netkas.org forum
January 23, 2020, 02:40:03 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 30
  Print  
Author Topic: 6870 efi rom test  (Read 519147 times)
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 398


« Reply #45 on: August 19, 2011, 11:27:24 AM »

what sysprofiler shows about transfer rate (2,5t or 5t) is actualy FALSE.

the value can differ depends on gpu workload, but sysprofiler displays only inital value durring system startup, not current one.

current one you can get with lspci utility for osx.

So stop this things about transfer rate in sysprofiler as it's complete nonsense.

for example gtx480 change its transfer rate dynamicaly, i checked this.

So please run Windows 7 and check it in GPU-Z. My flashed XFX HD5770 was running 2,5, but when I added original Apple HD5770 card and a crossfire bridge then it started to run at 5 Smiley
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 836



« Reply #46 on: August 19, 2011, 11:29:46 AM »

nor me nor you know what gpu-z reads and where from.

best check is read value directly from pci configuration space, that is what lspci does.
Logged
R0M
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 20


WWW
« Reply #47 on: August 19, 2011, 11:46:10 AM »

Congratulations, great news!

So what R0M should I use to flash my Sapphire 6870 in my Mac Pro 3,1 ?
Do I have to install Windows to flash the card ?
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 398


« Reply #48 on: August 19, 2011, 11:50:12 AM »

nor me nor you know what gpu-z reads and where from.

best check is read value directly from pci configuration space, that is what lspci does.

So please check it out Wink
Logged
armdn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 149


« Reply #49 on: August 19, 2011, 12:10:04 PM »

I still don't get it. Is it real to make 32-bit EFI rom for 6870 or not?
Logged
Dakoman
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


« Reply #50 on: August 19, 2011, 12:16:26 PM »

I still don't get it. Is it real to make 32-bit EFI rom for 6870 or not?

no

get the roms and gogogo test, should work now.

Will this ROM work with my XFX Black edition or will I lose the overclock?

Can somebody please point me at a guide on how best to dump/flash my card.

Cheers


You'll lose the overclock. You can dump and/or flash your BIOS using winflash (you have to boot into windows)
« Last Edit: August 19, 2011, 12:22:28 PM by Dakoman » Logged
armdn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 149


« Reply #51 on: August 19, 2011, 12:28:34 PM »

I still don't get it. Is it real to make 32-bit EFI rom for 6870 or not?

no

Arguments??
Logged
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 246


« Reply #52 on: August 19, 2011, 12:35:43 PM »

^There's no 32-bit EFI ROM for radeon HD in existence. Netkas didn't make this ROM from scratch, he used a regular EFI ROM from Apple.
Plus, a 32-bit EFI won't work en recent Mac Pros (correct?)

However, it should be possible to make an EBC ROM, I assume. This one should work on all Mac Pro, if that's what you wanted to know.
Logged
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 246


« Reply #53 on: August 19, 2011, 12:41:30 PM »

This one is EFI64 only.

If you dig deep enough in 5870 thread, the first 5870 rom he did was efi64 only from iMac.

The good news is that patching these ROMs is easy. While 4870 needed an empty space in middle of ROm to insert EFI, these ROMs are super simple. You just need to know where the PC BIOS ends.

If ROM opens with 55 AA 7D then rom length is 7D. (ie, whatever follows "55AA" is length) In decimal that is 125 x 512 byte blocks = 64000. So add Netkas' new EFI starting at 64000 and then run the "fixrom.py" script from 4870 days and rom is DONE.

Flash & boot up to a lovely boot screen on DVI.

YOU NEED TO ALWAYS DUMP YOUR ROM FIRST. It is quite possible tha tone of these premade ROMs will work, especially if the cards are reference models. But if one of these premade's DOESN'T work you will kick yourself silly for not having backed up the original. If you have an overclocked card or one that runs a unique fan you will most likely need to make your own.

But I just told you how to do that in 3 sentences. WAY easier than 4870.

Enough winching and whining, get flashing !!!


So no more MCuC to worry about? (can't check the ROM right now, I'm at work).

I suppose the terminal script for 4870s works as well. I think it detects the BIOS length before pasting the EFI at the end. If it works, I can update my guide on custom ROMs.

I'd test it if I had a recent Mac Pro. I'm ready whenever you make an EBC ROM, Netkas.  Grin
Logged
Bolle
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 107


« Reply #54 on: August 19, 2011, 12:46:21 PM »

No MCuC in there. Just a shitload of free space Cheesy

Things could get tricky if original ROMS shrink down to 64kb in later revisions of PC cards. Didnt take a look at the size of the actual BIOS part right now but it is using about half of the 128kb
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 836



« Reply #55 on: August 19, 2011, 01:08:17 PM »

making your own rom howto, so you don't need to ask me to do it for you:
1) put 6870.efi.rom into folder, also your original rom with name pc6870 into same folder and script fixrom.py into very same folder

2) in Terminal.app (bash):
cd that_folder_with_files
blocknum=`printf %d "'\`dd if=pc6870.rom bs=1 skip=2 count=1 2>/dev/null\`"`
size=$(($blocknum * 512))
dd if=6870.efi.rom of=pc6870.rom bs=$size seek=1 conv=notrunc
python fixrom.py pc6870.rom pc6870.rom

3) flash pc6870.rom to your card and reboot

same for 6850, just replace any 6870 with 6850 in three steps above.

p.s. somebody upload please fixrom.py
Logged
Bolle
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 107


« Reply #56 on: August 19, 2011, 01:13:40 PM »

There we go.

* fixrom.py (2.6 KB - downloaded 1088 times.)
Logged
TZZDC
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #57 on: August 19, 2011, 01:50:02 PM »

So what rom do we use or are there any efi + bios ones already made for the 6870? I'm not really seeing much in the way of links (though it is only 7am here). I'd love to upgrade this 5770 I got to something better (especially for the 160-180 the 6870's are going for). The other thing is what brands/card #'s have the best success for flashing?
Logged
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 246


« Reply #58 on: August 19, 2011, 02:00:48 PM »

updated my little how-to with Netkas' script and ROMs.  Smiley
Logged
karaluchy
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 40


« Reply #59 on: August 19, 2011, 02:06:31 PM »

You wrote "python fixrom.py pc6870.rom pc6870.rom" where both filenames are the same, maybe there is some error?

should it be

"python fixrom.py 6870.efi.rom pc6870.rom" or
"python fixrom.py pc6870.rom 6870.efi.rom" ?

is there a flash tool for Mac? Can I use pc flash utility under bootcamp to dump&flash my card? or do I need PC computer?
« Last Edit: August 19, 2011, 02:35:11 PM by karaluchy » Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 30
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!