:  RBE / WinFlash did give me a warning with my BIOS about the part numbers not matching up; perhaps this caused the error and abort.
Logged
Athirne
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #141 on: August 25, 2011, 05:16:09 AM »

Ok got my XFX 6870 (ZDFC) in and flashed it today under Windows. Used the FirmwareUtility posted by Cindori a page back then under windows used the ATI flash utility to flash the resulting image. Grabed the firmware using Z-GPU and renamed the resulting ROM from .bin to .rom like ya do. I will be updating the post tomorrow with more details, have to wake up early and dont have the energy to play with what ports/devices work, besides my minidp to DP cable comes tomorrow.

Mac Pro 3,1
XFX HD 6870 1 GB (HD-687A-ZDFC)
DVI (lower) - displays boot, fully functional, DVI -> DVI & DVI -> VGA works.
DVI (upper) - completely dead (doesn't work at all)
HDMI - UNKNOWN
MiniDP (inner) - DP->DP works
MiniDP (outer) - DP->DP works

Dont have a DP -> DVI or DP -> VGA so cant test that. Only thing left to test is HDMI. Tested all the above with dual displays, but it looks like you can have up to 4 displays at once assuming HDMI works too.

System Information - Graphics/Displays:

AMD Radeon HD 6870:

  Chipset Model:   AMD Radeon HD 6870
  Type:   GPU
  Bus:   PCIe
  Slot:   Slot-1
  PCIe Lane Width:   x1
  VRAM (Total):   1024 MB
  Vendor:   ATI (0x1002)
  Device ID:   0x6738
  Revision ID:   0x0000
  ROM Revision:   007-NETKAS-ORG
  EFI Driver Version:   01.00.507
  Displays:
DELL U2410:
  Resolution:   1920 x 1200 @ 60 Hz
  Pixel Depth:   32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
  Display Serial Number:   C592M08G9UGL
  Main Display:   Yes
  Mirror:   Off
  Online:   Yes
  Rotation:   Supported

Software tests:
Native OpenGL (works)
Cider/X11/etc OpenGL (works)

BIOS (original and patched): [Attached]

* xfx6870-ZDFC_PC.rom (128 KB - downloaded 568 times.)
* xfx6870-ZDFC_EFI-PC.rom (128 KB - downloaded 728 times.)
« Last Edit: August 28, 2011, 12:27:03 AM by Athirne » Logged
Hawkeye47
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #142 on: August 25, 2011, 08:35:58 PM »

Hi Guys,

Saphire 6870 here: http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/?cid=1&gid=3&sgid=1037&pid=981&psn=&lid=1&leg=0

Followed all the steps, but I had to look at the Hex value for byte 3 to fix the "dd: bs must be between 1 and 9223372036854775807 problem" (fix is here, mine also came out as 128: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,1085.msg6532.html#msg6532).

Lower DVI works for boot screen, all seems good on MP 3,1 Octo (DVD Player, Steam OK in OS X Lion all fine). Attached is flashed ROM.

AMD Radeon HD 6870:

  Chipset Model:   AMD Radeon HD 6870
  Type:   GPU
  Bus:   PCIe
  Slot:   Slot-1
  PCIe Lane Width:   x16
  VRAM (Total):   1024 MB
  Vendor:   ATI (0x1002)
  Device ID:   0x6738
  Revision ID:   0x0000
  ROM Revision:   007-NETKAS-ORG
  EFI Driver Version:   01.00.507

Thank you netkas and the community for all your efforts Smiley

* sapphire-pc6870.rom (128 KB - downloaded 673 times.)
Logged
neo_fox33
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #143 on: August 25, 2011, 11:27:38 PM »

hi, doesn't works for my card http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/?cid=1&gid=3&sgid=1037&pid=1270&psn=&lid=1&leg=0

any sugestion?

 Modelo de chipset:   ATI Radeon HD NI40
  Tipo:   GPU
  Bus:   PCIe
  Anchura de canal PCIe:   x16
  VRAM (total):   1024 MB
  Fabricante:   ATI (0x1002)
  ID del dispositivo:   0x6738
  ID de la revisiĆ³n:   0x0000
  Pantallas:


Thanks for all


* Saphire-6870_original.rom (128 KB - downloaded 527 times.)
Logged
Cindori
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 237



WWW
« Reply #144 on: August 26, 2011, 12:42:05 AM »

read post above you  Angry
Logged

http://groths.org
Tools and news about Mac graphics and Hackintosh
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #145 on: August 26, 2011, 04:51:16 AM »

This one is giving me fits.

I can make it work just fine as a 1 Gig card, but 2 Gig ROMs aren't working.

Even more annoying, it works pretty well as a 2 Gig card without EFI.

Anyone else done a 2 Gig card yet?

Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Weust
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #146 on: August 26, 2011, 07:12:35 AM »

hi, doesn't works for my card http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/?cid=1&gid=3&sgid=1037&pid=1270&psn=&lid=1&leg=0

any sugestion?

 Modelo de chipset:   ATI Radeon HD NI40
  Tipo:   GPU
  Bus:   PCIe
  Anchura de canal PCIe:   x16
  VRAM (total):   1024 MB
  Fabricante:   ATI (0x1002)
  ID del dispositivo:   0x6738
  ID de la revisiĆ³n:   0x0000
  Pantallas:


Thanks for all



Seems I have the exact same cars as you. Either use mine (look back a bit in this topic) or use the ROM file attached in the post above yours...
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 836



« Reply #147 on: August 26, 2011, 01:17:09 PM »

Hey guys, here is an application you can test&try for creating hybrid rom.



Just select where you wan to get bios rom from - card or file

then press - select bios rom to confirm selection or select bios rom file

then select efi rom and press "create rom" to save your created rom

if some errors occurs, you will see it in error log.

Link to app - http://rghost.ru/19375601

efi roms you can get here - http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,1085.msg6517.html#msg6517

Dumping in only possible if you use native drivers, dont use it with aty_init, risking to get bad rom.

Also, don't use with card which has MCuC section, like radeons 4xxx
« Last Edit: August 26, 2011, 01:19:19 PM by netkas » Logged
Cindori
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 237



WWW
« Reply #148 on: August 26, 2011, 02:16:54 PM »

you can dump firmware now? how?  Shocked
Logged

http://groths.org
Tools and news about Mac graphics and Hackintosh
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #149 on: August 26, 2011, 06:22:56 PM »

He got a tip from an old hack (er) in California.

Hopefully everyone who gets use from this app and from the other things he has done will find a minute to send some thanks (via Paypal)

Netkas has done MUCH for Mac OSX community, and has received much attention, but attention doesn't go far at the corner market. (or Newegg)

Much of his "attention" has come in the form of "Hey, I have a Lenovo/HP/Acer Zipty 4000-RZ4, and ever since I installed your xxxx my trackpad has only worked if I XXXX yyyy xxxx. Why doesn't it work? Can you drop everything in your life right this second and custom write me a fix?"

I wrote a fixed ROM for 8800GTS when Lion broke the original, and was DELUGED with emails and PMs, I can't imagine the level of stuff he has to dig through. The noise of many people trying to pick your brain and "open you up like Christmas" is a very distracting thing.

Handing the community a 90% functional 6xxx series card MONTHS before Apple does is a MAJOR accomplishment. We owe the man some thanks.


* Screen Shot 2011-08-26 at 10.31.27 AM.jpg (59.48 KB, 410x378 - viewed 1613 times.)
« Last Edit: August 26, 2011, 07:01:45 PM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10] 11 12 ... 30
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!